Lori S. (dragongoddess) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Child of the Prophecy (Sevenwaters, Bk 3)
Child of the Prophecy (Sevenwaters, Bk 3)
Author: Juliet Marillier
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 1/14/2006


Loved it. What a great end to a great series.


The Child Queen: The Tale of Guinevere and King Arthur
The Child Queen: The Tale of Guinevere and King Arthur
Author: Nancy Mckenzie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/18/2006


I really like the way this story is told. I was caught up in a story that was already familiar to me and I could not put it down until it was finished.


Daughter of Ancients (The Bridge of D'Arnath, Bk 4)
Daughter of Ancients (The Bridge of D'Arnath, Bk 4)
Author: Carol Berg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 12/4/2006


Carol Berg has become one of my favorite authors, and this book is one of the reasons. I really love her characters, they really come to life for me. This is the fourth book in the D'Arnath series. It was captivating and I hardly put it down until I was done.


David Goes to School
David Goes to School
Author: David Shannon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/1/2007


Finally got this after two tries and my kids just did not like it as much as the other David books.


Galilee
Galilee
Author: Clive Barker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 10/23/2005


I liked this book up until the end where, for me, it just...ended. I wanted more and there was no more. I don't know if there is another book that compliments this one, but feel there almost should be. If there was (is) I would definately read it.


Ghost House
Ghost House
Author: Clare McNally
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/25/2005
Helpful Score: 3


From the back cover - "The beautiful old mansion on Long Island's South Shore seemed the perfect home for the Van Burens and their three young children. What happened to them inside that house is an experience you'll pray couldn't happen to you."

Not that bad, as ghost stories go. I enjoyed reading it and, being only 214 pages, was able to do so in one night's time. A little bit of scary and a little bit of sensuality. Not the scariest I've ever read, but still a good story. I will have to say, though, that I have only really been "scared" by two horror books I've ever read and I've read a great many. So for those that are more easily freaked out by ghost stories, this might be a good read..


Guardians Of The Keep (Bridge of D'Arnath, Bk 2)
Guardians Of The Keep (Bridge of D'Arnath, Bk 2)
Author: Carol Berg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 4/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Another great read! I really liked the characters (new and old)and liked the little twists and turns. I found the change of character perspective a little awkward, but it did not detract from the story or my enjoyment. I am eagerly anticipating the third book.


The High Queen (Tale of Guinevere and King Arthur, Bk 2)
The High Queen (Tale of Guinevere and King Arthur, Bk 2)
Author: Nancy McKenzie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Another great book, just as The Child Queen was, IMHO. I hope the Grail Prince is as intriguing a read as these two wonderful books.


Lost Boys
Lost Boys
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 5/25/2006
Helpful Score: 7


I actually really liked this book. It is definitely not what you think of when you think of OSC. However, after the first few chapters, I could hardly put it down. It helped, I think, that although I am not a member of the church, I know quite a bit about it since my best friend is Mormon (as is Card). There were places in this book that I thought felt very Stephen Kingish, but that only added to my enjoyment of the book since I am a huge SK & OSC fan.

Although, IMHO, it felt like a few loose ends were not tied up (leaves you wondering what ever happened to such and such character), I liked the ending. It was very sad, but good.


Phoenix and Ashes (Elemental Masters, Bk 4)
Phoenix and Ashes (Elemental Masters, Bk 4)
Author: Mercedes Lackey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 4/26/2006


really liked this magical, elemental twist on the old Cinderella story.


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3584
Review Date: 6/17/2006


I tried, I really did. But I just couldn't get into this book.


1 to 11 of 11