Pam B. (PamelaK) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 1186 - Page:
100 Strokes of the Brush Before Bed (Black Cat)
Review Date: 5/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I find it incredibly disturbing that a child of 14 or even 17 even KNOWS about this kind of sex. To use and abuse a young girl, both emotionally and sexually, with or without her consent, is not to be tolerated. And, no, I am not a prude (just the opposite). Wether this book is fiction or non-fiction doesn't matter; the fact that it was written by a 17 year old girl is, in my eyes, very, very sad.


3 Brides for 3 Bad Boys
3 Brides for 3 Bad Boys
Author: Lucy Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 9/19/2010


Oh, puhleeeeze. This was shallow, trite, unbelieveable - but that's fiction, isn't it?
Check your brain at the door & take this one to the beach. A fast, easy read - the best part is the cover.


3 Brides for 3 Bad Boys
3 Brides for 3 Bad Boys
Author: Lucy Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 8/30/2005


3 contemporary romantic/erotic stories of 3 very different brothers,
& how they found the loves of their lives


300 Incredible Things for Kids on the Internet
300 Incredible Things for Kids on the Internet
Author: Ken Leebow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/12/2005


This is a great book for kids to start exploring the internet with - a beginners guide


Abandon: Below / Exiled
Abandon: Below / Exiled
Author: Kaitlyn O'Connor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/2/2011


Ok, two different, unrelated stories by the same author; both with strong heroines, and stronger, macho heroes. Both storylines had promise, but there was something about the authors' style of writing that was off-putting. I found myself speed-reading & skimming through the stories just to get to the end. "Exiled" was more like a white man vs. indian tale, including the stilted language. If aliens were dumping unwanted humans on a strange planet, would they really bother giving them electronic translators? Too many inconsistencies, stilted language, 2 stars.


Across a Moonlit Sea  (Dante Pirates, Bk 1)
Across a Moonlit Sea (Dante Pirates, Bk 1)
Author: Marsha Canham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 4/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Not into pirate romances, but this was a very good one. The sequel is "The Iron Rose" & I enjoyed that one too.


Adventures of a Scottish Heiress
Adventures of a Scottish Heiress
Author: Cathy Maxwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 8/17/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Regency romance - Lyssa Harrell runs away from home rather than marry her father's choice. He hires Irishman Ian Campion to find her & bring her home. Ian finds her, but someone is trying to kill her, & just about everyone wants to marry her for her inheritance. Ian & Lyssa go on a grand adventure. An enjoyable, easy read.


Adventures with Freshwater Animals
Adventures with Freshwater Animals
Author: Richard Headstrom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/24/2005


3rd/4th Grade level - exploring tadpoles, etc.


An Affair with Mr. Kennedy (Gentlemen of Scotland Yard, Bk 1)
An Affair with Mr. Kennedy (Gentlemen of Scotland Yard, Bk 1)
Author: Jillian Stone
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/21/2013


Oh, I did LOVE this book! No, it's not a world-shattering work of art, but it is interesting and compelling. Set in London in 1887, it embodies the immense changes in science and society that changed England so much. Our heroine is no simpering miss of Regency times, but a forward-thinking, independent free spirit. And our hero is a tough, but vunerable, intelligent agent from Scotland Yard. The attraction between them is undeniable, and there is a lot of sex, strictly vanilla, but well-written, and an integral part of the plot. The villain is truly nasty, and the secondary characters are all interesting. I can't wait for the next book in this series.


Afraid to Die (Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli, Bk 4)
Afraid to Die (Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 7/9/2012


Loved her attention to detail. Good character description & development - I can relate to these women. Her stories keep me on the edge of my seat; I love this series. It really makes you think.


After Hours: Night Moves / Night Secrets / Night Illusions
After Hours: Night Moves / Night Secrets / Night Illusions
Author: Jodi Lynn Copeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/31/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Three different stories by the same author of three loosely related characters and how they found sex, & ultimately, love. I found the characters and the story lines too stereotyped, but there's plenty of explicit sex, if that's your thing.


After Midnight (Lords of Midnight, Bk 1)
After Midnight (Lords of Midnight, Bk 1)
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 379
Review Date: 9/28/2005


Caroline Cabot must meet the man who is courting her sister Vivienne, in London, but finds him dangerously irresistable. Is he really a vampire, as her little sister, Portia, insists? Interesting story line, with a few simple twists. An easy read.


After Midnight...: Miranda's Viking / Kiss of the Shadow Man / Out-of-this-World Marriage
Review Date: 5/24/2006


Three different stories for Maggie Shayne fans


After the Kiss
After the Kiss
Author: Karen Ranney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 8/28/2008


Excellent character development, detailing the stages of passion, lust, & finally love. Storyline could have been better developed. Even the sex scenes were restrained but beautifully detailed. recommended.


After the Kiss  (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 1)
After the Kiss (Notorious Gentlemen, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 7/15/2008
Helpful Score: 9


I like this author, but this book was disturbing to me. There's a difference between suspense and a sense of impending doom, & I only felt the latter. I could never quite figure out why the hero & heroine were so mad for each other & ready to risk everything to be together. I felt no sympathy or empathy for an impetuous, spoiled drama queen. And if revenge was the motivation for the wronged war hero to steal back his heritage, why did he sell it off as soon as he got it back? I guess it didn't mean that much to him after all. I found myself speed reading through the last 1/3 of the book just to get it over with. Sorry, ladies, but this one did nothing for me - maybe you'll get more out of it.


Again and Again
Again and Again
Author: Susan Johnson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 10/3/2005


Regency romance - 2 childhood friends become lovers, have problems
(both are strong alphas), reconcile. I always enjoy Susan Johnson's books.


Against the Storm (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 4)
Against the Storm (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 4)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 9/16/2013


Meh. This one was a disappointment. The hero has trust issues, & loses his temper much too quickly - is he bipolar? But of course, he is the hero, saves the girl, & you have your happy sappy ending. It's the same old recipe & it's getting stale.


Against the Wall
Against the Wall
Author: Rhyannon Byrd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 5/20/2009


No real storyline, no plot, no character development - Just sex scene after sex scene after sex scene...... Someone should tell this author that she is desensitizing her audience and losing all erotic impulse. I found myself so bored - ha! me? Bored with sex? That's a first! - that I actually skimmed the last 1/3 of the book, looking for a story.
Didn't happen. The characters were so one-dimensional that they were not believable, and so unrealistic that they were not even likeable. One of the worst of this genre that I've read.


Agency of Extraordinary Mates, Vol 1: 4 Play / Finding Magic / Sea God's Pleasure
Review Date: 11/28/2012


Wish I had read more of the reviews before I ordered this book. Kate Douglas has a way with words, so I found her story ok, but the other two - yuk. The writing was so awful, you couldn't take the story seriously - it was that bad. Two stars is being generous.


Ain't Myth-Behaving
Ain't Myth-Behaving
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 8/29/2008
Helpful Score: 5


Two stories of mortal female meets not-so-mortal, sexy male. Not my favorite book by Katie MacAlister. Qick, witty dialogue is her forte, but the convoluted thinking and explanations of myths can be confusing if you're not paying close attention.


1 to 20 of 1186 - Page: