Ashley B. (daredevilgirl013) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 654 - Page:
12 Shades of Surrender
Review Date: 9/28/2013


This book was a bit half and half in my opinion. Half the stories were great for BDSM readers, the other half had me scratching my head wondering if these people even knew what BDSM meant and stands for. It's worth it for the few stories that are good, especially the first one. That story was amazing and grasped what BDSM is perfectly. The rest was either something I skimmed through to get to the next story or was okay to read.


21 Years Gone
21 Years Gone
Author: Jack Osbourne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book was rather interesting to find out why Jack did drugs knowing and seeing full well what his father did and what it had done to Ozzy. This book does go into a bit of detail and it is strongly about drug use and abuse along with alcohol use. I would not suggest this to someone who has thought about using drugs or to a younger person, especially an immature one. Though this book does go on to discuss the process of coming clean, it doesn't go into detail as since Jack went into rehab, parts of what they do cannot be revealed to others who have not been through the process. Still an interesting read to just try and understand what Jack did, why, and how it affected him. Very interesting read, and it's interesting to find out little tid bits about the family as well (I thought Ozzy was still using, but according to Jack, he's been clean for a few years since Jack went to rehab)


A&A: The Adventures of Archer & Armstrong Volume 2: Romance and Road Trips
Review Date: 1/6/2017


Was a bit lost on this one as I started to read it for the Faith and Archer storyline. Apparently I need to read volume one, so word to the wise, don't go into this for the Faith storyline and think you'll be okay. Also Faith and Archer are really only focused on for the first bit of the book (what would have been one comic book issue). After that Faith is either hinted at or briefly mentioned and doesn't make another appearance. The storyline is a bit weird but I'm gathering that to be the normal for the Archer and Armstrong series.


Airhead (Airhead, Bk 1)
Airhead (Airhead, Bk 1)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 5/18/2008
Helpful Score: 3


A Wonderful book and perfect for any 10 year old on up, as the level of sexual content in this book is very minimal (just guys look at Nikki's chest, some talk about female anatomy, and safe sex..that's about it..nothing too horrible)

But a very page turning read. Especially when Em is forced to become Nikki and how she must adapt to her new life. I cannot wait for the next book to see how this all turns out. It is said that this book series is going to be a three parter. So we'll see.


Airs Beneath the Moon (Horse Mistress, Bk 1)
Airs Beneath the Moon (Horse Mistress, Bk 1)
Author: Toby Bishop
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/23/2013
Helpful Score: 1


LOVED THIS BOOK! It had several different twists that I was NOT expecting and I love that in a book when it's a bit unpredictable. The story line and characters are amazing. A wonderful read!


All-American Girl (All-American Girl, Bk 1)
All-American Girl (All-American Girl, Bk 1)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 8


A very cute read

Ok that was my original review, but now that I know how to better write reviews.

This book deals with a girl who doesn't really know what she wants in life, everything she wants is taken, the guy of her dreams, and her own dreams as well. So one day when she decides to skip art class, she saves the president by mistake, and her life changes.

This book is interesting, but deals with some older teen subjects. Also that list that you see up above, she does that throughout the book as well, she makes lists. It's a good read, but the sequeal to the book is lacking. The sequeal to the book is called Ready or Not.


Ambulance Girl: How I Saved Myself by Becoming an EMT
Ambulance Girl: How I Saved Myself by Becoming an EMT
Author: Jane Stern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This book was me to a T when I went to EMT school and became a Basic. I even acted like her exactly. I loved one part when they ask her to go get the first in bag (it's a bag that we take with us into every call, it has literally everything you need to start working on a patient) and so she has to find it for the first time in the ambulance, and when she does and brings it to them, she says she presented it like a hunting dog presents a prize duck to its master. That was exactly me. I said if I had a tail it would have been wagging to no end because I found the bag!! It is very funny, it is very true (like I said, this book is me to a T when I started the school and my job as an EMT) and it does give you an insight into a woman who takes on this job and what she has to go through.


America the Edible: A Hungry History, from Sea to Dining Sea
America the Edible: A Hungry History, from Sea to Dining Sea
Author: Adam Richman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/5/2010
Helpful Score: 4


This book has totally changed my view on Adam and not for the better. In this book he is constantly talking about hooking up with women and romping around with them. Instead of talking about the food he's talking about the women he went out to dinner with (and then some) and the meals that they ate and then how they broke up. If I wanted to read a bad romance novel I would have. And somehow every place he went he had a "beautiful woman" on his arm. Also Adam cusses like a sailor. I would never have guessed him to be like this. Otherwise the book was poorly written and was nothing like the show. I figured he'd talk about the challenges that he ate at the restaurants, and what they were and past people who had tried them. Instead it was like, meh I just ate a turkey sandwich and it was good. Nothing like the show. Again highly disappointed and Adam has lost a fan. I hate it when I read books and discover a whole new side of a person.


American Pickers Guide to Picking (History Channel)
Review Date: 2/4/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This book is a total HOW TO guide. It is not anything about their past picks. I was hoping for more back story into their past picks and how they got them etc. Instead it's how to pick, what to pick, and advice from other pickers. I wasn't all that thrilled with this book as it just dragged on and on about how to, which if you watch the show you get an idea on how to do it. So if you are a die hard fan wanting to know stories, this isn't your book.


An American Submissive in Britain
An American Submissive in Britain
Author: Laney Rogers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/6/2015


A wonderfully well written book that really does a good job explaining the BDSM aspect. Add in that it's set in England and it's even better. It is by an Indie author and the book does have a few editing flaws but it's still amazing!


Amy's Answering Machine: Messages from Mom
Amy's Answering Machine: Messages from Mom
Author: Amy Borkowsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is a very quick read as the book is small, the type is large, and the book even contains comics/cartoons that relate to the story being told. The messages are short along with the explanations. It is funny, but a bit to short and I would have carried out the stories a bit more besides the message and my thought.


The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 546
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 10


A very good book, works great for any age level. This book goes on about a group of children who were experiments and how they have banded together to create their own family in the face of danger.


Angel (Maximum Ride, Bk 7)
Angel (Maximum Ride, Bk 7)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 2/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Finally we get back to the ways of the first books of the series. Nothing about saving the planet or recycling etc etc etc like in the last few. This all goes back to the this is my flock and our adventures type of books. Though it does leave one HUGE cliff hanger (to be finished up in the next book which will be the final book), this one was rather interesting though I wish it had more. It just seemed like the story just stopped and you're left wondering what the heck!! But still, at least James has made progress towards bringing back the flock I loved!


Another Castle: Grimoire
Another Castle: Grimoire
Author: Andrew Wheeler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/26/2017


This reminds me a lot of the 1980s She-ra but she's a little more rebellious and ready to kick butt and take names in this comic. The heroine wants to save the kingdom and be responsible for herself, not one to wait around for someone to save her and solve her problems. I love and appreciate this because she steps up to the challenge, even if some of the ideas she comes up with doesn't go as planned. She figures out how to work around them. The artwork is enjoyable with even some hidden easter eggs (Sailor moon!) A great read for both boys and girls of all ages.


The Art of Destruction (Doctor Who: New Series Adventures, No 11)
The Art of Destruction (Doctor Who: New Series Adventures, No 11)
Author: Stephen Cole
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/18/2014


I felt like this book was a bit pushed compared to the other Doctor Who books so far in the series. It didn't really seem like Rose and the Doctor to me. Just like their personalities were missing in the whole thing and it focused more on the minor characters.


The Art Of Emily The Strange
The Art Of Emily The Strange
Author: Rob Reger, Cosmic Debris, Buzz Parker, Others
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/19/2012


The art work was a little interesting, but its stuff I have seen in her books before. I would have liked some new and more interesting artwork and maybe some stories behind why they did the design the way they did. Still though a good book, perfect for anyone who wants to draw Emily in the style that they do and would like bigger photos to practice from.


The Art of the Little Mermaid: A Disney Miniature (Disney Miniature)
The Art of the Little Mermaid: A Disney Miniature (Disney Miniature)
Author: Jeff Kurtti
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Not a bad book, though most of it just retells the story of the little mermaid. It does tell some interesting facts though later on in the book. For instance, the little mermaid was actually started on back before WW2. But when the war started it was shoved into a drawer. No one even bothered to go back to it, and no one found the folder about the movie until after they had already started it back in the 80s! Interesting!

So good for a few interesting facts, but other than that, the art work isn't much.


Astray
Astray
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/1/2016


The stories are based on new articles/clippings. It was okay but since it kept being super short stories, you never really knew what was going on, who was what etc.


Asylum
Asylum
Author: Madeleine Roux
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/30/2013


Amazing, well written page turner that leaves you guessing. The story line is great and constantly keeps you wondering, adding in new twists and turns with every page. Loved it. The photos also add a nice creepy touch as well.


Atlantia
Atlantia
Author: Ally Condie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/21/2015
Helpful Score: 1


If you're thinking this book is about sirens aka the mermaid type...WRONG. That was my original thought when I found this book. There are NO mermaids in this book. NONE. It's about two worlds divided by the sea, one in a bubble below, the other a normal world above, and the secrets they hold, and let me tell you...it's a snore. The book at first is a bit interesting as there's some cool mysterious stuff going around, and then BOOM. Drops like a rock and it gets boring, quick. This book took me forever to read due to how boring it all gets and I decided to speed read the ending.


1 to 20 of 654 - Page: