Kristine S. (NHBookLover) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 294 - Page:
The Accidental Virgin
The Accidental Virgin
Author: Valerie Frankel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 7/18/2007


A tale about a women who has been working so hard she has forgotten to have...........sex! And then when she realizes it has been almost a year, her search to "finalize the deal."


Agatha Raisin and the Case of the Curious Curate (Agatha Raisin, Bk 13)
Agatha Raisin and the Case of the Curious Curate (Agatha Raisin, Bk 13)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 5/6/2008


Agatha meets the new, very handsome and personable, curate, who is murdered after they share an intimate dinner. Her best friend's husband is the top suspect so Agatha investigates with the help of her neighbor.


Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods Came (Agatha Raisin, Bk 12)
Agatha Raisin and the Day the Floods Came (Agatha Raisin, Bk 12)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 3/26/2008


I am beginning to dislike Agatha! She has made me stay up WAAAY past my bedtime too often lately. In this one Agatha goes on vacation to an island to get away from memories after James leaves her shortly after their marriage and enters a monastery. Or does he?? A murder occurs after she leaves the island. After returning home a body is found and Agatha recalls the murder victim from the island and thinks this could be similar so of course she has to get involved. Disguises, attenpts on her life - all this while meeting the new neighbor, a mystery writer, who purchased James' house.

See why she has been keeping me up at night???


Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam (Agatha Raisin, Bk 10)
Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam (Agatha Raisin, Bk 10)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 3/11/2008


I enjoyed this. I have read another "Agatha" book and plan to get more in the series. Agatha is quite a character, flawed (aren't we all??, and lots of fun! She and her friend investigate "Murder at the Manor", which is the title of the book that Agatha tells people in Fryfam she is writing. When a murder does occur at the manor, Agatha becomes a suspect so she has to investigate to clear her name.


Agatha Raisin and the Love from Hell (Agatha Raisin, Bk 11)
Agatha Raisin and the Love from Hell (Agatha Raisin, Bk 11)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 3/24/2008


Be careful what you wish for because you just might get it....the honeymoon is over almost before it starts for Agatha and James. He cannot deal with her cooking and housekeeping (or lack thereof) and she cannot deal with his wandering eye. But when James' cottage is found bloodspattered, and no James anywhere in sight, and then a neighbor that James had been involved with is murdered, Agatha must once again step in to clear both of their names.


Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Agatha Raisin and the Vicious Vet (Agatha Raisin, Bk 2)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 7/29/2008


Agatha has found yet another man who is interested in her - but wait! When the new vet is killed under mysterious circumstances, she teams up with her neighbor, James Lacey, to investigate the death. When things start hitting a bit close to home, does Agatha back down? Or does she carry on in her own blundering fashion?


Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 7)
Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 7)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 5/6/2008


In this book Agatha stumbles across an elderly man in a local spring. Was he murdered or did he slip and hit his head? (We already know that answer!) The spring is the center of contention, with a company looking to bottle and market the water. When another person is murdered during a village fete, fingers point in many different direction. In the meantime Agatha has been doing the marketing for the company bottling the water and gets involved with one of the (younger) owners. Will she manage to find the murdered before she becomes a victim herself? (Again, we already know the answer, don't we?) Many choices for the murderer in this one - all totally unlikable!


All Shots (Dog Lovers, Bk 18)
All Shots (Dog Lovers, Bk 18)
Author: Susan Conant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/17/2014


Holly Winter is a dog trainer; she trains malamutes. When a corpse shows up, also named Holly Winter, confusion sets in. Then a third person named Holly shows up. Lost dogs, the corpse, a Harley-riding stranger, and a dog walker all are involved in the confusion.


Amazing Gracie : A Dog's Tale
Amazing Gracie : A Dog's Tale
Author: Dan Dye, Mark Beckloff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 1/13/2011


Such a nice little book. A very fast read. I actually got this for my son and his wife as they are now the owners of a Great Dane. I read it before I passed it along to them, and so did a few co-workers who are dog lovers. Everyone really enjoyed it. Dan and Mark thought they were doing a good deed by saving the dog but she actually "saved" them.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 815
Review Date: 6/18/2009


A story of true friendship. A group of women - Faith, Audrey, Merit, Kari, and Slip - form a book club. They take turns picking a book to read and get together to discuss it. This book goes from 1968-1998 so we "see" it all - the world changes before our eyes and so do their lives. Each woman has a story to tell, some take longer than others to share their story, but we do finally hear them all. Some of them get divorced along the way and we hear about it BUT ultimately this is a story about the women and how their friendship helps get them through. I liked how the book is laid out. We have sections with the years; we have chapters "told" by each woman. A nice read with wonderfully strong characters.


Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson, Bk 1)
Review Date: 4/10/2009


A fun book, writteni n the form of a diary. The main character is an English teenager. She is 14 and lives with her parents (Mutti and Vatti), her baby sister, and a cat, Angus, the size of a Lab! She is just learning about boys, thong underwear, and snogging! There is a Glossary in the back which will tell you what snogging, tosser, and nuddy-pants are. A very fast, very fun read. Georgia is a fun character and I am looking forward to reading more of her diary.


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 7/9/2008


Loved, loved, loved this book. Beautifully written. A wonderful story of friendship between women. I am buying red sneakers. This made me appreciate my female friends, and the bonds we share, even more. READ IT.


Another Roadside Attraction
Another Roadside Attraction
Author: Tom Robbins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 7/9/2008


Clairvoyants, trained fleas, the Second Coming - what more could you ask for?? Tom Robbins is a wonderful writer and this is one os his classics. Of course, in my opinion, they ALL are.


Anthropology: And a Hundred Other Stories
Anthropology: And a Hundred Other Stories
Author: Dan Rhodes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/19/2010


Quite an extremely fast read. This is made of up one (short) page love story after another, all in alphabetical order. It begins with Anthropology and ends with Words and covers most letters in between. Most of the stories are sad but there are a few of hope. Interesting idea, interesting book.


Apollyon: The Destroyer Is Unleashed (Left Behind, No 5)
Apollyon: The Destroyer Is Unleashed (Left Behind, No 5)
Author: Jerry Jenkins, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 572
Review Date: 7/18/2007


If you are up to book 5 you don't need an explanation.


The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, Bk 2)
The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, Bk 2)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 9/7/2007


Cute book. Artemis is a genius! Enjoyed it.


The Armageddon Rag
The Armageddon Rag
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/20/2015


Anyone who is a fan of the 60's, or a music lover, is going to enjoy this one immensely. Definitely has a science fiction overtone to it but not so far out there that even someone who is not a sci fi fan won't enjoy it.
Sandy Blair was a reporter in the day. He has "grown up" and now writes novels but is not "fulfilled". When he gets a call asking him to cover a murder of an old rock promoter, he jumps at the chance.


Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 9/7/2007


First one in series and I enjoyed it. Will be getting more of them.


Atomic Lobster (Serge A. Storms, Bk 10)
Atomic Lobster (Serge A. Storms, Bk 10)
Author: Tim Dorsey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/16/2014


The author is totally insane, which isn't a bad thing. Another wonderful Serge Storms book!


The Bachelorette Party
The Bachelorette Party
Author: Karen McCullah Lutz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 7/18/2007


A story of friendship....love....change. Enjoyed it.


1 to 20 of 294 - Page: