sasssy25 - - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 6/26/2010
Helpful Score: 5


This is the funniest book I've ever read. I carried it around with me daily as I ran errands, and I read it nearly everwhere. People kept giving me weird looks as I couldn't help but laugh out loud while reading this book. I loved that each chapter was a story that stood alone, so I didn't have to remember where I was in the overall story. Chelsea Handler is vulgar, blunt, and hilarious. I'd recommend this book for adults college age through thirtysomething. I'm fortysomething, so if you're older and think you can handle it... GO FOR IT!


Bringing Elizabeth Home: A Journey of Faith and Hope (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/7/2013


My teenager chose this as our next listen during our long commutes, then after only a few tracks, just could not listen any more. I finished it out alone, but we both agree the Smarts repeat themselves ad nauseum in this book. Calling it "a journey of faith and hope" should have been a clue. They are more interested in beating us over the head with their faith than anything else. I have no problem with faith, but they just kept talking about their faith, saying they have faith, talking about teaching their children faith, etc. We got it the first time. Don't be mistaken, this isn't Elizabeth Smart's story, this is the story of the parents...and their faith. At one point I wondered aloud to my daughter if they'd self-published this book or if they'd lacked an editor. It is that repititive. At the end, they thanked their editor. Their editor needs a new profession, because editing isn't her forte.


Carolina Moon (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Carolina Moon (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not one for romance novels AT ALL, but this audio book was really good! I'm more a fan of mystery/suspense, and this definitely fit well into that category. It wasn't too predictable like they often are. I really enjoyed the narration by Dean Robertson, with her perfect southern accent to make me feel as if I were there. I highly recommend this audio book.


Driven to Death (Strange Matter) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/22/2012
Helpful Score: 1


My teenage daughter and I really enjoyed this Stephen King style audio book for kids. It's a good, suspenseful, horror story that isn't too scary for kids, yet isn't too childish for adults, even though the box says ages 7+. I don't generally like children's, or even young adult, books, but this one was gripping. And the audio presentation was top-notch with a full cast and original music. I highly recommend it for people of all ages.


Ghetto Cowboy (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Ghetto Cowboy (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: G. Neri, JD Jackson (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/22/2012


Neither my teenage daughter nor I thought we'd like this audio book, as we don't like westerns and have nothing in common with the characters. It turns out it's just a really good story about a boy and the things he learns about responsibility, family, and doing the right thing. JD Jackson does an incredible job as narrator. The box says "middle grade fiction," but we highly recommend this book for people of all ages.


The Glass Lake (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
The Glass Lake (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Maeve Binchy, Fionnula Flanagan (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/1/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is not the type of book I would normally read, but I really enjoyed listening to this audio version. The story was quite good, which pleasantly surprised me. The thing I loved best was the performance by Fionnula Flanagan. She was spectacular. I highly recommend audio books performed by her. I have listened to a few other performers that made me cringe or got on my nerves, so it's good to know there are good ones out there.


Growing Up Lutheran (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Growing Up Lutheran (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Janet Letnes Martin, Suzann Johnson Nelson
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 1.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/15/2013


This is by far the worst book I have ever listened to. My teenage daughter and I listened to it together, and we both felt the same. Neither of us grew up Lutheran, and perhaps we needed to in order to appreciate it. I was under the impression it would be humorous, but the only thing we found funny about it was how incredibly horrible it was. And the authors' overuse of their catchphrase "this is most certainly true" was merely an irritant that caused involuntary groans from both of us.


Lisey's Story (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Lisey's Story (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Stephen King, Mare Winningham (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/7/2013


Let me start by saying I'm horrible at reviews, but sometimes based on other reviews I feel I must say my two cents. I really liked this story. I am a huge Stephen King fan and a huge horror fan, but I did not find this book particularly gory. Unlike so many other books (and movies as well), I found this book to be exactly as described on the back of the box. And although I'm no Mare Winningham fan, her narration was perfect for this story.


Never Knowing (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Never Knowing (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Chevy Stevens, Carrington MacDuffie (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/6/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book and didn't want to quit listening to it. I'm horrible at reviews but had to write this anyway, as I disagree with the other reviewer.


1 to 9 of 9