Nancy L. (NancyAZ) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 51 - Page:
The Accident
The Accident
Author: Chris Pavone
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/18/2016


I loved loved loved this book. The writing was excellent, the mystery was well rounded and the ending was satisfying. My only complaint was having to go back occasionally to remember something that had happened previously because there were so many players. But it is a minor complaint and doesn't take any stars away from my rating. I highly recommend!


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/31/2018


I enjoyed the twists and turns of this book immensely. It was a good story and written quite well. There were a few times when things were repeated a bit but not enough to stop me from reading. I have to share a quote from a reader on Goodreads with whom I totally agree.

âUsually for me, suspense/thriller books are like eating M&Ms...they're good, but I don't expect to get much (literary) nutritional value out of them. This was a surprising exception however, probably because of the twists and reveals.â

If you like mysteries/thrillers this book is for you!


Angels of Destruction
Angels of Destruction
Author: Keith Donohue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/4/2013
Helpful Score: 2


This book is mystical, magical and beautiful. The author's writing is so descriptive I wanted to savor every word. The way Donohue puts words together is inspiring.

This is a story of love and redemption, exploring relationships between mother and daughter, sisters and friends with a little mysticism thrown in. Who are the angels in your life?

Dont rush through it. Bask in the beauty of it all.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 985
Review Date: 10/12/2015


My opinion of this book is clearly in the minority. It is a simple tale told through the eyes of a dog. The dog had my heart as I am a dog lover but the story is way too predictable and the writing is simple. Within the story there are constant analogies comparing the struggle of life to race car driving. I did not like those parts at all.
I love books that either enlighten me in some way, teach me something about a bit of history I am unaware of or keep me guessing what is coming next. I like to be kept interested! This book did none of those things for me. It attempts to tug at the heartstrings (and succeeds a little) but not enough for me to give it more than 3 stars.


The Beach Trees
The Beach Trees
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 6/21/2015


This was a solid 4 stars for me through most of the book. Then came the ending. The ending was rushed and the mystery explained in two seconds. And there are still questions that weren't answered. Very disappointed it ended so abruptly and poorly.

I did love learning about the Katrina trees in Biloxi, Mississippi. Very interesting what sculptors did to the standing dead trees after Hurricane Katrina. Check the trees out on line!


Big Little Lies
Big Little Lies
Author: Liane Moriarty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 3/21/2017


I loved the execution of this story but the story itself was one that has been told over and over again leaving me feeling bleh. The crux of the story deals with spousal abuse, bullying, rape, marriage problems, etc. It is probably better suited for readers who have not read about these subjects time and time again. The fact that the reader knows right up front that someone has been murdered is what interested me enough to continue to the end. I wanted to know who was murdered! All in all I guess it boils down to that I want to read something I haven't read before.


Breaking the Silence
Breaking the Silence
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 11/24/2017


This is not a boring book and it kept me turning the pages. The subject matter of the torture and experimentation on patients at psychiatric facilities back in the 50's was interesting and a bit disturbing to say the least. And the mystery within the story was well rounded.

Why then did I give this book only 3 stars? I feel my reading interests have matured and I prefer a book that stimulates my brain a bit more. The story was just a little too simple for me. I do know if I had read this book in my 20's I would have rated this book 4-5 stars.

It is definitely a beach time, summertime book and perfect if you want to take a break and read something light.


The Coroner's Lunch (Dr. Siri Paiboun, Bk 1)
The Coroner's Lunch (Dr. Siri Paiboun, Bk 1)
Author: Colin Cotterill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 5/13/2012
Helpful Score: 6


This book was like a breath of fresh air. It is written very well with just the right amount of humor included with the mystery. Dr. Siri is a hoot!

Any book that can make me laugh out loud gets a bigs thumbs up from me. I can't wait to read more in the series.


Dear Daughter
Dear Daughter
Author: Elizabeth Little
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/5/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book a lot. It was cleverly written and held my attention down to the last page. The ending was a shocker and I'm not sure I liked it but that did not stop me from liking the book overall. Many reviewers have posted they did not like the book because they did not like the narrator. I on the other hand felt sorry for her and was rooting for her throughout the story. And even if you don't like the narrator, does that make it a bad book? I think not!


A Dirty Job
A Dirty Job
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 9/28/2014


This book is laugh out loud hilarious. I could not stop laughing and reading parts of it to my family. Definitely fantasy which is not my genre but I'm so glad I ran across it and gave it a try. If you want to laugh you've got to pick this one up.


Down River
Down River
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/2/2018


This book was full of twists and turns and written quite well. It just didn't blow me away, thus only 3.5 stars.


The Dry (Aaron Falk, Bk 1)
The Dry (Aaron Falk, Bk 1)
Author: Jane Harper
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/31/2018


4.5 stars. An excellent first novel for Jane Harper. A lot of twists and turns and red herrings with everything tied up at the end. No loose strings hanging, no questions unanswered. I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series.


Everything I Never Told You: A Novel
Everything I Never Told You: A Novel
Author: Celeste Ng
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 1/2/2018


By the time I got to page 70 I knew this book was not for me. It was too dysfunctional and sad for my taste. I skimmed through the rest of the book and read a few spoilers and then I was doubly sure the book was not for me. The writing was decent but I did not care for the subject matter.


The Gods of Gotham (Timothy Wilde, Bk 1)
The Gods of Gotham (Timothy Wilde, Bk 1)
Author: Lyndsay Faye
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/3/2015


I loved this book more than I thought I would. Lyndsay Faye writes a well researched, enjoyable story. It took me a little while to get used to her writing but once I did I thought it fantastic. Sometimes I would have to read a sentence over a couple times to understand what it was she was saying but hey, I prefer that to so much that is out there that seems like Jr. High level. The middle part of the book did drag a bit but overall I can't say enough good things about it. I cared about the relationships developed in the story and the background set in 1845 New York was fascinating. The mystery was solid and when I finished the book I was extremely satisfied. I hope the next book I read comes close to this!


The Heretic's Daughter
The Heretic's Daughter
Author: Kathleen Kent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 11/24/2017


3.5 Stars
This book recounts a young girl's story of her life in 1692 in Massachusets and also portrays the bond that exists between mother and daughter no matter what. The reader learns about life on the farm she lived on, the love and tribulations of family and the hysterics surrounding the accusations of young girls who claimed to be victims of spells put upon them by neighbors and residents of surrounding towns.

I knew very little about this this time in our history so it was interesting and alarming to learn what went on back then. The young girl, Sarah, watches as her mother is accused of being a witch and put in jail. Eventually Sarah is also jailed and the descriptions of the jail conditions is horrifying and sad. It is scary how people's minds can be maniupulated into believing such unreasonable accusations.

My rating would have been 4 stars except there were parts in the book that read more like a history book than a novel. It seemed like a listing of facts of others that were imprisoned and eventually hanged or released.
Overall though a well written book and an enjoyable read


How to Bake a Perfect Life
How to Bake a Perfect Life
Author: Barbara O'Neal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 8/10/2011


I loved this book! Very heartwarming story about family and love and mother/daughter relationships. This book made me smile and brought tears to my eyes. That is the making of a good book. An easy and delightful read.


In the Company of Cheerful Ladies (No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 6)
Review Date: 6/24/2013


This is my favorite of the series so far. Every book has been a pleasure to read but this one made me chuckle more than once over the antics of the two lady detectives. These books are light and easy to read but still very interesting.


Julia's Chocolates
Julia's Chocolates
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 166
Review Date: 3/24/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I could not finish this book. The premise of the book is good but its too predictable and trite. The characters are stereotypical and you pretty much know exactly how everything is going to turn out. I want a book that keeps me guessing.

There are also a lot of over the top, quirky scenes that seem to be put in the book to shock the reader. Not shocking to me, just dumb! The writing is poor and by page 120 I couldnt read another page. I did not care about any of the characters. There are some good chick lit books out there but this is definitely not one of them.


Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 560
Review Date: 8/18/2015


This is my second Christopher Moore book. Lamb is cleverly written and quite humorous, although not as humorous as A Dirty Job. It gets bogged down a little in the middle of the book but overall a very enjoyable read. I do not think it was offensive to the Christian religion at all. It is simply a story of what might have happened to Jesus as a young boy. Great imagination Chris!


Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Author: Chris Cleave
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 822
Review Date: 9/30/2017


I think I would have liked this book better if there had not been so much hype over it. I heard about it years ago from a TV personality who said it was SO good but couldn't say what it was about. Then the back of the book tells the reader they don't want to tell us what happens in this book as it is a truly special story and they don't want to spoil it. I was expecting to be blown away. I was not. And I don't understand all the secrecy. I am intrigued with any stories set in Africa as I don't know enough about what has gone on in that country and Mr Cleve's story delves into the horrendous treatment of the people of Nigeria but the story as a whole is not anything special or new. It is just OK. It definitely did not change my life.


1 to 20 of 51 - Page: