Mary S. (maryruth) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
The Ballad of Frankie Silver (Ballad, Bk 5)
The Ballad of Frankie Silver (Ballad, Bk 5)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 8/25/2015


One of Sharyn McCrumb's best.
Spencer Arrowood and Nora Bonesteel are terrific characters. I loved how this story addressed the idea of whether we can actually know enough about any situation to find justice for those involved. Juxtiposing a folk legend/ghost story with a fugitive on
the run was very effective


Dead, Without a Stone to Tell It (Abbott and Lowell, Bk 1)
Review Date: 9/12/2017


Wonderful location!
Characters that I cared about.
Interesting plot with good pacing
and no red herrings or deux e machina
endings.

Very much looking forward to next story.


Doctored Evidence (Guido Brunetti, Bk 13)
Doctored Evidence (Guido Brunetti, Bk 13)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 8/3/2012
Helpful Score: 2


One of the best detective/mystery series I have
ever read. Guido Brunetti and his Venice are so
real. I love his family and want to know more
about his work companions. His relationship with his with Paola is one of the most charming I have ever encountered in fiction. I am currently reading
through the series as if it were one big, fat
book. Each book is more engaging than the last.


Fall from Grace: A Karl Albert Mystery
Review Date: 8/22/2012


A mystery story set in a beautiful but unfamiliar location (Sunshine Coast of Canada) with a middle aged handsome, common sense,no nonsense Royal Canadian Mountie: how could you not enjoy this story? As part of a series, it fits seamlessly. We become better acquainted with Karl and his fellow citizens while he solves the mystery. A quiet, calm story that is quite compelling.


The Flanders Panel
The Flanders Panel
Author: Arturo Perez-Reverte, Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 10/6/2012


Perez-Reverte always delivers a good read!


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 7/19/2017


Kate Morton is one of my favorite writers because I enjoy the development of her characters and the pace of her plotting.

The Forgotten Garden is my favorite of her books to date.
I forced myself not to read the last chapter first. Every time I thought I had figure out the solution to the mystery, I was fooled with a very logical twist. No out of the blue red herrings but plausible twists. In many ways this story reminds me of the best of the Victorian/ Edwardian family puzzle mysteries.

I highly recommend this book.


Northern Lights
Northern Lights
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 540
Review Date: 7/10/2012


My favorite part of this book was Roberts' attention to detail about life in Alaska. Her characters were engaging. The relationships were like real adults but sexier. A great summer read.


Quick Quilts
Quick Quilts
Author: Susan Ramey Wright
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/6/2012


Interesting ideas to develop your own ideas.


Scrap Quilts
Scrap Quilts
Author: Judy Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/6/2012


A very useful and clever edition to my quilt book collection. Good for stash busting!


Shakespeare's Counselor (Lily Bard, Bk 5)
Shakespeare's Counselor (Lily Bard, Bk 5)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 317
Review Date: 10/3/2012


I read the Lily Bard books as if they were one big book.
I enjoyed the story arc with Lily and her beau. The stories are not as "snarky funny" as the "Dead" series by the same author but they are sweet and the literary references are amusing.


The Sunday Philosophy Club  (Isabel Dalhousie, Bk 1)
The Sunday Philosophy Club (Isabel Dalhousie, Bk 1)
Author: Alexander Mccall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 10/6/2012


I loved McCall Smith's African mysteries but Isabel Dalhousie leaves me cold. Maybe she would be your cup
of tea.


1 to 11 of 11