Sara W. (ladyofavalon) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 89 - Page:
Absolute Boyfriend, Volume 1 (Absolute Boyfriend)
Absolute Boyfriend, Volume 1 (Absolute Boyfriend)
Author: Yuu Watase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 9/24/2006


A cute romance/comedy manga by the manga-ka who did Fushigi Yugi and Ceres: Celestial Legend


Alice 19th (Lotis Master, Vol 1)
Alice 19th (Lotis Master, Vol 1)
Author: Yu Watase
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 6/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


volume 1 in a 7 book series by shojo master Yuu Watase. adventure, romance, comedy all rolled in one.


American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 968
Review Date: 9/25/2006


An excellent story of old gods, new gods, and a mortal man stuck in their games.


Anansi Boys
Anansi Boys
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 4/14/2009


the sequel to American Gods. I love Neil Gaiman, and this book was awesome, but not QUITE as awesome as its predecessor. Still a fun read for fans of the author/genre.


Angel Sanctuary, Vol. 1
Angel Sanctuary, Vol. 1
Author: Kaori Yuki
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


beautiful artwork, complex characters and a great read.


Angel Sanctuary, Vol. 2: The Crying Game
Angel Sanctuary, Vol. 2: The Crying Game
Author: Kaori Yuki
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/7/2006


love the artwork!


The Anne Rice Collection: Mayfair Witches, Bks 1-3 (Abridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 1/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


author approved abridgements of the Mayfair Witches books. Lasher read by joe morton, the Witching hour read by lindsay crouse, and Taltos read by tim curry. an excellent series!


Aquarian Age - Juvenile Orion, Volume 1
Aquarian Age - Juvenile Orion, Volume 1
Author: Marekatsu Nakai, Sakurako Gokurakuin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 6/5/2006
Helpful Score: 2


volume 1 in a 5 book fantasy series. same artist/author who does Cafe Occult.


Aquarian Age - Juvenile Orion, Volume 2
Aquarian Age - Juvenile Orion, Volume 2
Author: Sakurako Gokurakuin, Marekatsu Nakai
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/5/2006


Volume 2 out of 5 of a great fantasy story. the art is excellent.


Battle Royale (Battle Royale)
Battle Royale (Battle Royale)
Author: Koushun Takami
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 9/25/2006


a frightening tale of 42 high school students stuck on an island and forced to kill each other off to survive the government game.


Beneath The Moors and Darker Places
Beneath The Moors and Darker Places
Author: Brian Lumley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/14/2009


a collection of some of Lumley's short stories. as always they are dark, grotesque and PERFECT for the horror fan. Includes Fairground Horror (very Lovecraftian and my favorite), Beneath the Moors, Dagon's Bell, Rising With Surtsey and others.


The Biggest Secret: The Book That Will Change the World
The Biggest Secret: The Book That Will Change the World
Author: David Icke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


the only conpiracy book i've read where I truly feel like i'm being lied to about some important global happenings. Icke also gives ways to release oneself from the lies and oppression, though the book is a long and heavy read. not for the casual skim-reader.


Bill Peet : An Autobiography
Bill Peet : An Autobiography
Author: Bill Peet
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/14/2009


an autobiography drawn and written by a great cartoonist and animator. Bil Peet helped Disney with 101 Dalmations and he worked with many other animaion studios. Growing up I loved his childrens books. Lots of pictures and funny anecdotal stories from the man's life.


Bitterwood (Dragon Age, Bk 1)
Bitterwood (Dragon Age, Bk 1)
Author: James Maxey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


a fun read with aspects of fantasy, sci-fi, and religion tangled together. Dragons rules the known world and only one man, Bitterwood, has the determination to stand against them. But what can one man do against thousands of dragons?


Black Powder War (Temeraire, Bk 3)
Black Powder War (Temeraire, Bk 3)
Author: Naomi Novik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 4/14/2009


Considering the first two books of Novik's series were astoundingly amazing, this one falls a bit short. I read it quickly to fulfill me desire for plot continuity, but afterward I wasn't as satisfied as I had been with Jade Empire. It seemed to skip around with no defined course, but it was still worthwhile ^_^


Blood and Chocolate
Blood and Chocolate
Author: Annette Curtis Klause
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 4/14/2009


a good, quick super-natural young adult novel. The movie that came out with the same title is filth in comparison. This book does lean toward the "girl falls for the bad boy" archetype, yet it pulls it off with enough originality to be worth the read. Hope ya like your werewolves young and troubled, for they are both in Blood and Chocolate.


The Book of Fire (#3) / The Book of Air (#4) (Dragon Quartet Volume II )
Review Date: 4/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I completely loved the first two novels in this series, but this omnibus broke my heart. I was all ready for a fantasy + time-travel story with an epic ending, but the way it finished left a bad taste in my mouth. The fourth novel is what killed it for me. Sad, since the first 3 were so damn good. Her writing style was great and her characters where lively, which is probably why her seemingly swift an critical ending of the series really upset me.


Brimstone (Pendergast, Bk 5)
Brimstone (Pendergast, Bk 5)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 11/10/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Doulgas Preston and Lincoln Child never fail to impress me!


By The Sword Volume 1 (By the Sword)
By The Sword Volume 1 (By the Sword)
Author: Sanami Matoh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/5/2006


the first volume of a great fantasy/adventure manga by artist Sanami Matoh who did Fake. fun and full of great artwork.


By The Sword Volume 2 (By the Sword)
By The Sword Volume 2 (By the Sword)
Author: Sanami Matoh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/5/2006


volume 2 of Sanami Matoh's fantasy adventure story.


1 to 20 of 89 - Page: