Reviews - Rachel B. (travnray)

1 to 20 of 142 - Page:
1-2-3 Magic: Effective Discipline for Children 2-12
1-2-3 Magic: Effective Discipline for Children 2-12
Author: Thomas W. Phelan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 9/30/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Totally loved it! My pediatrician lent it to me and I read it in just a few sittings, I kept it for almost 2 months and refered back to it often. I then got my own copy as I found myself (and my children) doing better at it, if I was consistantly reading it or refering back to it. A must read!"


Abe: A Novel of the Young Lincoln
Abe: A Novel of the Young Lincoln
Author: Richard Slotkin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/1/2013


"This one was a little disappointing, but I should have known, being a fictional novel of someone that I knew a little bit about and wanted to learn more. The writing style was VERY difficult for me. I just never got an appreciation for the backwoods,redneck lingo. As a matter of personal preference, I'd rather skip this fiction fantasy and stick with facts and true tales."


Against Medical Advice
Against Medical Advice
Author: James Patterson, Hal Friedman, Cory Friedman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 2/5/2010


"This is one that tears at your heart. I have a special child that is only 7, and so far we've been able to protect him from the cruelness of the world, but this story is about a teenager. His parents are doing absoultely everything in their control to try to make his world as normal as possible. Doctors, school, friends, alcohol, and prescription drugs really make that difficult. As helpful as all of these factors try to be, sometimes everything just backfires and makes everything so much worse. (We've been there.) This is a good one. I recommend it to parents with kids, parents with special kids, pretty much anyone, anywhere."


The Autism Book: Answers to Your Most Pressing Questions : Answers to Your Most Pressing Questions
Review Date: 10/10/2013


"I loved this book!
It's very sincere and sweet, it's easy to read. Tho I liked to read just a little at a time just to contemplate for awhile. If I could, I'd tell the writers, editors, publishers, thank you!
This is a mission accomplished."


The Autistic Spectrum: A Parents' Guide to Understanding and Helping Your Child
Review Date: 11/1/2009


"I got this one from a friend who got it out of the library discard pile. It is a little bit outdated as far as stats. Tho it's a good one to read and keep on the shelf to reference back to. It's just hard for me to let go of an autism book. They are all so good and I like to read them more than once. This is another one of those good ones."


Beauty Fades, Dumb Is Forever: The Making of a Happy Woman
Beauty Fades, Dumb Is Forever: The Making of a Happy Woman
Author: Judy Sheindlin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/11/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thought this book was great. I enjoy Judge Judy's outspoken personality and she can tell a pretty funny story, too. I didn't agree with everything that she said, but it was worth the read, and there was a couple of times that I laughed out loud. It's a perfect afternoon read."


Becoming One: Emotionally, Spiritually, Sexually
Becoming One: Emotionally, Spiritually, Sexually
Author: Joe Beam
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/2/2009


"I got interested in this book because it was quoted in another book that I really like. This one is pretty good. I was happy to see actual words and phrases to use when talking to your kids about sex and marriage. We are also a very religious family, and this book is very good at keeping religion in every element. It's one I plan to reread."


Believing Christ: The Parable of the Bicycle and Other Good News
Review Date: 2/1/2009


"I had read this one before, when I was a kid and I enjoyed it both times. This book is easy to read and helps clarify Jesus' forgiveness, kindness and his amazing love for each of us as individuals. It isn't always easy for us to believe how much God loves us, and this book helps me to do just that. I loved it."


Between Husband and Wife: Gospel Perspectives on Marital Intimacy
Review Date: 11/4/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Amazing! I have been wanting to read this book since I got engaged to be married, and I wished that I had it read it then. I Love being married and I couldn't ask for a better life. I truly married my soul mate, and I wish that every LDS young couple could have this book available to them. (Old couples, too:) As a matter of fact, I keep thinking that I might lend this book to my parents. It's really good!"


The Care and Feeding of Indigo Children
The Care and Feeding of Indigo Children
Author: Doreen Virtue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/10/2010


"I didn't like this book. It's a little too "out there" for me."


Changed by a Child
Changed by a Child
Author: Barbara Gill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/22/2011


"Not too bad. Quick and easy. There are a bunch of books out there that are just like it."


Review Date: 7/29/2010


"This is a great one. It's so easy to get down and depressed and thinking that you are the only parent out there who has crappy days after crappy days after crappy days. But there are so many other parents out there and often just talking about those days can make them a little bit funny or at least a seem little more tolerable. These stories are touching and so easy to read. I'd recommend it even just to thumb through."


A Child's Journey out of Autism: One Family's Story of Living in Hope and Finding a Cure
Review Date: 9/20/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"SO GOOD!!
My very first impressions were that this book is too wordy, but I quickly came to appreciate the author's details in conveying her feelings, her experiences, her child's digression, the effects on her husband and marriage and on and on. She also explains the treatments, vitamins, detox, etc that she tries with her boy. Which is unlike any other autism book that I've read. This is such a great book for references, as well as encouragement and strength. At times I feel like I'm not doing everything for my son that I should be, and this book really helped me. I wish I could just hand out copies to the world."


Chipper: More Than a Miracle
Chipper: More Than a Miracle
Author: Lorraine Thompson, Gayla Schmutz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/5/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I read this one in a day. It was a very touching story about a boy who gets hurt and needs brain surgery. He makes a great recovery, but he is also changed forever. Before the accident he liked baseball, but afterwards, he liked rodeo. Also his likes in food changed alot. It was interesting. This sad and happy true story is a good one to read to kids."


The Christmas Sweater (Large Print)
The Christmas Sweater (Large Print)
Author: Glen Beck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/23/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"My dad suggested this book to me and to tell the truth I wasn't very excited to read it. But let me say now that this is a great one! I loved the writing, because I was surprised at every turn. I never saw the next "thing" coming. (And I'm usually pretty good at antiscipating,) so this book really got me. I read 3 chapters the first night, and finished it the second night. It's a fast read and really enhances the Christmas spirit. Well worth reading!"


Coconut Cures: Preventing and Treating Common Health Problems with Coconut
Review Date: 1/15/2012


"Absolutely fabulous! I had no idea that something so wonderful was so close to my fingertips. I actually got to try it out when the flu big hit my household and the coconut water and coconut oil did everything that Dr Fife said it would. This book has a lot of chemistry in it that made it a little bit difficult to follow but all in all a really great book."


Complications: A Surgeon's Notes on an Imperfect Science
Complications: A Surgeon's Notes on an Imperfect Science
Author: Atul Gawande
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 3/23/2010


"So Good! I loved this book. There are a handful of gory stories that made my stomach flip flop, but being married to a doctor, it reinforced some of my husbands' feelings on several of the same issues. Doctors are human beings, not Gods. They have their bad days, too. It is frustrating for them as well to not be able to find a miracle to help people get better.
It was a really great read. I'd recommend it to anyone."


Confessions of a Slacker Mom
Confessions of a Slacker Mom
Author: Muffy Mead-Ferro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 12/25/2008


"I LOVED this book. So easy to read and relate to, as well as humorous and comforting. Definitely one to re-read."


Coping When a Brother or Sister Is Autistic (Coping)
Coping When a Brother or Sister Is Autistic (Coping)
Author: Marsha Sarah Rosenberg
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/4/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really liked this book. It's written in a style that is easy to flip through and get engrossed for awhile. I hate that anybody even needs a book like this, but this is a good one. A little outdated, but still a good one."


Coping with Dyspraxia
Coping with Dyspraxia
Author: Jill Eckersley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/20/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Finally a book that speaks to parents on our level. This book was written and published in the UK, so there are some spelling and grammar differences, which I actually think is kinda cool. However, it is a reference book for European agencies and therapies and there are medical advances that are happening over there that aren't happening here.

But this book is absolutely necessary for parents who need answers as to why their child is having difficulties that aren't easily explained. As well as adults. In fact, I'd say that this book is more aimed at adults than children.

After reading the first chapter, I put the book down and felt very disappointed that I only had 80 pages left. I wish this author would continue for 300 pages. Very informative, Very easy to understand, lots of check lists and briefs. Extremely well written and concise. Tho, as I mentioned, not exactly geared to our country."


1 to 20 of 142 - Page: