Reviews - Melissa F. (mitabird)

1 to 20 of 189 - Page:
911
911
Author: Chris Owen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/19/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"911 was just OK. I liked all three characters, Drew, Scott & Eric. Drew, a fireman, and Scott, a doctor, were a couple first and Eric, an EMT, joined in later. The book had a few ups and downs with the relationships, theirs and with family and friends. That's pretty much what the story was about. I thought there was a little too much sappiness at times. The writing style was simple, making this an easy read."


Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Bk 12)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 473
Review Date: 10/27/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I would never had imagined his horrific beginnings and it's amazing that he is such a good person. I do have to say that I preferred the first half of the story over the second. Kenyon, IMO, hasn't written a great romance in a while. I don't feel the connection or chemistry between the main characters and, sadly, Acheron was no exception. I also felt that he wasn't the same person I've come to love over the course of the series. Even though I now know why, he came off as whiny and needy and I'm used to seeing the strong Ash. I haven't decided yet if I am done with the Dark Hunters for good."


Agency of Extraordinary Mates, Vol 1: 4 Play / Finding Magic / Sea God's Pleasure
Review Date: 10/27/2008
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book consists of 3 stories that surround the location of Chimera Island. This place is where paranormal creatures can find mates in humans. Douglas's story was pretty cute, but I didn't care too much for the other two."


Alien Overnight
Alien Overnight
Author: Robin L. Rotham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 10/27/2008
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Alien Overnight was a pretty good sci-fi erotic romance. The beginning was a little confusing and the anatomy was a bit strange, but once I got about 1/4 way through, I really enjoyed it. There were moments that I laughed out loud and that is rare for me in a book. I hope Rotham plans to write a sequel."


All Jacked Up (Rough Riders, Bk 8)
All Jacked Up (Rough Riders, Bk 8)
Author: Lorelei James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 1/5/2011


"I'm sorry to say that I didn't like this book. Jack and Keely's "fake" relationship seemed fake the entire book. There wasn't a connection and their feelings for each didn't seem real. Jack was unlikeable and I never warmed up to him. I felt he was an ass numerous times to Keely and I thought she forgave him way too quickly. She seemed smart and stuck up for herself at times, but should have kicked Jack to the curb. She deserved better. This was a disappointing read since I enjoyed the previous books in this series"


All U Can Eat
All U Can Eat
Author: Emma Holly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 2/17/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"All U Can Eat was just OK. I couldn't empathize with any of the characters and the mystery was just OK too. I usually like Holly's books, but this one didn't work for me."


Anchor and Storm
Anchor and Storm
Author: Kate Poole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 3/22/2011


"This didn't work for me, unfortunately. I was bored by the story quickly and I never made a connection with Emily, Edgar or Angus. I really didn't care what happened with them."


Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter, Bk 1)
Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Nalini Singh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 7/17/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Angel's Blood was not as good as I thought it would be. Elena is a vampire hunter. She finds vampires and returns them to their master, the angel that created them. She has a special ability to scent vampires, which makes her unique. Raphael is the archangel of New York and requests her assistance to find an archangel gone bad.

This story never fully captured my attention, though it had many unusual aspects. Angels making vampires was an intriguing idea. The secrecy and mystery surrounding angels, especially archangels, was interesting. It was completely different than anything I've read lately. There was some action, some humor, and plenty of questions as to what exactly was wrong with the archangel gone bad. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to empathize with Elena nor was I able to really like Raphael. I understood that he wasn't human and wouldn't behave as a human does, but he was so cold and hard throughout most of the book. He redeemed himself in the end, but it was too late for me to warm up to him. I haven't decided if I'm going to read the next in the series yet."


Apache Promise (Heartfire Romance)
Apache Promise (Heartfire Romance)
Author: Janis Reams Hudson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/15/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Angela's family is moving from Memphis to Tuscan to start a new life. Matt was raised with the Apache and is working with them and the American government on a peace treaty. Matt and Angela cross paths due to some Apache idiocy. In order to keep the peace, Matt and Angela have to marry. It's supposed to be temporary, but feelings happen to get in the way.

The book started out OK, but Angela was just plain stupid throughout most of the story. I felt so sorry for Matt. She put that man through the ringer with her insecurities and jealousy and he still wanted her! He never gave her any reason to doubt him, but because of the nature of their marriage, I guess it made it hard for her to trust him. The last 50 or so pages of the book were hard to finish because I just wanted to ring her neck."


Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, Bk 2)
Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, Bk 2)
Author: Nalini Singh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 3/17/2010


"I liked this book better than Angel's Blood, though I had trouble recalling the details from the first book. I thought it was well-written and I enjoyed reading about the angel politics. My problem still lies with Elena and Raphael. I am not invested in them, so it's really hard to care about what happens with them. I felt the ending was a bit anti-climatic too. The book was interesting enough for me to want to read the next one."


Ashes of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 6)
Ashes of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 6)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 366
Review Date: 9/26/2009
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"After finishing Veil of Midnight and thoroughly enjoying it, I was looking forward to reading Ashes of Midnight. However, I thought it was astoundingly bad. It was so bad, that I consider it to be the worst book I've finished so far this year. There was no saving grace to this story at all. Claire had to be dumbest person alive. The things she said and did were absolutely ridiculous. I mean, seriously, her mate had everyone in Andrea's Darkhaven murdered and she couldn't seem to grasp why he might want revenge. I'm sad to say that Andreas wasn't much better. He was so consumed by his rage, he couldn't see anything else. Their romance was anemic and there was way too much angst going on, especially concerning Andrea's ability. The storyline did progress, but I stopped caring. I highly doubt I will continue with this series as I no longer have any interest in what happens in Adrian's world."


At Grave's End (Night Huntress, Bk 3)
At Grave's End (Night Huntress, Bk 3)
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 462
Review Date: 8/31/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"At Grave's End was a great read and The Night Huntress is a truly excellent series. I absolutely love the relationship between Cat and Bones and Bones has quickly become one of my favorite male leads. He's funny, extremely loyal, and violent when it comes to protecting those he loves, especially Cat. I experienced a range of emotions when I was reading this. I wonder what the author is going to do with Tate. He's also a character I really like and I hope he finds happiness. This book is my favorite so far from the series."


Bad in Boots: Colt's Choice
Bad in Boots: Colt's Choice
Author: Patrice Michelle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/27/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Colt's Choice was, plain and simple, boring. The characters were one dimensional and had no personality. The H/h had zero chemistry and the conflict between the two got old very quickly. Hunger and Temptation was the much better book."


Behind Closed Doors (McCloud, Bk 1)
Behind Closed Doors (McCloud, Bk 1)
Author: Shannon McKenna
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 11/29/2008


"Behind Closed Doors was pretty good. Seth was a little much to take sometimes. He was extremely Alpha and was not always kind to Raine. However, even with all of his idiocy, he truly did care about her. The suspense was exciting and Raine grew enough of a backbone to deal with all the stuff thrown at her. It kept my interest and I want to read the rest of the series now."


Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 652
Review Date: 5/7/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I have to say that I really enjoyed this book. Elena was such a riveting character. It's rare that I find a book where I am so drawn in to their personality, that I feel the same emotions as that character. She was strong, witty, and loyal. Throughout the story, she struggled with her dual desires: to live a human life and to fully embrace her werewolf life. I liked her interactions with the others, especially Clay. He was driven to keep her with the Pack, but seemed to learn from his previous mistakes by taking a different approach with her. There were many suspenseful moments as well that was surprisingly pleasant. The outcome to her wants and the danger that the Pack faced was believable and realistic. This was a nice start to this series."


The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider's Guide
The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider's Guide
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 2/27/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This review is just for the short story, Father Mine, as I did not read the whole thing. JR Ward is one of my favorite authors. Over the last couple of years, I've discovered that I prefer character driven stories and I think JR Ward is one of the best in that aspect. Her characters are beautifully written and have so much depth that I just get sucked into the story. Zsadist has always been my favorite and reading his struggles concerning Nalla and Bella was heartbreaking. It was so uplifting to finish it and realize he will eventually be OK. If you had no intentions of getting this guide, get it just to read Father Mine."


Blackmailed
Blackmailed
Author: Annmarie McKenna
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 10/27/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I was a bit disappointed with Blackmailed. I really wanted to like it as I love menages, but this one just didn't do it for me. The heroine was a spineless, weak-willed woman. She never did try to find a way around the blackmail; she just decided to do whatever they wanted. When I start rolling my eyes after 30 pages, it doesn't bode well."


Blindsighted  (Grant County, Bk 1)
Blindsighted (Grant County, Bk 1)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 332
Review Date: 3/13/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thought Blindsighted was just OK. I couldn't connect with any of the characters and I guessed early on who the killer was. It definitely had its suspenseful moments, but sometimes I found of the description of the violence a little too graphic."


Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven, Bk 1)
Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1397
Review Date: 12/31/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really wanted to like Blood Brothers, but I didn't. I did not like Quinn at all. She was too perfect and very pushy. Caleb was like a cardboard cut-out character; there was no substance to him at all, IMO. The plot started off okay, but started to get a little ridiculous as the story progressed. I can say that I will not be reading the next two in this series."


Blood of an Angel (Embraced, Bk 3)
Blood of an Angel (Embraced, Bk 3)
Author: Anya Bast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/27/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I didn't like this one as much as the first two. Though the sex scenes were hot, Tiya and Charlie never clicked for me. I wasn't engaged in the plot either. I really didn't care too much about what was going on."


1 to 20 of 189 - Page: