Marci G. (GowerMeower) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 179 - Page:
1000 Handy Gardening Hints
1000 Handy Gardening Hints
Author: Alan Titchmarsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Alan Titchmarsh is a genius in the garden. Read anything you can find from him.


Advanced Beadwork
Advanced Beadwork
Author: Ruth Poris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Excellent how to guide for the bead enthusiast. I would say the projects are not really that advanced, and as long as you have a relative background in beadwork, you would enjoy the projects and methods taught in the book. Easy to understand directions and illustrations/pictures.


The Affair of the Necklace
The Affair of the Necklace
Author: Elizabeth Hand
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Inaccurate but none the less page-turning novel of the scandal that forever tainted Marie Antoinette during the lead up to the revolution. A quick read, and enjoyable historical fiction.


All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat
All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat
Author: Suzy Becker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 6/4/2007


KITTIES! Very cute cartoons about life with kitty. Purrrr


All Too Human: The Love Story of Jack and Jackie Kennedy
All Too Human: The Love Story of Jack and Jackie Kennedy
Author: Edward Klein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A really good account of the marriage between JFK and Jackie O, emphasizing more of the emotional aspect of the relationship than just the hype of "Camelot", etc.


American Son: A Portrait of John F. Kennedy, Jr.
American Son: A Portrait of John F. Kennedy, Jr.
Author: Richard Blow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Written by a friend of JFK Jr. who was also an editor at George Magazine. I felt this book was mroe a chance to cash in on the death of JFK Jr., and didn't really offer any real insight to him, nor did the author come across as actually being sincere. If you like reading about the Kennedy's, there are better books out there.


Aquarius: January 20-February 18 (Astroanalysis)
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you're born between Jan 20th - feb 18th, you're an Aquarius. This astological guide book is never out of date, regardless of publication date (the planet tables and cusp charts are an added extra up to year 2000, but the charting info and calculations, etc, never go out of date). A good reference tool for astroanalysis.


The Bear and the Dragon (Jack Ryan, Bk 10)
The Bear and the Dragon (Jack Ryan, Bk 10)
Author: Tom Clancy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 6/10/2007


"Pretty good", says my husband! Cold war theme (Russia and China being the "bear" and the "dragon") featuring hero Jack Ryan. Tom Clancy once again writes with an exceptional sense of realism and the novel never lags.


Behaving Like Adults : A Novel
Behaving Like Adults : A Novel
Author: Anna Maxted
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Entertaininjg Chick Lit from the author of Running in Heels and Getting Over it. This one is about a matchmaker who has trouble getting her own love life in order. Cute and funny.


Best Enemies
Best Enemies
Author: Jane Heller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 5/1/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Ahhh, girl meets boy, girl loses boy to best friend, ex-best friend marries boy, girl has to promote ex-best friends successful career. Romantic triangle story that has enough twists to keep from being predictible.


Review Date: 10/7/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Jen Lancaster is funny and sarcastic, but she can also be annoying. Overall the story is easy to follow, but even with the humor, humbling and ultimate (sort of) redemption, she still comes across as someone who over-indulged in her own self importance and selfishness and then adopted a "woe is me" mentality when she hit financial difficulties. It was not easy to feel sorry for her, or root for her success when she eventually had to make sacrifices most of us deal with everyday.


The Black Dahlia (L.A. Quartet, Bk 1)
The Black Dahlia (L.A. Quartet, Bk 1)
Author: James Ellroy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent detective novel based on the famous case. Pretty much the last word in Black Dahlia books, this is a fictional investigative account of the famous unsolved case which continues to baffle detectives all these years hence. Very gritty, very real. You'll forget it's a fictionalized account.


The Boleyn Inheritance (Boleyn, Bk 2)
The Boleyn Inheritance (Boleyn, Bk 2)
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 6/4/2007
Helpful Score: 8


Phillipa Gregory continues to write historical fiction from interesting angles. This tale is told from the perspective of 3 women in the court of Henry VIII; Anne of Cleves, Katherine Howard and Jane (Rochford) Boleyn, who was the sister-in-law to ill-fated Anne, and the wife of George, Anne's brother, whom she betrayed out of jealousy, sealing their fate on the scaffold. The story tells the tale of events in the same time sequence, but from the three different perspectives, A Queen, a lady in waiting, a lady in waiting who became a queen. Anne of Cleves comes off the best -- you had to pity anyone married to Henry, Catherine merely pathetic and Jane conniving and obnoxious. Told all together, the story is a complete and satisfying novel, well written and with powerful character development.


Book of Dreams
Book of Dreams
Author: Jack Kerouac
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Essential Kerouac! It reads like a stream of consciousness rambling of the dreams as they occured. If you're not familiar with JK, you may wish to read some of his novels before tackling this one as it can be confusing. If you are a fan, it's pretty essential reading to peek into the author's subconcious mind


The Boys of My Youth
The Boys of My Youth
Author: Jo Ann Beard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. It was written well and I could relate to most of it from first hand experience. It realy drew me in from the start. I hated it to be over.


Brit-Think, Ameri-Think: A Transatlantic Survival Guide
Brit-Think, Ameri-Think: A Transatlantic Survival Guide
Author: Gray Jolliffe, Jane Walmsley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/23/2009
Helpful Score: 11


Married to a Brit and spending my life between 2 countries, I found myself shaking my head in agreement on the authors assessments of both the UK and US view on life. Absolutely hysterical observations that were spot on. I had to call the inlaws and read passages to them and in between gales of laughter they agreed, this is a winner. If you have travelled to or lived in the UK, this book will really be enjoyable. If you haven't but just want to get a glimpse of what life is like there, or "why they do that" or what they think of us and the American way of life, pick this up and let the laughter begin!


The Burial Brothers
The Burial Brothers
Author: Simon Mayle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/10/2007


Hilarious account of a crazy roadtrip from NY to Rio on the way to carnival, traveling in an old hearse. Funny, funny, funny.


But Enough About Me: How the Girl Next Door Got Behind the Velvet Rope Using Shameless Flattery, Fake Laughter, and a Few Other Tricks
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is quite simply the funniest book I have read in years. I read it in 2 days and would have finished it even sooner if I didn't have to actually eat, work and sleep! Coming of age the same time as the author, and from the same general area (me/Long Island, she/N.J. - only about a centemeter different in 80's permed hair height...)really hit home, and I found myself laughing hard and loudly throughout the entire book.


Cannery Row
Cannery Row
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


After East of Eden, this is my favorite Steinbeck novel. Set in Montery, CA, in a blue collar community, the character development is rich and colorful, their stories for the most part, upbeat and realistic. You care about each character because they ARE so normal and realatable. A literary masterpiece of simplicity in storytelling.


Castle of Wizardry (Belgariad, Bk 4)
Castle of Wizardry (Belgariad, Bk 4)
Author: David Eddings
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 3/12/2007


One of my husband's favorite fabtasy series. David Eddings always weaves an engaging and exciting tale.


1 to 20 of 179 - Page: