Jody K. (jobody) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Alex and Me
Alex and Me
Author: Irene M. Pepperberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/15/2014
Helpful Score: 2


This was my second reading, for my book group. Alex, the grey parrot, is able to learn concepts thought possible only for humans and "higher" primates. And he's a character. The book really enlarges your ideas about those with whom we share our planet. Irene Pepperberg's persistence pursuing her parrot project is also inspirational.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 5/10/2010


It's a lot like DaVinci Code...but more interesting, with better plot twists. I stayed up way too late, 2 nights running.


The Caine Mutiny
The Caine Mutiny
Author: Herman Wouk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/26/2011


This isn't my choice of book; I read it for my book group. I'm glad I did; the character development was true and the climax was captivating.


Dandelion Wine
Dandelion Wine
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 5/26/2011


One of my very favorite books; my book group just read it. Sweet, human, by turns terrifying and uplifting.


Freedom in meditation (A Doubleday Anchor book)
Freedom in meditation (A Doubleday Anchor book)
Author: Patricia Carrington
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/2/2010


Even though this book is 30+ years old, it covers the basics well. The author is an academician who values her objectivity. Subsequently, she has become deeply involved with EFT, emotional freedom technique, and has added her objectivity to that as well.


The Gabriel Method: The Revolutionary DIET-FREE Way to Totally Transform Your Body
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Jon Gabriel lost lots of weight once he realized that his body wanted to be fat. He has teased out many reasons for that. This book gives the basics. And it isn't a diet; it's lifestyle changes.


In Lieu of Flowers : A Conversation for the Living
In Lieu of Flowers : A Conversation for the Living
Author: Nancy Cobb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/22/2014


Just like sitting down with a good friend who is willing to talk about the effect of a loved one's death on your life. How it feels, how it hurts, how that person stays in your life. I sent it on to my sister-in-law who is a hospice chaplain.


Letters from MIR: An Astronaust's Letters to His Son
Letters from MIR: An Astronaust's Letters to His Son
Author: Jerry M. Linenger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/9/2009


This is a collection of letters from an American astronaut aboard Mir space station to his 18-month old son. The descriptions of life on a space station and adapting to a new extreme environment are really interesting. He plays down most of the terrifying things that happened and I felt that loss. His story of hiis space walk was very well told and riveting. I read it with my book group. I would not have chosen it myself, but I'm glad I read it.


Olive Kitteridge: A Novel in Stories
Olive Kitteridge: A Novel in Stories
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/13/2011


I enjoyed this very much. Olive is a complex person and the novel explores Olive's character both directly and reflected in other people.


Prayers from the Ark
Prayers from the Ark
Author: Carmen Bernos de Gasztold-Rumer Godden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/9/2011


I have loved this book for 40-ish years. I's very moving. My copy was somehow lost and I was glad to find a replacement.


When You Can Walk on Water, Take the Boat
When You Can Walk on Water, Take the Boat
Author: John Harricharan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/4/2009


Uplifting; low on content.


1 to 11 of 11