Carol N. (carolpwv) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 48 - Page:
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 5/25/2011


Another good book and easy read about Lindsay, Claire, and Yuki.


The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 5/12/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is the Women's Club 9th book. It was exciting with lots of action and one of James Patterson's better books. It is an easy read and a book that can not be put down. It takes place in San Francisco with great accuracy. I live in the San Francisco Bay Area so I know that everything cited in the book about the city, landscape, people and atmosphere is accurate. If you are a fan of James Patterson's books, I recommend this book as an enjoyable read.


At Home on Ladybug Farm (Ladybug Farm, Bk 2)
At Home on Ladybug Farm (Ladybug Farm, Bk 2)
Author: Donna Ball
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 4/26/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This book is the continuing saga of the author's first book, "A Year on Ladybug Farm". I suggest you read them in sequence. This is a good book but, for some reason, not as good as the first book. The characters have definitely settled in to farm life and their run-down mansion in the Shenandoah Valley. It is entertaining and enjoyable.


Betrayal of Trust (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 20)
Betrayal of Trust (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 20)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 8/6/2011


Another very good book by J.A. Jance. The author hasn't written about J.P. Beaumont for awhile so it was good to read about the Seattle Investigator again. He uncovers a dark and deadly conspiracy and corruption deep into the Washington State government. It is a timely novel about childish pranks through computers, cell phones and the internet that involves the Governor and her family.


Buried Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 21)
Buried Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 21)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 6/3/2011
Helpful Score: 4


This book is very good but not excellent. It was a little word-y in spots and don't be confused with the flashback if you have followed any of Lucas Davenport adventures. The book flashes back to 1985 when Lucas was a young cop. It eventually catches up to present day with Lucas, Virgil Flowers and Weather.


Buried Secrets (Nick Heller,  Bk 2)
Buried Secrets (Nick Heller, Bk 2)
Author: Joseph Finder
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Another excellent, well written book by Joseph Finder. This is an action-packed, full throttle book not to be missed. It was a bit over the top with the Russians and other foreign detail. If he could have written less on the foreign bodies involved and more on the "Buried Secrets", then it would have been my vote for the best thriller of the year. My rating is definitely 5 stars.


The Confession
The Confession
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 12/29/2010


This is another well written book by John Grisham. The enitre book is devoted to the death penalty and the Confession. Unfortunately, the last 25% of the book was boring. The author spent too much time wrapping up the story. The book could have finished 100 pages earlier. Overall, it is a very good book.


Cross Fire (Alex Cross, Bk 17)
Cross Fire (Alex Cross, Bk 17)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 12/10/2010


Another Alex Cross fast-moving, quick page turner book. Alex Cross and Bree's wedding is about to take place and the mastermind, Kyle Craig, is back. Kyle will not relent until he has eliminated Cross and his family for good.


Damage (Abe Glitsky, Bk 4)
Damage (Abe Glitsky, Bk 4)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 4/6/2011


Another great book by John Lescroart. His writings of San Francisco in all its social and political complexity is perfect and it serves as more than a mere backdrop for the mystery. Bay Area details like the local fog, the city police, places and streets become an integral part of this true legal thriller. Abe Glitsky, Dimas Hardy and Wes Farrell are back again as the main characters.


Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Author: Vicki Myron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 540
Review Date: 2/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this heartwarming story, with a tearful ending. It is not just about an extraordinary cat, but of the people of Spencer, Iowa. I have read it twice. It is a keeper.


Eyes Wide Open
Eyes Wide Open
Author: Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 8/10/2011


Someone else gave this book 2 stars and I am assigning it 2 stars too. It was depressing and disappointing. This was not one of Andrew Gross' better books. It was hard to follow but basically it is a tale of 2 brothers. One is successful and one has mental problems. The good brother is pulled under with the madness that surrounds the evil brother and his family.


Fatal Error (Ali Reynolds, Bk 6)
Fatal Error (Ali Reynolds, Bk 6)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 3/13/2011


J.A.Jance delivers her best Ali Reynold's book. It is a pulse-pounding tale of suspense where no one is safe from a Fatal Error. Ali begins the summer thinking that her most difficult challenge will be surviving the Arizona Police Academy. Ali is quickly drawn into a web of intrigue. It keeps your attention throughout the entire book.


The Fifth Witness (Lincoln Lawyer, Bk 4)
The Fifth Witness (Lincoln Lawyer, Bk 4)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 5/18/2011


Mickey Haller is back, still working out of his Lincoln Town Car. He is now defending foreclosure clients. When one is accused of murder, Mickey does what he does best, skating on the edge. This is Michael Connelly at his thought-provoking best. It is an excellent read.


Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout
Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout
Author: Philip Connors
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/28/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Philip Connors is an excellent writer. He writes on his experiences as a Lookout employee with the US Forest Service. I was previously employed with the US Forest Service so I found the notes and the nonfiction story very, very interesting. The author loves the wild Forest, the charms of solitude, the animals that roam and the excitement of a fire. This book would be particularly interesting for those that love the outdoors, the excitement of a fire and present and past employees of the US Forest Service and possibly the National Park Service.


Fly Away Home
Fly Away Home
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 9/5/2010
Helpful Score: 3


The book was good but not excellent as stars indicate. It is a story of a mother and 2 daughters who after a lifetime of distance finally learn to find refuge in one another. The book is written with many flashbacks and each chapter is about one of the three women. It was somewhat hard to follow.


The Hunter (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 3)
The Hunter (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 3)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/26/2012


Though the same characters as in John Lescroart's other books (Abe Glizsky, Wyatt Hunt, etc.)are in this book, the story was uninteresting. I almost found it boring. Wyatt wants to find his birth family after receiving a text that his Mother was killed. The most exciting part of this book was when something happened to his girlfriend (I will not say what). John Lescroart's books are always in San Francisco. Since I live in the SF Bay Area, I recognize every place that he mentions. His details of the buildings, streets, etc. are so accurate.


I'll Walk Alone
I'll Walk Alone
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 4/19/2011


Mary Higgins Clark new novel is about a Mother who experiences the disappearance of her child and also identity theft. The book spends more time explaining the disappearance of the child than it does identity theft. I found it rather boring and not one of Mary Higgins best novels.


In the Sanctuary of Outcasts: A Memoir
In the Sanctuary of Outcasts: A Memoir
Author: Neil White
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A remarkable, true story about a young man's loss of everything he deemed important and his discovery as to what matters most. His description of the isolated colony in Carville, Louisiana and the people that lived there were interesting. It was a piece of history that I did not know existed in the United States. I knew and studied the colony for people disfigured by leprosy on Molokai, Hawaii but the Carville colony was actually in the continental US.


Letters for Emily
Letters for Emily
Author: Camron Wright
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is a beautiful book. I absolutely loved it! It is a warm, inspirational story, which leaves you feeling more grateful for love and family. An older man wishes to be remembered as more than an ailing old man. He realizes the greatest gift he can pass on is the wisdom of his years, the jumbled mix of experiences and emotions that add up to a life. So, he compiles a book of his poems for his favorite granddaughter, Emily.


Life, on the Line: A Chef's Story of Chasing Greatness, Facing Death, and Redefining the Way We Eat
Review Date: 5/2/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is an excellent biography about one of the greatest chefs in the world. He shares how his drive to cook immaculate food won him international renown and fueled his miraculous triumph over tongue cancer. The book is for foodies-those that appreciate fabulous foods and wines. I particularly liked his friendship and training with Thomas Keller of The French Laundry. Grant is redining the American restaurant for an entirely new generation.


1 to 20 of 48 - Page: