Miranda M. (Governess4hire) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 147 - Page:
Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor, Bk 8)
Always on My Mind (Lucky Harbor, Bk 8)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 9/29/2014


My review: 2 stars (in fact, I didn't even finish it)

Oh my. Not sure where to begin with this one.

I couldn't read all this. I tried. I really, really did. By page 101 I'd simply had enough.

The hero and heroine are supposed to be childhood friends but I found the more I read about them, the more awkward and really uncomfortable it was for me. I'm sorry. I'm definitely not one of the hundreds of Goodreads and Amazon reviewers that liked this. Not even a little bit. It was a total yawn fest for me.

To quote another reviewer: "The whole premise of the story where a lie is told to his sick mother in order to make her happy about their relationship also felt off." 100% agree with this.
I don't know if I'll read another Jill Shalvis book for a while.


An Unlikely Governess
An Unlikely Governess
Author: Karen Ranney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/6/2006


A fantastic read! A real page turner....


Any Duchess Will Do (Spindle Cove, Bk 4)
Any Duchess Will Do (Spindle Cove, Bk 4)
Author: Tessa Dare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 9/3/2013


My Rating: 5 glorious stars!!!

Get your butt to the bookstore (or in my case, WalMart) and buy this book! Or go online and download it. Holy wow!

I fell in love with both characters from the very beginning I was totally invested in the story and couldn't wait to get to the next page. The writing was simply beautiful. The book is a definite hit for me. The plot, the characters and the romance struck the perfect chord and had me glued from beginning to end.

Thank you, Ms. Dare! Your book made my heart smile and left me wanting more.


The Bad Luck Wedding Dress (Bad Luck Wedding, Bk 1)
The Bad Luck Wedding Dress (Bad Luck Wedding, Bk 1)
Author: Geralyn Dawson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 4/14/2006


I'm loving this series! ;)


Bear Feels Sick
Bear Feels Sick
Author: Karma Wilson, Jane Chapman (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/16/2014


This is such a sweet story about what true friendship is about.

The title says it all. Bear does feel sick for most of the book. His friends come over and comfort him as best they can. I love how much thought is put into the words on the pages. The artwork is simply stunning.

My two boys love reading about Bear and he's definitely one of our bedtime story favorites. You cannot go wrong with a Karma Wilson book.


Bear's Loose Tooth
Bear's Loose Tooth
Author: Karma Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/16/2014


BEAR'S LOOSE TOOTH is such a big hit at our house. My boys LOVE this story.

The title basically says it all. Bear does indeed loose his tooth. Every single time I read this book, my kids giggle and laugh. They love the pictures. It's hands down one of the best kids books we've had the pleasure of reading at bedtime.

Definitely a favorite in my household. We love Bear and all his friends.


Beauty from Surrender (Beauty Series #2) (Volume 2)
Beauty from Surrender (Beauty Series #2) (Volume 2)
Author: Georgia Cates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/3/2013


My rating: 3 stars

Beauty From Pain (Georgia Cates first book in this series) BLEW me away. Jack Henry had me panting & wanting more. I even liked the heroine, Laurelyn Prescott. Then, I finally got my hands on the second book... I was disappointed. I mean really disappointed. Laurelyn's character didn't seem the same to me. She wasn't the same heroine that I'd come to like and cheer from the first book. And Jack Henry? Don't get me wrong, he was great but just not as great as he was in Beauty From Pain. I felt as if the characters were too wishy washy. This one is a hard one for me to review, simply because I just loved the characters and expected more from the second book. Georgia Cates is an amazing writer and she's one of my favorites but this book didn't do it for me.

Would I still recommend it? Yes. The characters are forever etched in my heart and I'm glad they get their happily ever after. If you haven't read the series yet, please do. I even hear through the grapevine that she's coming out with a third book. I will be waiting in limbo for that one!


The Best of Amish Friends Cookbook Collection: 2 Bestselling Titles in 1
Review Date: 7/25/2013
Helpful Score: 1


My rating: 4.5 stars!

**I received this ARC a while back from the publisher Barbour Books via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.**

I started baking and cooking recipes from this book a while ago. I LOVE IT! The directions are so easy to follow and the recipes are so delicious and tasty. I wasnt surprised. These are Amish recipes we are talking about. They are very similar to Southern cooking. I loved the pictures throughout this book as well. I love when a cookbook has pictures to go along with the recipe.

I believe that Ms. Brunstetter does a wonderful job of rounding up all the recipes. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. You cannot go wrong with an outstanding cookbook such as this!


Binding Vows
Binding Vows
Author: Catherine Bybee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/10/2015


DNF (did not finish)...


I tried. I really, really did. I couldn't stand this book. The heroine got under my skin faster than any heroine has before. Not only that, but the chemistry between the hero and heroine was awful. Watching paint dry would've been more entertaining.

There aren't many books that I give up on. This one was added to my list. Maybe I'll give it another try one day. Just not anytime soon.


Binding Vows (MacCoinnich Time Travel) (Volume 1)
Binding Vows (MacCoinnich Time Travel) (Volume 1)
Author: Catherine Bybee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/10/2015


DNF (did not finish)...


I tried. I really, really did. I couldn't stand this book. The heroine got under my skin faster than any heroine has before. Not only that, but the chemistry between the hero and heroine was awful. Watching paint dry would've been more entertaining.

There aren't many books that I give up on. This one was added to my list. Maybe I'll give it another try one day. Just not anytime soon.


Bound by Wish and Mistletoe (Highland Legends, Book 1.5)
Bound by Wish and Mistletoe (Highland Legends, Book 1.5)
Author: Kat Bastion
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/15/2014


4.5 stars!


He opened his eyes, pinning her with a hard look. Ill offer you the world. If you want the sun and moon snatched down from the sky, Ill hunt them down and bring them to you. The countless stars that glitter in the night shall become jewels adornin your hair. All the oceans wide will be yours to traverse, and each creature shall treat you as friend and master.
As for me-- he dropped his lips to her forehead, grazing them across her soft skin --my heart belongs to you, my soul is yours, and yearns to give you pleasure like youve never imagined.

Move over, Julia Quinn and Sabrina Jeffries! Kat Bastion is an absolutely gifted author and deserves to be recognized for her talent.

I simply love a good historical romance. This is one of them. A splendid novella thats perfect for the holiday season (I read it after Christmas and still enjoyed it). Its a quick story that you can read in no time and leave you with a satisfied smile. This book picks up where the first one leaves off.

Susanna is a strong heroine. She grows up being terrified of her father but when he betroths her to a man she absolutely despises, she runs away. She runs until she finds herself captured by Iains trusted commander, Robert.

Robert is tall, dark and handsome. Everything Susanna shouldnt be attracted to. He and his men are out getting a Christmas tree for Isobel when Susanna stumbles upon them. He doesnt trust her at first and bounds her wrists and holds her prisoner for a short time.

He finds himself unable to stay away from her. Hes drawn to her in a way hes never been before by a woman... and he makes her his wife.



If God granted me a last piece of time to treasure forever, this would be it, she whispered.
He sighed, tears springing into his eyes as he was overcome by new emotions assaulting his heart. Aye, love. This would be it.
... For the first time in his life, he felt protected. Cherished. Loved.


...Ill be wherever you are. Ill protect you. Ill offer all that I am to you. Wherever you are--
Susanna raised a finger and placed it over his lips, silencing him. Her smile grew wider.
Wherever you are... I am found. Youre the one I wished for. I prayed for you long before I met you. She cupped her hand over his cheek, fresh tears brimming in her eyes.
Susanna, I wished for us under that mistletoe.
She leaned up against him, entwining her hands around his neck as he dipped his head down. She placed the softest kiss on his lips. As he closed his eyes, losing himself in their tender connection, drifting as close to Heaven as God allowed a man to get, he felt her lips curved into a smile.
Sweet words drifted from her lips, branding his heart.
Then us we shall forever be.Please keep in mind that this is indeed a novella. Its a quick romance with lots of action and lots of passion.



I highly recommend you read this novella if you love historical romance. The storyline was superbly thrilling and exciting. Its one heck of an enjoyable read.

I look forward to Ms. Bastions next book BORN OF MIST AND LEGEND. I cannot wait to read Brigids story.


**ARC graciously provided by Kat Bastion in exchange for an honest review**


The Bride Says Maybe (Brides of Wishmore, Bk 2)
The Bride Says Maybe (Brides of Wishmore, Bk 2)
Author: Cathy Maxwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 1/14/2015


I enjoyed this one. Wasn't sure I would like Tara at first, but she matured throughout the book. Great read.


The Bride Says No (Brides of Wishmore, Bk 1)
The Bride Says No (Brides of Wishmore, Bk 1)
Author: Cathy Maxwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 1/14/2015


Enjoyable read with LOTS of twists to the story that you don't see coming. I really like this one.


Brody (Circle Eight, Bk 2)
Brody (Circle Eight, Bk 2)
Author: Emma Lang
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/15/2015


I cannot get enough of this series by Emma Lang (Beth Williamson)! I'm addicted to these characters. Her writing is superb and refreshing. Such a satisfying read with romance, mystery, adventure, and a roller coaster of emotions... please give this one a try. I highly recommend.


Caleb (Circle Eight, Bk 3)
Caleb (Circle Eight, Bk 3)
Author: Emma Lang
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/16/2015


I really enjoyed this one. This is the third book in the Circle Eight series. All the characters are great. Lots of action, romance, and I found myself laughing aloud at some of the things the heroine would say. She's feisty & has a sassy mouth on her.


The Captive (Captive Hearts, Bk 1)
The Captive (Captive Hearts, Bk 1)
Author: Grace Burrowes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/13/2014


Have you ever read a book so captivating and so sensuous that it leaves you wanting more? This is one of the best books I've read in a while. It's so very well written and from the moment I started reading this, I was ensnared. Grace Burrowes talents sparkle. Her characters are riveting and positively delightful. The dialogue is crisp and enticing and the plot setup is intriguing.


Cheater Pants (Junie B., First Grader, Bk 4)
Cheater Pants (Junie B., First Grader, Bk 4)
Author: Barbara Park, Denise Brunkus (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/11/2006


My little girl loved it!


Christmas Brides: One Hot Scot / The Scandal Before Christmas / It Happened Under the Mistletoe / Once Upon a Christmas Scandal
Review Date: 1/10/2015


This books is fantastic! 4 novellas in one by 4 splendid authors. Do not pass up the chance to read this one. Great read for Christmas time. I read it in January and still enjoyed it.


The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden
The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden
Author: Jessica Sorensen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/16/2014


I read this book last year and I simply loved it!

Strong sexual content.


Collide
Collide
Author: Gail McHugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/16/2014


I enjoyed this story a lot. The characters are great and so is the plot.

Caution: strong sexual content.


1 to 20 of 147 - Page: