Jessica S. (iluvlibros) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 74 - Page:
1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina
1 Dead in Attic: After Katrina
Author: Chris Rose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/25/2010
Helpful Score: 2


There's a quote in this book that says, "I'm not going to try to lay down in words the lure of this place. Every great writer in the land, from Faulkner to Twain to Rice to Ford, has tried to do it and fallen short." I think, however, that Rose has done just the opposite. Through his humor, honesty, emotion, and stories, Rose paints a captivating picture of New Orleans. He really has captured the "lure of this place," through all of its sorrow and hope. Whether you're from New Orleans or not, I really recommend this book.


10th Grade
10th Grade
Author: Joe Weisberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The author did a perfect job at convincing you this book really was written by a boy in the 10th grade. Many aspects of the story really reminded me of high school, so the book was both fun and nostalgic. It had plenty of laugh out loud moments, and it was an easy read. I loved it!


90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 872
Review Date: 10/4/2007
Helpful Score: 12


The book was an interesting story of one man's experience with heaven, but I really wish it spent more time on that subject. The majority of the book chronicled his recovery process, and I think he did a great job of describing his emotions during the painful processes. I can see how this book would be a great spiritual confirmation or even a story of hope for others, but . . . let's just put it this way: I don't recommend this book for anyone who is a skeptic or cynic when it comes to religion.


Alas, Babylon
Alas, Babylon
Author: Pat Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 3/15/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Such a great book! Really makes you think what if . . .


And the Mountains Echoed
And the Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 6/6/2013
Helpful Score: 5


The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns are two of my favorite books, so I was a bit hesitant to read And the Mountains Echoed; I was worried it wouldn't live up to the other two. But I enjoyed this book just as much as the others. Like Hosseini's other books, And the Mountains Echoed transports the reader flawlessly into the lives of the characters. I was immediately taken by the story and couldn't put it down. If you loved Hosseini's other books, I think you'll love this one too.


Are You There God?  It's Me, Margaret
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
Author: Judy Blume
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 5/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book when I was growing up (and still would read it today). I could really relate to what was going on in the main character's life. It's a wonderful read.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 7/18/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This was such a great book. Not only was it a fun, heartwarming, and engaging read, but it had such a unique perspective. After reading it (in about a week), I really look at my dog differently, wondering what she's thinking . . .


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 888
Review Date: 5/24/2007
Helpful Score: 20


I tried to read this book a few years ago, but I couldn't get into it. I must say, I'm glad I tried again. This time around, I couldn't put the book down. It's a beautifully written story, and the author perfectly captures the emotions of the characters and the moods of the situations. I can easily see why this was on Time magazine's list of 100 all-time novels. It was one of the best books I have read in a while. It's a captivating story and remarkably well-written.


Backlash : The Undeclared War Against American Women
Backlash : The Undeclared War Against American Women
Author: Susan Faludi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 4/26/2007
Helpful Score: 10


I really enjoyed this book. It provided incredible insight into historical and social issues that impact women. It was thought-provoking, well-written, and interesting. As I was reading it, I was either nodding in agreement, pausing to ponder her statements, or feeling empowered to do something about some of the injustices that women face. This book really made me look at things more deeply, whether they be movies, books, or music.

I highly encourage both women and men to read this book.


The Beauty Myth : How Images of Beauty Are Used Against Women
The Beauty Myth : How Images of Beauty Are Used Against Women
Author: Naomi Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 5/14/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is such a powerful book. The facts and ideas not only haunt you as you go about your everyday life, but they also empower you to fight against the unfair standards that women today face. I think this is a must read for every woman.


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
Author: John Boyne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 2/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is an incredible book. Boyne did a great job of creating a believable narrator--one who is innocent and doesn't yet understand the Holocaust. It's such a unique, touching and heartbreaking book. It's also a quick read, not only because it grabs you and doesn't let you go, but also because it's short and easy to read.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4407
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Such an interesting and unique book. The author captured the main character perfectly. As one critic wrote, "Moving . . . Think of The Sound and the Fury crossed with The Catcher in the Rye and one of Oliver sack's real life stories."


The Devil Wears Prada (Prada, Bk 1)
The Devil Wears Prada (Prada, Bk 1)
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 5/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. It was fun, entertaining, uplifting, and laugh-out-loud funny. Such a joy of a book. The movie was great, too. :)


A Dog's Purpose
A Dog's Purpose
Author: W. Bruce Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 8/3/2011
Helpful Score: 5


As a dog owner, this book definitely tugged at my heartstrings. Some parts made me laugh, other parts broke my heart . . and I just couldn't put it down. The story was so believable--I really felt like it was written by a dog. I would recommend this to dog owners and dog lovers alike.


The Dogs Who Found Me : What I've Learned from Pets Who Were Left Behind
Review Date: 8/17/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Awww, I loved this book. As a dog lover who would take in every stray dog if I had my way, I completely related to the author. At times, it reminded me of Marley & Me--the book showed the lighter and fun side of owning a dog. Other times, it broke my heart hearing the stories of dogs who were left behind. It's a great, quick read. It even has some great resources in the back for dog owners.


Enrique's Journey
Enrique's Journey
Author: Sonia Nazario
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 7/2/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Wow--what a powerful and important book. It's heartwrenching, to say the least. And it makes a powerful argument for amnesty while presenting the dissenting argument. This is a must read for everyone, in my opinion.


Fat Girl a true story
Fat Girl a true story
Author: Judith Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/13/2007


Throughout the whole book, I kept wondering what the point of it was. We kept hearing about how "fat" she was, but I couldn't figure out what she was trying to accomplish through her stories. In that sense, the book was a bit frustrating. I didn't mind the negative tone . . in fact, it was a bit of a refreshing change from the overly optimistic novels. And her childhood was indeed interesting and heartbreaking. So overall, I enjoyed reading it, but it definitely was not one of my favorites.


Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1059
Review Date: 2/19/2013
Helpful Score: 6


If I don't like a book, I usually just set it down and move on with my life. In this case, however, I couldn't resist writing a review.

I'll admit--I was curious what all the buzz was about. I had a vague idea what this book was about, and I was totally ok with the idea.

But . . .

I couldn't make it past page 122. This book was horrendous. The writing was terrible (enough with the "Oh my." and "Holy $(&@." already). The main characters were terrible (I could go into why, but I don't want to write any spoilers). The plot line was terrible (the whole time I kept saying "realllly?" as I rolled my eyes).

Don't get me wrong--I get the appeal. But overall, this book was just terrible. It was degrading and pedantic. I am STILL shaking my head as to why it's a bestseller.


Finding Manana: A Memoir of a Cuban Exodus
Finding Manana: A Memoir of a Cuban Exodus
Author: Mirta Ojito
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/6/2008


This is a really great book. My father is Cuban, so I'm constantly struggling to better understand the history of Cuba and what Cubans have gone through. Mirta Ojito writes a powerful and interesting story of her own experience in Cuba and intertwines it with key facts and historical accounts. Of all the Cuban memoirs I've read, this one is my favorite.


The Frog King
The Frog King
Author: Adam Davies
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 5/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


At times, the humor and wit of this book seemed a bit forced. But if you don't take this book too seriously, it's laugh-out-loud funny. I liked it (especially the ending) and read it in 3 days.


1 to 20 of 74 - Page: