Lorene F. (lorenef) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 77 - Page:
The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle
The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle
Author: Joanne Huist Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/20/2015


Sorry, this book was just too syrupy for me. Too many flashbacks of happier times, too much depression from the mom. Yeh, I know, I haven't walked in her shoes, but she couldn't pull herself together to want to provide any touch of happiness for her kids, yet some rolls of wrapping paper and plastic cups saved the day. I felt so bad for the kids I had a hard time finishing the book. But if you like sappy stories, enjoy.


175 Easy-To-Do Christmas Crafts
175 Easy-To-Do Christmas Crafts
Author: Sharon Dunn Umnik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/2/2013


This book and any other book in the series (Eater, Halloween, Thanksgiving) is a fabulous book for anyone who works with kids. My daughter runs a daycare and the ideas in these books are perfect because they require ordinary items like cardboard paper towel tubes, paper plates, construction paper, etc. No fancy things you have to buy. Not all of them can be done by pre-schoolers though, some of the projects are for school age children. It' a great book to have I your library if you're a troop leader, or work with a youth group.


The Big Book of Bobbins: Fun, Quilty Cartoons
The Big Book of Bobbins: Fun, Quilty Cartoons
Author: Julia Icenogle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/21/2015


I'm a big fan of Mrs. Bobbins and thoroughly enjoy the cartoons. I have several favorites framed in my quilting room. The book is great for quilters.


Blackberry Winter
Blackberry Winter
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 12/28/2013


Fabulous book. The past and present knit together beautifully. The ending was a surprise too.


Blue Smoke (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Blue Smoke (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Nora Roberts, Joyce Bean (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 7/12/2015


A very enjoyable listen that lasted through a long trip. Easy to follow the plot and an engrossing story.


Bones to Ashes (Temperance Brennan, Bk 10) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/21/2012


This was a great listen. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about what can be determined from bones, also about leprosy. The plot held my interst all the way.


The Bourne Betrayal (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I love anything Bourne and this was great to listen to. Intriguing plot kept me on the edge of my seat.


The Bourne Legacy (Bourne, Bk 4) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/7/2012


I listened to the CD version and loved it. Story moved along at a good clip and kept my interest.


Call Me Mrs. Miracle (Mrs. Miracle, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/26/2013


Formulaic, enchanting, funny, and simply fun to listen to from the first track to the last. And the holiday recipes sound good too! It will get you in the spirit of the season for sure.


Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets (Captain Underpants, Bk 2)
Review Date: 1/24/2014


My 6 year old grandson adores these stories and I enjoy reading anything that motivates him to embrace reading for pure pleasure. Yes, there are misspelled words, but that's the way Harold and George would write, isn't it? The plots are hilarious and fun. I plan on getting them all.


Carl's Birthday (Carl)
Carl's Birthday (Carl)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/3/2013


Cute! I love "reading" stories without a lot of text. Allows my grandchildren to tell me what it's about! I love "Carl" books!


Courting Trouble (Rosato & Associates, Bk 9)  (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 9/6/2013


Although I prefer unabridged versions on any reading material, this was a decent listen. I love all the Rosato & Associates stories, how the ladies evolve and interact.


The Curve of the World
The Curve of the World
Author: Marcus Stevens
Book Type: Audio CD
  ?
Review Date: 5/1/2012


Easy to listen to and held my interest. Did not realize I had ordered the abridged version, but I imagine the parts taken out were more depth of the trouble in their marriage so it was okay. I really liked listening to the sections on his survival during his ordeal.


Dead Irish (Dismas Hardy Series)
Dead Irish (Dismas Hardy Series)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/10/2013


I listened to this into the 2nd disc but was bored and disinterested in it.


Deep Dish  (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Deep Dish (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Mary Kay Andrews, Isabel Keating (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/13/2011


Light-hearted predictable story that was perfect for listening to in the car. I loved the reader's ability to voice different accents. Enjoyable from start to finish.


Devil Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 11) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Devil Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 11) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 2/8/2013


Easy to follow plot on audio version. I love these books: I learn interesting tidbits about the human body and I like how the characters evolve in each book.


The Doomsday Key (Sigma Force, Bk 6) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 8/3/2016


I liked the plot. And it seems like something someone would try to do to control the world's population so it held my interest throughout.


Dream When You're Feeling Blue
Dream When You're Feeling Blue
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 11/13/2013


Elizabeth Berg's books are always good and this book is no exception. It's engrossing from the first page, has wonderful characters and gives people a glimpse into what life was like on the home front during WWII. This book is a real treat!


False Impression
False Impression
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 4/18/2014


Excellent book to listen to. Plot moves along, characters develop, lots of action. Loved it.


The Fifth Vial (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Fifth Vial (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Michael Palmer, J. Charles (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/5/2014


It was a little hard to get into, maybe the first half of disc one, then it got very interesting. A good listen.


1 to 20 of 77 - Page: