Reviews - Joe K. (fozzie78) - Springfield, IL

1 to 20 of 251 - Page:
1066: The Year of the Conquest
1066: The Year of the Conquest
Author: David Armine Howarth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/12/2012


"This was very well written and researched book. I read it over the course of a year. (2011, 945 years after the battle.) It opened my eyes to many things that took place during that momentus year."


Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 9/7/2011


"This book is going to lead people astry. There are a few germs of truth in it, but over all the story is silly and predictable despite the fact this was about a real person. I was disapointed by most of it. The ending was silly and unexplaned. The way it is written somehow leads me to think there might be sequel. Oh no."


Age of Reptiles: Tribal Warfare
Age of Reptiles: Tribal Warfare
Author: Ricardo Delgado
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/9/2010


"This book has no dialoge, but is very heavy on action. It is a great depiction of an unknown era."


Akhenaten: Egypt's False Prophet
Akhenaten: Egypt's False Prophet
Author: C. N. Reeves, Nicholas Reeves
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/22/2012


"A very intersting book that changed my perseption of Akhenaten. Filled with many pictures."


All For The Union
All For The Union
Author: Elisha Hunt Rhodes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/3/2013


"An excelent accout of Rhodes service during the Civil War. So many details and stories. It is a must read for an history buff. I am reading as it happened 150 years ago. It makes it even more intresting."


America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
Author: Sarah Palin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/20/2011
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book gets to the heart of who and what make Sarah Palin who she is. Not a biography, but her thoughts and feelings on America and life."


America's Battlegrounds: Walk in the Footsteps of America's Bravest
Review Date: 3/25/2011


"This book gave a broad overview of historic sites in the US. Through American history. A few I had never heard of, but others were in others. It would have been better if it had cover more ground per say."


America's Queen:  A Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis
America's Queen: A Life of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis
Author: Sarah Bradford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/3/2011


"A very good biography of Mrs. Kennedy. It does show her in sympathetic light."


Ancient Rome: Tales of the Dead
Ancient Rome: Tales of the Dead
Author: Stewart Ross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/27/2011


"A neat visual history of Ancient Rome. Great for kids and adu;ts alike."


Andrew Jackson
Andrew Jackson
Author: Robert V. Remini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/25/2011


"This is very good biography of Jackson. A must read for students of Jackson & history."


Angelina: An Unauthorized Biography
Angelina: An Unauthorized Biography
Author: Andrew Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/18/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This lady is something else! From the time she was born to the present day she has issues. Yes she has done many good works, I jus tfeel like something is missing from her. The book was interesting. I have never seen a movie of hers, but I might now."


Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Author: Anne Frank
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 641
Review Date: 2/16/2013


"After reading this book in school, I felt as though I was being fed propaganda. Her story is compelling, but as time proved parts were left out. I do not deny the holocaust for a moment, but it was not all Jews. Many Chrisitians died as well."


The Approaching Storm (Star Wars)
The Approaching Storm (Star Wars)
Author: Alan Dean Foster
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/16/2012


"A very interesting book that leads up to Episode II."


Are We There Yet? : Tales from the Never-Ending Travels of WWE Superstars
Review Date: 3/26/2011


"I enjoyed this book very much. You get a sense of what these folks go through to put on a show for us. Some of the stories were very funny. I'm glad that there is a second book written in the same style."


The Art of Star Wars, Episode III - Revenge of the Sith
The Art of Star Wars, Episode III - Revenge of the Sith
Author: Jonathan Rinzler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/23/2012


"A great look at the art work concerning this film. It traces the development of General Grievous"


The Ashes of Eden (Star Trek)
Review Date: 8/18/2012


"For me this is one of the best Star Trek books. It could have been the seventh movie. It captures the feelings of age, friendship, new challenges."


At home with Illinois Governors: A social history of the Illinois Executive Mansion, 1855-2003
Review Date: 4/2/2011


"This is an interesting look at the Excutive mansion in Illinois. The book came out in 2003. As a result the last two governors (who have barley even lived in it.) are not covered. It has some nice paintings. Part of it might be called self-serving It shows what a wonderful couple George & Laura Lynn Ryan were."


Avenger (Star Trek: The Original Series)
Review Date: 9/16/2012


"In the Shatneruniverse Kirk comes back again to fight a plague. It also has Spock and Kirk in Vulcan prison cell which is a holodeck. They find a unique way to escape. One of my favorite lines from Kirk is when he first encounters the Enterprise E. "Can't they come up with a different name.""


Bart Simpson: Son of Homer
Bart Simpson: Son of Homer
Author: Matt Groening
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/19/2013


"An excelent collection of Simpsons comics."


Bat Boy Lives! : The WEEKLY WORLD NEWS Guide to Politics, Culture, Celebrities, Alien Abductions, and the Mutant Freaks that Shape Our World
Review Date: 3/20/2011


"A funny look at the world. It takes me back when we would all chuckle as we went past the check out."


1 to 20 of 251 - Page: