Kirsten F. (spiral) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
101 Ways to Bug Your Parents
101 Ways to Bug Your Parents
Author: Lee Wardlaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/31/2010


I think this book has a very strong feeling, the author wanted to express it loud and clear! This is a fantastic book for ages 9+!


Boston Jane: An Adventure (Boston Jane, Bk 1)
Boston Jane: An Adventure (Boston Jane, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer L. Holm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Amazing! It gives a taste of what it was like for a girl to live in the 1800's. Good for girls ages 10-11+ Its about a girl named Jane, who lives in Pennsylvania with her father (a doctor) she grows up to be a very nice young lady, and then she boards a ship spends a long while on it going to the frontier, then she survives there for about 6 months, while being plagued with bad luck the whole time. She messes up almost every chapter, but in the end, end's up a courageous, witty and semi-self controlled young lady. I highly suggest this book!! If you have any questions on it you can PM me! :)


A Coal Miner's Bride the Diary of Anetka Saminska (Dear America)
Review Date: 6/20/2010


This book is about a 13 year old polish girl living in 1896.
It is good for ages 10+.


Cub in the Cupboard  (Animal Ark, Bk 8)
Cub in the Cupboard (Animal Ark, Bk 8)
Author: Ben M. Baglio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/31/2010


From back of book:

At Animal Ark, Mandy Hope helps her parents treat animals of all shapes and sizes. Even outside the clinic, Mandy can't resist helping any animal in need. When Mandy and James discover a mother fox caught in a cruel trap they are horrified - and so is the rest of Welford! But somebody local seems to be responsible. The to friends are determined to find the culprit. But first, they have to find a way to keep track of the injured fox's mischievous cub!


The Deep (Dive, Bk 2)
The Deep (Dive, Bk 2)
Author: Gordon Korman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/20/2011


Fantastic! keeps kids attention the whole time! great for boys and girls ages 8-13!

From back of book:
"4 divers. 1 treasure. 1 incredible challenge. What lies in the deep? Not just coral and sand. Not just undersea creatures that have never seen the light. No, the deep holds something even more mysterious and valuable. Kaz, Dante, Adriana, and Star started the summer thinking they were going to study marine life. Now they've found sunken treasure. And they're not the only ones who want to keep it.


Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Author: Bret Witter, Vicki Myron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 2/3/2011


Amazing and heart warming, great for kids!


Framed (Nancy Drew (All New) Girl Detective)
Framed (Nancy Drew (All New) Girl Detective)
Author: Carolyn Keene, Michael Frost
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/31/2010


from back of book:

A prince is in River Heights. A prince! Granted, he's from a relative minor royal family, but still. this is big news. The headlines get even bigger once the prince is found toting a painting for his family's good friend Mrs.Mahoney-because within hours of his arrival, the federal authorities arrest him. They suspect he stole the painting from his family.
Dad and I aren't buying it. We have a hunch there's more to this-ahem-picture. But can we save the prince before he's wrongfully crowned
"criminal"?


Good Night, Gorilla
Good Night, Gorilla
Author: Peggy Rathmann
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 1/7/2010


A great book!


Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, Bk 2)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, Bk 2)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 3789
Review Date: 11/27/2009


I really like this book because it has a sense of adventure, a mystery to it, and the characters a great. The Harry Potter Series is my favorite and I hope you read them because they are so great.


Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, Bk 3)
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Harry Potter, Bk 3)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 3074
Review Date: 12/21/2009


This book is great! It has high energy and keeps you on your toes and makes you feel like you are really there! I would recommend it for any one at any age level! My kids love it and so do I!


Holes
Holes
Author: Louis Sachar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 2/12/2011


Description:
231 pages long.
Great for girls and boy ages 9-10+
I suggest this book!

Basically from back cover (changed a little)
This book is about a kid "Stanley Yelants" is under a curse. A curse that has been in his family since his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing great-great-grandfather! Now Stanley is being sent to a boys detention center at Camp Green Lake, where the boys build character digging holes exactly 5 feet deep and five feet wide. There is no lake at Camp Green Lake. But an awful lot of holes. It doesn't take Stanley long to realize theres much more than character improvement going on at Camp Green Lake. The boys are digging holes because the warden is looking for something. But what could be buried under a dried-up lake? Stanley tries to dig up the truth in this inventive and darkly humorous tale of crime and punishment-and redemption.


James and the Giant Peach
James and the Giant Peach
Author: Roald Dahl, Lane Smith (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 12/18/2009


Fantastic!


Jessi's Secret Language (Baby-Sitters Club, Bk 16)
Jessi's Secret Language (Baby-Sitters Club, Bk 16)
Author: Ann M. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/11/2010


Information about Ameslan or AMErican Sign LANguage for kids (girls mostly) ages 7-8 to 10-11. Also about dancing.


The Magician's Elephant
The Magician's Elephant
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book is a wonderful short story, with lots of deep thoughts. It starts with a boy who is sort of being slaved/taught/lied to and who's parents have died and thinks his young sister is dead too. I think it is s very good book for children ages 8+.


Mary Poppins Comes Back (Mary Poppins, Bk 2)
Mary Poppins Comes Back (Mary Poppins, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Shepard (Illustrator), P. L. Travers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/20/2009


A good book just like the first one!


The Message in the Hollow Oak (Nancy Drew, No 12)
The Message in the Hollow Oak (Nancy Drew, No 12)
Author: Carolyn Keene
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 9/20/2009


If your a Nancy Drew fan this is a great book { Like the others of course!}


The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society, Bk 1)
Review Date: 2/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great book for boys and girls 9+
It holds lots of puzzles, interesting characters and tons more! I suggest you check out this 3-book series!


Pup at the Palace (Animal Ark (Library))
Pup at the Palace (Animal Ark (Library))
Author: Ben M. Baglio
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/31/2010


from back of book:

At animal ark, Mandy Hope helps her parents treat animals of all shapes and sizes. Even out side the clinic, Mandy cant resist helping any animal in need.

Mandy and James are taking a trip to London during there summer vacation. On a visit to Buckingham palace, Mandy spots an adorable Labrador puppy, who poses for James's camera and them runs away. Mandy and James spot the puppy all over town, but catching him turns out to be harder than they expected.

Can Mandy rescue this lost puppy from dangers in the big city?


Puzzlemania, Bk 1
Puzzlemania, Bk 1
Author: Highlights for Children
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/12/2011


for kids 5-8 boys and girls


The Road to Balinor  (Unicorns of Balinor #1)
The Road to Balinor (Unicorns of Balinor #1)
Author: Mary Stanton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/28/2010


From back of book:

In the crevices of a glacier mountain ridge there is a secret place - a place that connects our world to the world of Balinor. It is a peaceful, magical world watched over by a herd of beautiful unicorns. But darkness has fallen over Balinor. The royal princess and her majestic unicorn, Sunchaser, are sent from Balinor to our world to find Safety. But they can't stay for long. Danger has followed them. Princess Arianna and her unicorn are the only one's who can truly save the Kingdom. It is time for the princess to find her way back to Balinor.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: