Dana G. (damage) - - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
A Breed Apart
A Breed Apart
Author: Pierre Davis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/21/2010


Interesting premise. Not quite the "edge of the seat" as Koontz's, 'Watchers', but well worth the read.


Death at the Cut
Death at the Cut
Author: Douglas Kiker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/17/2010


Well written with interesting, quirky characters. Unfortunately there will be no more books from this author.


Death Below Deck
Death Below Deck
Author: Douglas Kiker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/17/2010


Unfortunately the author is deceased so there will be no more books in this series. Too bad because I really enjoyed the writing and the characters.


Dr. Nightingale Meets Puss in Boots (Deirdre Quinn Nightingale, Bk 8)
Review Date: 3/20/2016


First book of the series I picked up. As soon as I read where the Dr. was described as a D.V.M. who went to vet school in Philadelphia I was "put off". The one vet school in the entire country that does not give a D.V.M. degree is the University of Pennsylvania. Was that sloppy research or just laziness? Yes, that sort of thing is important to me! I tried a few more pages to see if the story line would at least catch my interest but I found the characters unappealing and the dialog boring. Enough, this one is being donated to the literacy council book sale asap.


Flight of a Witch (Inspector George Felse, Bk 3)
Flight of a Witch (Inspector George Felse, Bk 3)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/8/2010


Brother Cadfael or Inspector Felse, if Ellis Peters' name is on it, read it! Too few writers of her calibre.


Gun Shy (Raine Stockton Dog Mystery, Bk 3)
Gun Shy (Raine Stockton Dog Mystery, Bk 3)
Author: Donna Ball
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 3/8/2010


As "dog mysteries" go this wasn't the best, but far from the worst, in the genre. I will continue reading the series and hope for interesting development.


Home Fires (Judge Deborah Knott, Bk 6)
Home Fires (Judge Deborah Knott, Bk 6)
Author: Margaret Maron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/8/2010


A favorite series for me and the DH. Thought this one, with a few twists and red herrings, was very well done.


Proof of Guilt (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 15)
Proof of Guilt (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 15)
Author: Charles Todd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/8/2016


There were so many loose ends and unanswered questions at the end of this book that I thought, "it has be a two-parter"!! Is it?? Really took some slogging to get through as it was. And for such an unsatisfying ending....arghhh If the next book in the series doesn't finish the story I may have to cross Ian off my list of Desirable British Detectives!


Time to Depart (Marcus Didius Falco, Bk 7)
Time to Depart (Marcus Didius Falco, Bk 7)
Author: Lindsey Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/8/2010


A very likable character in very interesting times. A favorite series for me.


Twas the Bite Before Christmas (Jack & Jamie, Bk 4)
Twas the Bite Before Christmas (Jack & Jamie, Bk 4)
Author: Lee Charles Kelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book. Would love to have Jack and Holly Winter meet over a murder at a dog trainers seminar. Whose theory of dog training would prevail? Would they collude or collide?


1 to 10 of 10