Julie R. (justaskjulie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3673
Review Date: 4/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great book. It's the prequel to the much more widely known "Davinci Code". This book explores, science, the Illuminati, and the Vatican.


Are You My Guru?: How Medicine, Meditation & Madonna Saved My Life
Are You My Guru?: How Medicine, Meditation & Madonna Saved My Life
Author: Wendy Shanker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/27/2011


Wendy Shankar is best known for her book The Fat Girl's Guide to Life , which I haven't read and after reading this book really have no desire to read. That is absolutely no reflection on either Wendy Shankar or Are You My Guru?. From the first page of this book I was hooked.

Wendy shares her story of chronic illness (in her case Wegener's) and how she went from being this extremely active type A personality, working a million hours a week for a tv studio and doing freelance jobs, to fighting this disease that was tearing her apart. This is her story of how she was forced to learn to accept her new reality. So many times while reading this book, I thought "thank you", "thank you for sharing the reality of chronic illness, of how we feel about fighting that illness, about how many times we want to just give up, about how willing we are to really try anything". Her story shares the ups and downs, there's no happy ending where she suddenly gets better and stays that way for the rest of her life. This is an honest portrayal and really just a story of acceptance.

The book is well written, funny, and honest. I love that she doesn't try to make everything wine and roses, or give off this idea that there is a perfect answer. The real truth of the book is that we are own Guru. No one knows our body like we do. The drs may be the experts in the disease we are dealing with, but we are the experts of our own bodies, and the best results will come when the experts work together.

I wish I could get to the point of acceptance that Wendy found, and maybe one day I will find it. In the meantime, this book will stay with me and I will read it again and again.


Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 427
Review Date: 8/20/2010


Fun book. Slightly different take on the genre, I'll definitely check out the sequel.


The Cold Moon (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 7)
The Cold Moon (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 7)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 2/24/2009


This was a great book. Every time you think it's winding down there's another twist to the story.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1993
Review Date: 8/3/2010


I tried to read it and gave up after Chapter 5. Perhaps I just couldn't relate to the self-absorbed shopaholic instant gratification attitude of the character. Or perhaps it was having to constantly do conversion from British to American.


Conversations With The Fat Girl
Conversations With The Fat Girl
Author: Liza Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 1/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It's typical chick lit and somewhat predictable once the train gets rolling, but it's still entertaining and funny and there is so much truth there about friendships and how they (and we) change.


Deja Demon: The Days and Nights of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 4)
Review Date: 10/4/2010


This was by far the least thrilling of the "Demon-hunting soccer mom" series. It took quite a while to pick up and when it did the book was quickly over. There were also a lot of questions opened that were never answered. It was like she started plot points but then realized the book was getting too long and just forgot about them.


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/3/2009
Helpful Score: 8


This is one of those rare books that you get so sucked into that you don't want to put it down and when it's over you wish there was more.

The story is set in upstate New York where Ann (the Drs wife) finds that she is missing more than just her husband as he commits time not only to his practice but then joins forces with an old friend who runs an abortion clinic. As he is away more and more she turns to the artist, Simon Haas, for that thing she's lost at home - passion. While Michael (the doctor) barely notices is anything amiss. Simon's young wife, Lydia, is mad with rage over the slight that she feels. Even though she knows that Simon never really loved her and only saved her from what would have been a life in orphanages as she became his muse. She is imbalanced. Combine that with the work she has been doing with the local anti-abortion group and things really do blow up.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 6/7/2009


This book is a year in the life of a woman trying to find herself. I have never had a book touch me so much. She spends 1 year traveling, 4 months in Italy enjoying pleasure (Eat), 4 months in India learning about her spirituality (Pray), and the final 4 months in Indonesia trying to learn how to balance pleasure and spirituality.

The part in India is the part that touched me so much. It is the first time I've encountered anyone approach/address religion in a way that I can truly wrap my head around and understand.

In addition to that chapter I can identify with her search in general. I've gone through the crappy divorce and the wondering who I really am after giving up so much to be with someone else. This book is a true gem, so much more than I would have expected.


Fibromyalgia: A Leading Expert's Guide to Understanding and Getting Relief from the Pain That Won't Go Away
Review Date: 7/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Good for what it is, I'd love to see an updated version of this book by this author. The Dr who wrote this book was one of the doctors involved in developing the criteria for diagnosing Fibro. He talks about many of the major issues we deal with concerning Fibro and addresses them using anecdotal stories from his own patients. My only complaint is that this book is a decade old and so much has been learned since the time it was written, new drugs made available and new therapies tested.


The Fibromyalgia Handbook
The Fibromyalgia Handbook
Author: Harris H. McIlwain, Debra Fulghum Bruce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/16/2010


This book is basically a listing of every possible and potential treatment for Fibromyalgia. It is NOT a guide (in 7 steps) to healing and reversing Fibromyalgia. The 7 "steps" is just the breakdown of the different types of treatments (from nutrition, exercise, alternative medicine, etc).

If you are brand new to Fibro or just want to know what the potential treatments are then check this book out. If you've been doing any research at all on Fibro, you already know what this book has to offer.


The Givenchy Code (Play.Survive.Win, Bk 1)
The Givenchy Code (Play.Survive.Win, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/31/2010


This was a fun book that kept me wanting to read from the first time I picked it up. In some ways it's a bit expected, but even though you pretty well know what the outcome will be; like a good movie it keeps you reading.


Last Days
Last Days
Author: Brian Evenson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/21/2009


If you are looking for something different and enjoy a bit of the macabre then you should definitely check out this book.


Like a Charm
Like a Charm
Author: Candace Havens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 7/26/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I hope she writes a sequel. I loved this book, most fun I've had reading in a while. Paranormal fun but at the same time smart and sassy.


Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 3/11/2009


It really didn't grab me. I read probably 50 pages of it and I can see where it would probably make a cute movie. It has some great and sweet stories about the love between a couple and their dog. In the end, it just didn't grab me so I moved on to something better.


The Mr. & Mrs. Happy Handbook: Everything I Know About Love and Marriage (with corrections by Mrs. Doocy)
Review Date: 4/6/2010


Not a self-help marriage book. Just a funny easy to read book about this guys experiences in marriage. You probably won't learn anything but you'll have a good time reading it.


The Next Queen of Heaven
The Next Queen of Heaven
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/17/2011


This is not one of Maguire's best by any means. It drags and I finally gave up about halfway through it and decided there were other things I'd rather be reading.


Of Mice and Men / Cannery Row
Of Mice and Men / Cannery Row
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 9/14/2009


Cannery Row - I couldn't finish it. After two or three chapters of wondering what the book was about and just being introduced to character after character I gave up.


Possible Side Effects
Possible Side Effects
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/11/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I attempted it. It just seemed really self-absorbed and not my type of book overall. I probably made it 2 chapters in before I gave up and passed it on.


Pyres
Pyres
Author: Derek Nikitas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/14/2009


I started this book but didn't finish it, just couldn't get into it.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: