Debra W. (debmomof6) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
50 Best Babysitting Tips (American Girl Backpack Books)
50 Best Babysitting Tips (American Girl Backpack Books)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great little book,giving lots of helpful babysitting ideas from girls with experience. You need to be aware that it is not regulation book size--it is a "backpack" book, measuring 3 x 3 inches, ready to hang on a backpack strap.


An Acquaintance with Darkness
An Acquaintance with Darkness
Author: Ann Rinaldi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This was my first Rinaldi book, and even though it is supposed to be for a younger group of readers, I found it fascinating. I love the way she weaves history into a fictional story, or is she weaving fiction into history? Either way, Rinaldi writes a story that keeps you coming back for more. Another excellent one is A Break With Charity, about the Salem witch trials. Got it on PBS, but it's so good, I'm keeping it. If you like historical fiction, check out Ann Rinaldi


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 2/5/2009


Jennifer Crusie is a talented writer who can pull off the snappiest dialogue and some of the best humor/romance I have ever read. That's why I don't understand why she has to use foul language and explicit sex to get her point across. This story got lots of good reviews, but I couldn't get past the first 50 pages--the negatives turned me off before I could find the positives. Just not my cup of tea.


Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 3/11/2010


Great story--love the ghostly aspect. The story was fun, with gentle humor and a nice romance. I will read more of the series.


The Awakening
The Awakening
Author: Angela Hunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 10/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have never read an Angela Hunt book that wasn't excellent. The Awakening is no exception. I could feel the fears of the main character, and sense her desperation. Then I could rejoice in her hope. Great, great story.


Big Cherry Holler (Big Stone Gap, Bk 2)
Big Cherry Holler (Big Stone Gap, Bk 2)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 266
Review Date: 11/25/2008
Helpful Score: 3


It took me a couple of tries to get into this one, but when I finally buckled down and read the first 50 pages, I was completely hooked. This is a wonderful follow-up to Big Stone Gap; I would recommend reading them in order. There are laugh-out-loud places, cry-with-Ave Maria places, and just plain "Awwww" places. Can't wait to read the third book, "Milk Glass Moon." Highly recommended.


The Blue Nowhere
The Blue Nowhere
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 4/2/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This book just might scare you away from the Internet forever! Great story, intense suspense, keeps you guessing right til the end. Lots of technical computer jargon, but that's what I loved about it. I feel semi-educated as well as thoroughly entertained.


Daughters of Memory
Daughters of Memory
Author: Janis Arnold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great book. I am really at a loss for words as to how to describe it. You go through every emotion reading about the two sisters who have dealt with their abusive childhood in two totally opposite ways.

FROM THE FRONT OF THE BOOK: "A memorable and haunting book." "A stunning achievement." "A masterpiece of insight." "I don't want to know how Janis Arnold knows what she knows, but she has shown genius in the way she has fabricated this novel."

Read it and see for yourself.


Entombed (Alex Cooper, Bk 7)
Entombed (Alex Cooper, Bk 7)
Author: Linda A. Fairstein
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 1/12/2009


Excellent book. This was my first by Fairstein. The Poe theme is what drew me to it, and I must say I got a pretty good "Poe" education by reading it. The ending was a little of a letdown, not because of "whodunit," but it was presented pretty blandly in comparison to some of the other action in the book. Still, overall it was a very good read. If you like your fiction with historical facts woven in, you will enjoy this book.


Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 430
Review Date: 4/2/2008
Helpful Score: 8


I loved this book! So different from most of today's fiction. The author notes at the end: "I tell my students that you do not write living fiction by attempting to transcribe actual events onto the page. You create a sense of real characters and a real story by putting down one vivid detail, one exact phrase, at a time. The fiction is imagined, but if it is done well, it seems absolutely true, as real as the world around us." I say he is a master, if this book is any indication.


If She Only Knew (San Francisco, Bk 1)
If She Only Knew (San Francisco, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 9/16/2008


Great story. Not sure if I really like this author's style. I'm going to try one more by her. The storyline is a good one, so if you are into this author, you will like this book.


It's All Too Much: An Easy Plan for Living a Richer Life with Less Stuff
Review Date: 4/2/2008
Helpful Score: 7


This is an absolutely wonderful book. It gets into how we let our stuff control us and what to do about it--not just organize and reorganize it, but toss it out. Even my 10-yr-old daughter got into "being brutal" when it came to cleaning her room and making a more pleasant space. A highly recommended book.


Just One Look
Just One Look
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 496
Review Date: 9/12/2008
Helpful Score: 5


Another great one by Harlan Coben. He is the master of the genre. Plot twists and clues revealed most unexpectedly keep you guessing right up until the end. And just when you think the story is over and all has been revealed--BAM--a new twist. Great book!


Kiss the Girls (Alex Cross, Bk 2)
Kiss the Girls (Alex Cross, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 4/30/2008


This was my first James Patterson book of this genre. I found it pretty creepy, but I couldn't put it down. It was sort of like passing an accident scene---you don't want to look and you know you will see something terrible, but you can't look away. I will definitely read more James Patterson.


Less than Dead (Bug Man, Bk 4)
Less than Dead (Bug Man, Bk 4)
Author: Tim Downs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/1/2009


This book is as good as all the other Tim Downs books--the bug man's sense of humor (admittedly twisted at times) keeps me smiling and even sometimes laughing out loud. I have never met a Bug Man novel I didn't love.


Life Support
Life Support
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 4/2/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This was my first Tess Gerritsen, and I loved it. I love a book that can almost literally put me on the edge of my seat, and this author does it well.


Mistress of Justice
Mistress of Justice
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Good book--not quite up to Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme series, but a great story nonetheless. He has a great gift for the unexpected twist and for setting the reader up to "know for sure" whodunit, only to be proven wrong. Love, love, love Jeffery Deaver.


Nineteen Minutes
Nineteen Minutes
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 734
Review Date: 4/2/2008


Anything by Jodi Picoult is great. And this is no exception. I find myself looking at issues that I have felt so stronly about, from a completely different perspective, and realizing that nothing is as simple as it seems. Wonderful book.


On What Grounds (Coffeehouse, Bk 1)
On What Grounds (Coffeehouse, Bk 1)
Author: Cleo Coyle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 536
Review Date: 2/9/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I love these books. Humor, mystery, nothing heavy, just good fun. Beware--if you are not currently a coffee drinker, you will be after you read this series. You can almost smell the coffee as you read.


The Road Home
The Road Home
Author: Tommy Tenney, Mark Andrew Olsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 4/2/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Good book--not exactly what I expected, but still good. A lot of time was given to the actual road trip home. The part of the book spent in Amish country was definitely the highlight of the story. If you like the story of Ruth in the Bible (which I happen to love) you will probably enjoy this gentle story.


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: