Ivy (PBSmaven) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 108 - Page:
102 Minutes : The Untold Story of the Fight to Survive Inside the Twin Towers
Review Date: 9/1/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Although I know all too well the story of what happened on 9/11 this book 102 Minutes really puts it in perspective. The story takes you from beginning to end of the tragedy as well as the inside stories of a lot of the victim and survivors and their families. As you read this book you actually feel as if you're there with them all. I couldn't put this book down. I know most people know the story and have lived through the tragedy but to me this book is a must read for everyone.


Adora
Adora
Author: Bertrice Small
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/4/2007


This is the first book of Bertrice Small's that I ever read over 20 years ago and once I did I was HOOKED! I've been her biggest fan ever since and have read (and saved) every book Bertrice Small has ever written. She's definitely the BEST romance writer EVER! You will LOVE her books no doubt! A MUST READ!


Alcatraz from Inside: The Hard Years 1942-1952
Alcatraz from Inside: The Hard Years 1942-1952
Author: Jim Quillen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/11/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I just finished reading this one. VERY interesting look at life on the inside of Alcatraz as written by former inmate Jim Quillen. Also poignant story of his life as well. Easy read, read it in 2 days, but worth reading. This copy is also signed by the author.


Alice's Tulips
Alice's Tulips
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 7/23/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I LOVED this one! The narrative took a little getting used to at first since she writes in letter form, but I loved the story and the characters. As always, Sandra Dallas keeps you spellbound!


Alison's Legacy (Alma Chronicles)
Alison's Legacy (Alma Chronicles)
Author: Toby Heathcotte
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/28/2007


Really riveting book by local Arizona author Toby Heathcotte. If you enjoy fantasy you'll love it!


Amish Grace: How Forgiveness Transcended Tragedy
Review Date: 4/12/2009
Helpful Score: 4


After having read numerous books on the Amish, both fiction and non-fiction, I can say that this definitely isn't my favorite book. I was hoping for a more private look at the Amish and how the individual families dealt and are dealing with the Nickle Mines tragedy but what this book was about was their religious beliefs more then anything. It does give a small glimpse into the lives of the Amish and some of the families, but in my opinion the book was more "preachy" then anything. Truthfully, it wasn't what I expected and I was bored after reading about 1/3 of the book. I continued on though, and I'm currently struggling to finish the book. I call this one boring. I think deeply religious people might appreciate this one, but I'm more interested in some of the cultural aspects of the Amish then the religious aspects, although the two go hand in hand. It's more of a Christian book then anything in my opinion. Disappointing.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 6/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


In short, an awesome book, riveting. You won't put it down.


Angie's Promise
Angie's Promise
Author: Toby Heathcotte
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/28/2007


Another great book from local Arizona author Toby Heathcotte. LOVE her books!


Arranged Marriage : Stories
Arranged Marriage : Stories
Author: Chitra Divakaruni
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Beautiful and poignant short stories about Indian marriages. Riveting. I read it in less the a day, I couldn't put it down.


Beautiful Child
Beautiful Child
Author: Torey Hayden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/16/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is the last of Torey Hayden's books I've read. As with all her books, the stories of these young children is heartbreaking, but riveting. This one was particularly touching to me. Again, as with all her books I couldn't put it down. Excellent book.


Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Author: A. N. Roquelaure, Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 8/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Best erotic trilogy novel of all time in my opinion. A must read for lovers of erotica, BDSM or D/s.


Behind the Veil in Arabia : Women in Oman
Behind the Veil in Arabia : Women in Oman
Author: Unni Wikan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/7/2007


Very interesting look at how the women in Oman, Saudi Arabia live. I was tempted to keep this one it was so good.


The Bodyguard's Story : Diana, the Crash, and the Sole Survivor
Review Date: 10/17/2008
Helpful Score: 7


Although this story is about the crash that took Princess Diana's life, it's not the story of Diana. It's the story as told from the perspective of bodyguard Trevor Rees-Jones who was the sole survivor of the crash.
It takes you from a few weeks before the crash til well after and through Rees-Jones' recovery and trials and tribulations he went through with Mr. Fayed.
A very interesting story, particularly about his injuries and his recovery but I lost interest about 3/4 of the way through the book in his problems with Mr. Fayed.
A worthwhile read though.


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 9/1/2008


This book is a riveting glimpse of life in post war Afghanistan as seen through the eyes of one family. It makes you appreciate how much we have and opens your eyes to how much the people of Afghanistan endure on a daily basis just to survive. I finished the book in one sitting and highly recommend it. No sugar coating in this book...be prepared to have your eyes opened and your heart as well.


Buster Midnight's Cafe
Buster Midnight's Cafe
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 7/25/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Definitely my favorite Sandra Dallas book. I loved every minute of this book. I wish it didn't end.


The Cajun Cowboy (Cajun, Bk 3)
The Cajun Cowboy (Cajun, Bk 3)
Author: Sandra Hill
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 6/15/2007


Loved this book. Sexy and funny, Sandra Hill outdid herself with this one and all her Cajun books. A fun, fast read!


Camilla, The King's Mistress: A Royal Scandal
Camilla, The King's Mistress: A Royal Scandal
Author: Caroline Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting book about Camilla and her background and the role she played in Charles and Diana's lives.


Cemetery Stories : Haunted Graveyards, Embalming Secrets, and the Life of a Corpse After Death
Review Date: 12/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


If you enjoy morbidity and have a natural curiosity for what happens after we die, then you'll love this book. It's a very easy to read, interesting, sometimes humorous book of explanations, anecdotes and observations of all things regarding death. It's well written and although it is graphic, it's not unbearable to read. On the contrary, I found it quite fascinating and finished it in 2 days. Very interesting!


A Change of Heart : A Memoir
A Change of Heart : A Memoir
Author: Claire Sylvia, William Novak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/30/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book is absolutely riveting. This is the story of a woman who had a heart and lung transplant. She talks about everything from her illness to the transplant and what she went through and the aftermath. The most amazing thing about this woman's experience is that after the transplant she began to have dreams about her donor and took on some of his characteristics. She works closely with a psychologist and eventually finds the donor's family to come full circle. This is an amazing book and begs the question is there life after death and does the soul live in the heart?
I couldn't put this one down. Great book!


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1949
Review Date: 7/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of the most extreme cases of child abuse I've ever read about. Heartbreaking and shocking, but the author (and victim) made lemonade out of lemons. You have to read it to believe it!


1 to 20 of 108 - Page: