Jean T. (jeantallman) - , - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Big Bad Wolf Tells All
The Big Bad Wolf Tells All
Author: Donna Kauffman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 6/8/2015


The Big Bad Wolf Tells All is typical Donna Kaufmann


Breaking Point (I-Team, Bk 5)
Breaking Point (I-Team, Bk 5)
Author: Pamela Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 1/23/2012


I have read all of the books in the I-Team series. I loved the first one and loved this one as well. I would give both an A. The other three get B or B+. They were good, but this book was great!

Natalie Benoit is a gritty Southern Belle that is taken hostage, presumably for trying to save her colleague when their bus is ambushed by the cartel in Mexico. Zach McBride is already in the prison she ends up landing in. They work together, rely on each other, escape, plot, plan, doubt each other, hike across the desert, fall in love and return to civilization. And that would have made a great book, but that was only half way.

The second half of the book is about why Natalie was taken and who really is responsible. It is can't-put-the-book-down-delicious.

It is not over when the mystery is solved. Clare ties up Zach's personal angst in a way that makes the reader go ahhhhhh.

Great book. Highly recommended.


Caroselli's Christmas Baby (Caroselli Inheritance, Bk 1) (Harlequin Desire, No 2194)
Review Date: 5/20/2013


This was a great friends to spouses romance. It really does not have much to do with Christmas, other than they are married around Thanksgiving time. I would recommend this book as a quick fun read.

I did see a few typos in this book and it concerned me. I am not used to typos in Harlequin series romances. Self-published, I can see a typo or two, but a big house like Harlequin, they should know better.


For the Sake of Their Son (Alpha Brotherhood, Bk 4) (Harlequin Desire, No 2275)
For the Sake of Their Son (Alpha Brotherhood, Bk 4) (Harlequin Desire, No 2275)
Author: Catherine Mann
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/19/2014


Loved it.


He Loves Lucy
He Loves Lucy
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 399
Review Date: 9/24/2011


This is one of my favorite books of all time. By far, my favorite romance. I have purchased multiple copies just to give to friends. The only other book I have done that with is Like Water for Chocolate, which made me weep because it was so moving.

Since reading this book for the first time years ago, I read all of Susan Donovan's books. Another of my favorite books is "The Kept Woman" by Donovan. I do wonder, however, how someone from Ohio knows so much about Miami. She manages to capture Miami with remarkable accuracy.

You can't go wrong with this book -- for yourself or as a gift for others.


Impossible to Resist (Men of Wolff Mountain, Bk 3) (Harlequin Desire, No 2164)
Impossible to Resist (Men of Wolff Mountain, Bk 3) (Harlequin Desire, No 2164)
Author: Janice Maynard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/10/2012


I have read all three Men of Wolff Mountain books and this was my favorite. Hopefully there will be more, there are three more cousins after all.


Legally Hot: Sheila's Passion / Deadly Dance / Caught
Legally Hot: Sheila's Passion / Deadly Dance / Caught
Author: Cheyenne McCray, Red Garnier, Lora Leigh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 1/9/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I ususally don't like anthologies, but I like Lora Leigh so I picked this book up. If the Lora Leigh story would have been good, I would have liked this book. Unfortunately, it was not so good.

Ms. Leigh's story lacked depth. "Sheila's Passion" was set up as a preview to future stories... maybe that was it's only point. Disappointing. Other than that the character's had sex four times and then there was a HEA.

The other two stories were better, not great, but better. Not particularly recommended.


The Mighty Quinns: Malcolm (Mighty Quinns, Bk 27) (Harlequin Blaze, No 794)
The Mighty Quinns: Malcolm (Mighty Quinns, Bk 27) (Harlequin Blaze, No 794)
Author: Kate Hoffmann
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/18/2014


Great book, exciting new steps in the Quinn adventure.


The Mighty Quinns: Ronan: The Mighty Quinns: Ronan / The Mighty Quinns: Marcus
The Mighty Quinns: Ronan: The Mighty Quinns: Ronan / The Mighty Quinns: Marcus
Author: Kate Hoffmann
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/12/2012


While this book is not out yet, I find it interesting that the cover is a picture of what we presume is Ronan on a boat when in according to the earlier books in the series he will not step foot on a boat (since his parents went missing at sea when he was a small child).

Can't wait to see what happens...


A SEAL's Seduction (Uniformly Hot!) (Harlequin Blaze, No 738)
A SEAL's Seduction (Uniformly Hot!) (Harlequin Blaze, No 738)
Author: Tawny Weber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/3/2013


This book is not The Rule Breaker, it is A Seal's Seduction. The photo is wrong. The ISBN is for A Seal's Seduction.


The Sparkling One (Marcelli Family, Bk 1)
The Sparkling One (Marcelli Family, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 8/15/2009


I really like Susan Mallery books, but The Marcelli Sisters series is in my top two or three favorites that she has written. The setting is beautiful, the characters are relatable and the plots are can't-put-down good.


Tempted Again (West Investigations, Bk 3)
Tempted Again (West Investigations, Bk 3)
Author: Cathie Linz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 1/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Cute book but I felt like I was walking through mud to get to the end. Also, the dialogue was forced.

Notwithstanding, if you read for pleasure and don't have anything else to do, this book is not going to tax you. Very lighthearted -- and it does have a nice "help the bad teens" element that adds interest.


Their Eyes were Watching God
Their Eyes were Watching God
Author: Zora Neale Hurston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 8/15/2009


I read this book 20 years ago and I can still remember the characters and their struggle and the rich plot of his story. I live in Florida, but for anyone who has experienced a "terrible storm" or wondered what it is like to experience a "terrible storm," this book is a MUST read.

I did not post my copy. I am keeping it. :)


1 to 13 of 13