Susan H. (Bookmom) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 60 - Page:
Day of Judgment
Day of Judgment
Author: Jack Higgins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/20/2009


My husband said it was good, but not as good as Storm Warning.


Death By Sheer Torture
Death By Sheer Torture
Author: Robert Barnard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/9/2006


A "Scene of the Crime" Mystery
"A whodunit in the classic tradition"


Death Walks the Woods (aka That Yew Tree's Shade) (Francis Pettigrew, Bk 4)
Review Date: 9/9/2006


"A classic novel of suspense"


Dennis the Menace:  Just for Fun
Dennis the Menace: Just for Fun
Author: Hank Ketchum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/29/2008


Cute comic strip from the '70's, eventually became a cartoon show in the '80's-'90's.


Diana: Her New Life
Diana: Her New Life
Author: Andrew Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/9/2006


With 32 pages of remarkable color photographs! Author of the #1 NYTimes Bestseller, Diana: Her True Story, Andrew Morton


Donnie Brasco: My Undercover Life in the Mafia
Donnie Brasco: My Undercover Life in the Mafia
Author: Joseph D. Pistone, Richard Woodley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/9/2006


"A true story by an FBI agent"


Everybody Loves Oprah!: Her Remarkable Life Story
Everybody Loves Oprah!: Her Remarkable Life Story
Author: Norman King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/28/2009


(1987) A few years ago no one knew Oprah Winfrey. Today she has rocketed to fame to become one of the most exciting and best-loved celebrities in America.
What about the Oprah you still don't know?
~Born out-of-wedlock
~Mother wanted to name her "Orpah"
~sexually abused as a child
~1st big break was "Miss Fire Prevention", Nashville,TN
~Anchorwoman for WJZ-TV Baltimore's 6:00 News
~Academy Award-winner

Oprah also gives us her views on a wide variety of topics: religion, race, romance, beauty
and much, much more.


False Memory
False Memory
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/14/2009


No fan of D.K. or of classic psychological suspense will want to miss this extraordinary novel of the human mind's capacity to torment--and destroy--itself. In False Memory, D.K. has created a novel that will stay in your memory long after the final page is turned--a story not only of gripping fear but also of the power of love and friendship. Once more Koontz reveals why he has, as People put it, the "power to scare the daylights out of us".


Favorite Son
Favorite Son
Author: Steve Sohmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 3/30/2009


My husband read it and said it was not very good. There was a movie by the same title starring Robert Redford. Maybe it is better than the book, I have not seen it. Personally, I like conspiracy novels and this is one.
SH


Feeling Good : The New Mood Therapy
Feeling Good : The New Mood Therapy
Author: David D. Burns
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/10/2013


I am not really for any therapy that tells the patient THEY are the problem and THEY can solve it just by thinking other thoughts. That does not make problems go away. If I need to calm down I'd rather take a pill than read this book.


Hunting Badger
Hunting Badger
Author: Tony Hillerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 4/7/2009


My husband says it's pretty good.


Iron Tongue
Iron Tongue
Author: Robert E. Vardeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/11/2008


Krek, the giant talking spider, on the run from his cannibalistic mate.
Inyx, the slender, dark-haired beauty, master of warfare.
These are the allies of Dar-elLan Martak. They have banded with Lan against Claybore, the nefarious fleshless wizard who searches for his dismembered body and his lost powers--and who has once again slipped through the portals to the Cenotaph Road. Lan and his allies have only one means to stop Claybore: they must follow their enemy to an unknown world, a planet of warring empires and vast realms of magic, a planet where even with Lan's growing command of the intricacies of sorcery, the Cenotaph Road could be a dead end.


Italian Cook Book
Italian Cook Book
Author: Jerry Anne DiVecchio (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/21/2009


Dishes look pretty easy to put together, not complicated. Broken into sections by course.
Some helpful wine suggestions, red and white. Interesting notes about the regions where the various dishes came from. I have 2 copies that is why I am giving this one away.


Jamie the Red
Jamie the Red
Author: Gordon R. Dickson, Roland Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/11/2008


What's a father to do with a son like Jamie? Good-hearted, hot-blooded, quick to make both friends and enemies, he was too much of a firebrand to stay at home. The King's heart almost broke when he banished his favorite son...but Jamie the Red's adventures were just beginning!


Jaws 2: A Novel
Jaws 2: A Novel
Author: Howard Sackler, Dorothy Tristan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 9/9/2006


Author: Hank Searles
Reads exactly like the movie. Good Summer read!


The King of Torts
The King of Torts
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 955
Review Date: 9/9/2006


#1 NYTimes Bestseller!


The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 11)
The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 11)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 628
Review Date: 6/10/2009


my husband said it's "ok".


Life Expectancy
Life Expectancy
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 578
Review Date: 3/5/2009


Before he died on a storm-wracked night, Jimmy Tock's grandfather predicted there would be 5 dark days in his grandson's life-5 dates whose terrible events Jimmy must prepare himself to face. The first is to occur in his 20th yr, the last in his 30th. What terrifying events await Jimmy on the 5 critical days? What challenges must he survive? The path he follows will defy every expectation and will take all the love, humor and courage he possesses. For who Jimmy Tock is and what he must accomplish on the 5 days his world turns is a mystery both dangerous and wondrous....Life Expectancy...enjoy it while you can.

My husband rates it between 3-4 *s b/c of it's variation of plot from Koontz's familiar Man, Single-Mom, Kid, Dog plots. Although Koontz is not my husband's favorite author, he does like the genre and has read most of his titles, and thinks this is one of the better.


Love Is in the Earth: A Kaleidoscope of Crystals
Review Date: 9/9/2006


Updated version--no pics
"...Describing the Metaphysical Properties of the Mineral Kingdom"


A Matchmaker's Christmas (Zebra Regency Romance)
A Matchmaker's Christmas (Zebra Regency Romance)
Author: Donna Simpson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/9/2006


"The Greatest Gift of All......" "Lady Elizabeth Bournard" character is featured in this novel.
"They never imagined they'd meet again--under the mistletoe..."


21 to 40 of 60 - Page: