Kim C. (snapshot) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
13 to Life: A Werewolf's Tale
13 to Life: A Werewolf's Tale
Author: Shannon Delany
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/19/2011


This is a quick read, that you'll get sucked into. I was annoyed with it the first ten or twelve chapters of the book, because it felt like a spin off of the famous selling Vampire series, only with a werewolf instead. I'm not a huge fan of that series, but I don't appreciate when authors copy each other either. But the writer's unique style kept my attention. She is quirky with her words, often throwing in puns to make you laugh. And, I loved how often she snuck in jokes about popular books and movies (yes, even the vampire series I mentioned!). I ended up finishing the book in 2 days, as well as it's sequel! The ending of the 2nd book is a cliffhanger, I can't wait for the 3rd to come out. I'm hooked!


Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 12/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl deliver a beautifully written, captivating series that debuts with Beautiful Creatures. I have both read these books and have listened to them on audio. If you have a chance, listen to them! The narrator does a fantastic job! But, be careful... every single ending leaves you begging for the next book!


Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Beautiful Creatures (Beautiful Creatures, Bk 1)
Author: Margaret Stohl, Kami Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 9/30/2010


I was hesitant to start this book, but I am thankful I did. It's an intriguing story, I enjoyed it and will be anxious to read the sequel, Beautiful Darkness, when it comes out this fall. I listened to it on audio, and the performer did a fantastic job with the accents and multiple voices. I think that is also why I was drawn in, or maybe the book cast its own spell on me... ;)


Beyond the Shadows
Beyond the Shadows
Author: Robin Lee Hatcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is written in first person, which made it hard for me to continue reading it. I just personally do not like books in 1st person, I feel like you don't get to know the other characters as well, and therefore it leaves alot out of the story. With that being said, I thought the story line was well thought through, but thought the ending was abrupt. I felt like there should have been a few more chapters to make it seem more "real". The character believed it, but me, the reader, felt like I was cut off from a wonderful ending.


The Big Book of Casseroles: 250 Recipes for Serious Comfort Food
The Big Book of Casseroles: 250 Recipes for Serious Comfort Food
Author: Maryana Vollstedt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/9/2011


The recipes are good, but the lack of photos is very disappointing.


The Canopy
The Canopy
Author: Angela Hunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 2/25/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoyed this book and had a hard time putting it down. I loved how she tied science and faith together, and especially loved what she said about it being our JOB to seek the answers for illnesses. It left me with alot to think about, and perhaps a difference perspective about medical research. I would recommend this book to anyone.


Charming Billy
Charming Billy
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 2/17/2009


I felt there needed more character development as well as plot development, but overall it was a charming story.


Charming Lily
Charming Lily
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 2/17/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book I've read by Fern Michaels, and I can honestly say it doesn't want to make me read another one by her. Her writing style is, in my own opinion, unorganized and messy. She doesn't write conversations between characters well. For example, she'll have one character ramble on and on about something for two pages, asking questions, suggesting ideas, expressing fears, etc. Then she'll have the next character's reply be slumped together in one big 2-page paragraph, responses to the questions, reactions to the emotions, everything. It makes it hard to follow and does not allow the flow to run smoothly. She also seems to have the two main characters in different time frames. Part of me understands why for this kind of story, but the way she presents it just made it harder to follow the story line. It felt like you were jumping back and forth, and at times, made you think "Ok, so this is supposed to happen when?" Overall, I just was not impressed. I would not recommend this book.


The Church Ladies
The Church Ladies
Author: Lisa E. Samson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Although I prefer books written in 3rd person and this was in 1st... I really enjoyed this book. I thought the character's train of thought was hilarious and so real, at least in a woman's brain like myself. :) It was wonderful to see ladies of different church denominations come together, in fellowship and for a good cause. If only real churches did that more often....


Coming Home (Baxter Family, Bk 6)
Coming Home (Baxter Family, Bk 6)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 1/25/2013
Helpful Score: 1


About 1/3 of the way through the book, I began to wonder if this was a book I could regret reading. Sure enough, it was. I could have easily skipped right over this book in the series and been all the happier. How can an author encourage her readers to go through 20+ books in a series, and then give it a horrible, tragic ending? As an avid reader of her work, I did not appreciate that. And, I can guarantee I will be hesitant to let myself get pulled into any more of her series. If you love the Baxters, please consider skipping this one, to spare yourself the unneeded heartache.


The Door to December
The Door to December
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 12/22/2008


Excellent book.... probably one of my favorites from Koontz. It's intense, it hooks you from early on, and make you so curious you just can't put it down. Highly recommend.


Even Now (Even Now, Bk 1)
Even Now (Even Now, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 3/24/2009


I very rarely say this, but I could not put this book down. It grabbed me from the very beginning. I felt the characters emotions as if I were part of their story. Absolutely loved it. Anxious to start the 2nd book tonight!


Ever After (Even Now, Bk 2)
Ever After (Even Now, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book is a great sequel to Even Now. I enjoyed reading about two completely different views of the war. I appreciated both sides, and thought Kingsbury's did a great job explaining just difficult it is to look past our different opinions and see the foundation between them may be the same! I thought the book was well written for such a controversial topic.

With all that being said, I want to warn readers.... it might be hard to read this book if you have a loved one overseas. It will pull at your fears.


For Couples Only
For Couples Only
Author: Shaunti Feldhahn, Jeff Feldhahn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/9/2011


Even a few marital counselors I know would not recommend these books. It's not gentle toward its readers, it's blunt and sometimes harsh with their perspective of reality. Read Love and Respect or Love Busters if you're looking for books to help you better understand your marriage.


Home Before Dark
Home Before Dark
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 4/11/2009


Ok, I read fast, but this one I read particularly fast. I really enjoyed it.


The Host
The Host
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 11/9/2011


I had a horrible time getting into this book... After the third time of trying to read it, I gave up. I don't give up on books easily, either.


House of Sand and Fog
House of Sand and Fog
Author: Andre Dubus III
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 806
Review Date: 2/17/2009


Interesting book, but, I felt it needed "something". Not sure what, just something.


I Will Fight No More Forever
I Will Fight No More Forever
Author: Merrill D. Beal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/17/2009


Great historical presentation! Love it.


Infinite Days (Vampire Queen, Bk 1)
Infinite Days (Vampire Queen, Bk 1)
Author: Rebecca Maizel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/29/2011


While I enjoyed this different twist of the popular vampire theme right now, I was left feeling kinda confused and empty. I understood the miserable, depressing worthlessness the vampires feel, but to me it didn't feel like "enough" for Lenah to want to change to a human. She was practically a queen with enormous power, with not just one but two loves of her life. I can't help but wonder WHAT else brought her to the decision to give up her power and vampire loves. I also had a very hard time believing the Justin/Lenah romance. I found myself rooting for Tony. He seemed far more "real" to me than Justin because we were aware of some of his passions and interests. The only things we knew about Justin were he's popular, handsome and a daredevil. It didn't seem to be an appropriate fit for a vampire queen to suddenly fall in love with. I couldn't understand it. I wouldn't recommend this book. Just my opinion.


The Marriage Wish
The Marriage Wish
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 4/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a great story. The only complaint I had was Henderson used their names WAY too often. Nearly every time one of the characters spoke to another, they used that person name. It became rather annoying, especially when most of the time it was only two people involved in the scene. Names just weren't needed. BUT, it's still a great, quick read.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: