Reviews - Doreen O. (dolver) - Sparrow Bush, NY

1 to 20 of 234 - Page:
100 Best Chicken Recipes
100 Best Chicken Recipes
Book Type: Plastic Comb
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/8/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Full of tasty, easy to follow recipes. Most have pictures!"


16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 558
Review Date: 10/22/2006
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A nice romance - no smut. A book you could share with Gramma! First in the series"


The $7 a Meal Pressure Cooker Cookbook: 301 Delicious Meals You Can Prepare Quickly for the Whole Family
Review Date: 1/25/2014


"Lots of recipes from appetizers to desserts. Most look fairly easy."


Almost Heaven
Almost Heaven
Author: Judith McNaught
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 2/5/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved it! Read it in one day--of course nothing ELSE got done!"


Always Is Not Forever
Always Is Not Forever
Author: Helen Van Slyke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/18/2005
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I personally didn't care for this book...but then it is a very 1970's book. Pre-womens lib!"


American Girls About Town
American Girls About Town
Author: Adriana Trigiani, Lauren Weisberger, Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 10/1/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"About 17 short cute and funny stories. Makes for a nice read in between books."


The America's Test Kitchen Family Cookbook
The America's Test Kitchen Family Cookbook
Author: Editors at America's Test Kitchen
Book Type: Ring-bound
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/26/2008
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Well, now I know why I was #300+ on the WL for so long!!! Once you go out and get this book.....you don't want to give it up! Got for Christmas and hubby and I already have a list of dinners we want! What a wonderful selection of meals. Plus there are little "hints" all throughout!
I say, use your Borders coupon and go buy it!"


The Anderson Tapes
The Anderson Tapes
Author: Lawrence Sanders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/2/2011


"I REALLY liked this book. I didn't think I would since I'm not really into the genre AND it was written in 1969. But I really liked it. It read as though you were reading through the files of a crime- hearing testimony and transcripts from 'bugs' placed in secret.
Didn't care for the ending (last 3 pages!) but otherwise, loved it. Stayed up extra late just to finish"


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 282
Review Date: 3/1/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I gave it a full 5 stars! Loved it -I love these books that take some history and throw in make-believe, but make it all seem so real!"


Attracting Butterflies  Hummingbirds to Your Backyard : Watch Your Garden Come Alive With Beauty on the Wing (A Rodale Organic Gardening Book)
Review Date: 1/25/2014


"If you are a beginner- this book if chock full of great info. For more experienced Butterfly/Hummer gardeners, this book may be repetitive.

Garden plans are more sketch than plan - ie: colored pencil drawings as opposed to graph plotted.

Butterfly identification in back of book a little basic. I was expecting maps for ranges and caterpillar/butterfly pics on each species."


Baily's Irish Dream / Czech Mate (Harlequin Duets, No 88)
Baily's Irish Dream / Czech Mate (Harlequin Duets, No 88)
Author: Stephanie Doyle, Kate Thomas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/5/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"2 very cute romantic stories. No smut"


Be the Pack Leader
Be the Pack Leader
Author: Melissa Jo Peltier, Cesar Millan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 2/23/2008
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I was hoping this would be more informational. Enjoyed it, but it was more stories. If you are looking for tips, flip to the last 10 pages or so!"


Belfast Diary : War as a Way of Life
Belfast Diary : War as a Way of Life
Author: John Conroy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/10/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Chock full of information. However, it was certainly more 'textbook,' than enjoyment book!"


Best American Side Dishes (Best Recipe)
Best American Side Dishes (Best Recipe)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/28/2014


"I love America's Test Kitchen Cookbooks because you can read them! There are Tips, Hints and stories with just about every recipe. Even if most of those recipes aren't really to my taste."


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 866
Review Date: 2/21/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was my first J Crusie, but not my last! I really enjoyed this book. It's a romance, but not too lovey, filled with lots of jokes, snarks, and fun characters"


Better Homes & Gardens Can It!
Better Homes & Gardens Can It!
Author: Better Homes & Gardens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/25/2014


"Lots of great recipes. Easy to understand directions - for both the new and old-hat canner."


Betty Crocker Cookbook, Heart Health Edition
Betty Crocker Cookbook, Heart Health Edition
Author: Betty Crocker Editors
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/19/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Great cookbook. Full of wonderful recipes that are pretty normal --as opposed to so many diet/health cookbooks I've read lately where I wonder if anyone really eats that stuff!!! Also full of helpful tips and hints.

I try to get cookbooks from my library before I 'waste' money or credits on it. This one has already gone on my WL ---willing to wait a long time for this one, it'll be a keeper!"


Big Book of 30-Minute Dinners
Big Book of 30-Minute Dinners
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 8/12/2008


"I love this cookbook! Full of truly edible meals the whole family will like that CAN be made in 30 minutes or less!"


The Biggest Loser: 6 Weeks to a Healthier You: Lose Weight and Get Healthy For Life!
Review Date: 9/15/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I only gave it 2 stars - because, for me, it wasn't real informative.

It is full of info on Cancer, Heart Disease, Diabetes and the like-- but its all beginner information. Each chapter also lists a handful of recipes and exercises along with stories from the Players."


Bing Crosby: A Pocketful of Dreams--The Early Years 1903-1940
Bing Crosby: A Pocketful of Dreams--The Early Years 1903-1940
Author: Gary Giddins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/13/2012


"Packed full of information about his family -generations before he was born-, his life and sometimes even history about those surrounding his life ..... BUT it read like a Textbook. Great if you need info on him, not so great if you just wanted an enjoyable biography."


1 to 20 of 234 - Page: