Bonnie M. (bibliogirl) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
The 100 Thing Challenge: How I Got Rid of Almost Everything, Remade My Life, and Regained My Soul
Review Date: 1/12/2011
Helpful Score: 7


I love where the author was going with the premise of this book, but feel slightly deceived by the title because he's married and did not account for their furniture, appliances, pots and pans, bowls, dishes, silverware, towels, bed linens, etc... I do have to say it would be very challenging to maintain a home and keep within a 100 thing limit. If you are interested in pursuing a more simplistic lifestyle, I highly recommend "The Joy Of Less" by Francine Jay.


Bastard Out of Carolina
Bastard Out of Carolina
Author: Dorothy Allison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 5/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Every once in a while a rare gem of a story will come along and renew my appreciation for the written word. This is definitely one to be treasured!


Biblioholism: The Literary Addiction
Biblioholism: The Literary Addiction
Author: Tom Raabe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/17/2010


If biblioholism is in fact a disease - I hope to never be cured!


Give It Up! : My Year of Learning to Live Better with Less
Give It Up! : My Year of Learning to Live Better with Less
Author: Mary Carlomagno
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Even though this book didn't get great reviews, I was still curious to read it and see if had anything to offer me on my journey towards a more simplistic lifestyle. This is really one woman's lighthearted, month by month attempt at "sacrificing" indulgences such as chocolate one month, coffee for another, a cell phone for yet another, etc, etc... While it didn't provide me with any deep or profound insight, it did plant a seed and get me wondering what sort of things I might be willing to give up for a month, a year, or perhaps even a lifetime.


The Joy of Less, A Minimalist Living Guide: How to Declutter, Organize, and Simplify Your Life
Review Date: 9/11/2010
Helpful Score: 7


Although this book is about decluttering and simplifying, the bigger focus is on what you choose to keep. Space is precious no matter the size of your living quarters, and this author helps you to realize that items really need to earn the right to stay in your home. An easy, inspiring read whether you are just getting started on the decluttering process, or if you have already begun and need continuing motivation. You can also check out her site www.missminimalist.com.


Lisey's Story
Lisey's Story
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 345
Review Date: 8/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


As a long time Stephen King fan I must say, when I first began reading this one I was disappointed. The "secret language" and the initial distraction of switching between the present and the past made it very difficult for me to fully grasp what was happening. There were times I felt like giving up, but I'm so glad I stuck with it. Approximately 1/4 of the way through as events begin to piece themselves together, the story becomes stronger and much more interesting. I eventually found myself engrossed, and like so many other King novels I've read, I was unable to put it down. At the core of this tale lies a beautiful love story definitely worth reading if you can manage to hang in there long enough to reap the rewards.


The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America
The Lost Continent: Travels in Small-Town America
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 6/16/2010


For quite some time I've been wanting to take a road trip across our great nation, but this book is about all I'm able to afford right now. The travelogue unfolds across thirty-eight states as the author weaves his way in and out of small towns across the back roads of America. Stopping at landmarks and visiting tourist attractions along the way from Des Moines, Iowa (where he was raised) to South Carolina, onward throughout New England, west to California and then "home" again - Bill Bryson's keen observation and hilarious depiction of people and places had this armchair traveler laughing out loud the entire journey! Like any good vacation, I was sad to see it end.


Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Love Does: Discover a Secretly Incredible Life in an Ordinary World
Author: Bob Goff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/21/2012


If only we could all learn to live and love like Bob Goff does...What a wonderful world this would be!


The Man Who Quit Money
The Man Who Quit Money
Author: Mark Sundeen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 4/24/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I think most anyone in pursuit of an authentic life will appreciate this book and admire Daniel for living his truth!


My Friend Leonard
My Friend Leonard
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 7/16/2010


Fact or fiction? Either way, Frey's a great storyteller and he had me captivated the whole way through with this one!


The Power
The Power
Author: Rhonda Byrne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved the concept of "The Secret", but was having difficulty applying it to my life. Upon reading "The Power" I have discovered it to be a very useful guide in helping me to practice the Law of Attraction. Focusing less on material things and more on the principles of Love and Gratitude, this book provides a far better understanding of how to invite joy and possibility into one's life.


Ravenous: A Food Lover's Journey from Obsession to Freedom
Ravenous: A Food Lover's Journey from Obsession to Freedom
Author: Dayna Macy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/25/2012


In a somewhat spiritual manner, the author seeks fulfillment and freedom from food. A recipe concludes each chapter in this enjoyable read!


Shelf Discovery: The Teen Classics We Never Stopped Reading
Shelf Discovery: The Teen Classics We Never Stopped Reading
Author: Lizzie Skurnick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/10/2010


This book brought to memory many of the authors I enjoyed throughout my childhood/teens (Laura Ingalls Wilder, Judy Blume, V.C. Andrews etc...) and introduced me to plenty of others I had somehow missed out on.


Simple Living: The Path to Joy and Freedom
Simple Living: The Path to Joy and Freedom
Author: Jose Hobday
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/19/2010


Native American and Franciscan sister Jose Hobday shares her insight on how to attain a life of freedom and happiness. Small in size, yet big with wisdom this book explains how to live a simple life. Parting with possessions is definitely a key step forward on your quest for a richer, more fulfilling existence.


The Ten Things to Do When Your Life Falls Apart: An Emotional and Spiritual Handbook
Review Date: 2/12/2011


Comforting words and sound advice - even if your life isn't falling apart.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4709
Review Date: 4/1/2011
Helpful Score: 1


When I view movies that are based on stories I have not yet read, I very seldom ever get around to reading the book. I'm so glad I jumped into this book before the release of the movie with the same title - I would have missed out on an endearing read. Sara Gruen drew me in right from the beginning with this one. Being an animal lover, I did find it somewhat difficult to read through a few of the pages, but I was so invested in the outcome of the characters I had no choice but to keep going. This outstanding novel is one of the best I've read in quite a while!


1 to 16 of 16