Val M. (jaglvr) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 127 - Page:
21 Proms
21 Proms
Author: Scholastic
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


there were 21 stories (duh! :)) and the stories were hit or miss. Some were really sweet, some sad, and some I just struggled through. I loved the sweet one at the end about the shoes and the Harley jacket the most I think.


The A-List (A-List, Bk 1)
The A-List (A-List, Bk 1)
Author: Zoey Dean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 4/13/2007


picked up at the library on a whim and it SUCKED ME IN! I have since read all the books and find them very addicting. hard to believe this stuff is aimed at teens though!


After
After
Author: Francine Prose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/30/2005
Helpful Score: 1


scary how something so trivial can start to change everything....one small thing at a time. If anyone remembers "THE WAVE" from the after school specials, this has the same scary feel to it.


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 12/14/2007


Ok, I have to say that I went into this with a "whatever" attitude. I'd never read anything by Jennifer Cruise, and the only reason I even HAD the audiobook is because it came along with FOURTH COMINGS which is the one I had ordered. That being said...

I LOVED this one! At first, it was a bit slow as all the characters came into the picture, but after the first 1/2 hour of the 1st CD, I was hooked.

You could anticipate what was going to happen, so it didn't take rocket science to follow along. But the mishaps that befall Agnes, you feel so sorry for her and pray that everything comes together by Saturday's wedding.

I don't want to give away the pieces, so you'll just have to read or listen yourselves, but it was highly amusing, and will keep you giggling at all the bizarre characters that come together under Agnes' roof and drawn to her cooking. :)


Agnes and the Hitman (MP3 Audio)
Agnes and the Hitman (MP3 Audio)
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: MP3 CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/14/2007


Ok, I have to say that I went into this with a "whatever" attitude. I'd never read anything by Jennifer Cruise, and the only reason I even HAD the audiobook is because it came along with FOURTH COMINGS which is the one I had ordered. That being said...

I LOVED this one! At first, it was a bit slow as all the characters came into the picture, but after the first 1/2 hour of the 1st CD, I was hooked.

You could anticipate what was going to happen, so it didn't take rocket science to follow along. But the mishaps that befall Agnes, you feel so sorry for her and pray that everything comes together by Saturday's wedding.

I don't want to give away the pieces, so you'll just have to read or listen yourselves, but it was highly amusing, and will keep you giggling at all the bizarre characters that come together under Agnes' roof and drawn to her cooking. :)


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Ok, I have to say that I went into this with a "whatever" attitude. I'd never read anything by Jennifer Cruise, and the only reason I even HAD the audiobook is because it came along with FOURTH COMINGS which is the one I had ordered. That being said...

I LOVED this one! At first, it was a bit slow as all the characters came into the picture, but after the first 1/2 hour of the 1st CD, I was hooked.

You could anticipate what was going to happen, so it didn't take rocket science to follow along. But the mishaps that befall Agnes, you feel so sorry for her and pray that everything comes together by Saturday's wedding.

I don't want to give away the pieces, so you'll just have to read or listen yourselves, but it was highly amusing, and will keep you giggling at all the bizarre characters that come together under Agnes' roof and drawn to her cooking. :)


The Air We Breathe
The Air We Breathe
Author: Andrea Barrett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/14/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This isn't my typical type of book at all. But I work with a facility that once used to be a TB retreat in PA so the summary caught my attention.

I listened to this as a book on CD, again, because it wasn't my normal type of story to choose.

I was fascinated with the story though, and enjoyed it more than I expected to. However, my only complaint is that the ending was a bit disappointing. There was no clear conclusions made by the end and it was sort of left hanging. None of the characters seemed to have a clear cut ending written.

Leo was a very endearing character and you get pulled into his story and the troubles that follow him and the unfairness of the way things were back then.


All You've Got
All You've Got
Author: Karol Ann Hoeffner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/10/2007


book was OK...I really enjoyed Surf Ed much more. Had a hard time getting into this at first because it was hard to keep track of which team was which and it was written rather choppily.


Alphabetical Hook-Up List A-J
Alphabetical Hook-Up List A-J
Author: Phoebe McPhee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/26/2006


book was ok. i love the mtv books, so had higher expectations on this one. the characters weren't believable.


Alphabetical Hook-Up List K-Q
Alphabetical Hook-Up List K-Q
Author: Pheobe McPhee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/26/2006


better than i expected it to b


Alphabetical Hook-Up List R-Z
Alphabetical Hook-Up List R-Z
Author: Phoebe McPhee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/27/2006


nice end to the series...


Angel's Choice
Angel's Choice
Author: Lauren Baratz-Logsted
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/1/2007


I read this in one sitting. Thought it was very insightful and was a nice change seeing a girl stand up against everyone telling her one thing and her choosing the right thing.


Angels (Walsh Family, Bk 3)
Angels (Walsh Family, Bk 3)
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 2/19/2006


another sister...if you liked watermelon or rachel's holiday, a must read!


Angels Watching Over Me (Angels Trilogy, Bk 1)
Angels Watching Over Me (Angels Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Lurlene Mcdaniel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 2/19/2006


not for the faint of heart, but another wonderful novel by lurlene


The Ashleys (Ashleys, Bk 1)
The Ashleys (Ashleys, Bk 1)
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


have to say wasn't overly impressed with this one. i got ahold of an ARC and read it pretty much in one sitting. sort of a 7th grade version of THE HEATHERS. Though I have a hard time believing kids act this way in 7th grade. THen again, it's been 20+ years for me and no where near the rich status of the girls in the book. If you like the Clique, you'll probably love this one...


Asking for Trouble
Asking for Trouble
Author: Elizabeth Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 1/22/2006
Helpful Score: 2


OMG, this book was HYSTERICAL! I read it long before anyone heard of Wedding Date and as soon as I saw the trailer, I knew it was based on this book. I read it a 2nd time before seeing the movie and was sucked in just as easily the 2nd time around. One of the best chick lits out there, and Liz should get her due along with Green and Kinsella, et al!


Beautiful Disaster (Fast Girls, Hot Boys, Bk 3)
Beautiful Disaster (Fast Girls, Hot Boys, Bk 3)
Author: Kylie Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/13/2007


was not really into this series. not very believable to me. if you want something similiar, the INSIDERS by J. MINITER is far better. i struggled through this one just to be complete with the series


Beautiful Stranger (A-List #9)
Beautiful Stranger (A-List #9)
Author: Zoey Dean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/22/2007


i really had a hard time getting into this one. I love the series, but normally i can devour one of these books in 2 days tops. this took almost 2 months! I was able to sit and read the last 100 pages in one sitting last night, but the rest of the book was just a bit of a drag...


Bellman & Black (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Bellman & Black (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Diane Setterfield, Jack Davenport (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/5/2013


i really wanted to like this, i did, as i LOVED the 13th Tale. But the story just never went anywhere... I kept waiting for something more to happen, but it never did and i never really connected with bellman. oh well...


The Bermudez Triangle
The Bermudez Triangle
Author: Maureen Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 3/19/2007


i have enjoyed everything i've read by Johnson, and this is no exception. very quick interesting read


1 to 20 of 127 - Page: