Avanda P. - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
According to Queeney
According to Queeney
Author: Beryl Bainbridge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/11/2012


Loved this book! Fun to get this "personal" view of the famous characters, and the fictional character of Queenie was a brilliant creation. A Bainbridge triumph.


As Meat Loves Salt
As Meat Loves Salt
Author: Maria McCann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 8/16/2014


Seemed to be a true representation of life during the period, as much as is known. Good characterizations and dialogue, skilled writing, and well worth the read.


Assassin's Apprentice (Farseer, Bk 1)
Assassin's Apprentice (Farseer, Bk 1)
Author: Robin Hobb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 2/27/2014


Enjoyed reading this series of three volumes and rate highly. Characters and premise are believable and well developed. If I have a reservation it would be in the second book where the plot seemed to get stuck just a bit; the main character was experiencing confusion, and the movement of the story seemed to experience it too! Otherwise excellent, with a bang-up ending.


Assassin's Quest (Farseer, Bk 3)
Assassin's Quest (Farseer, Bk 3)
Author: Robin Hobb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 316
Review Date: 2/27/2014


Enjoyed reading this series of three volumes and rate highly. Characters and premise are believable and well developed. If I have a reservation it would be in the second book where the plot seemed to get stuck just a bit; the main character was experiencing confusion, and the movement of the story seemed to experience it too! Otherwise excellent, with a bang-up ending.


Checkmate
Checkmate
Author: Dorothy Dunnett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/5/2012


This last in the series The Lymond Chronicles is as marvelous as its five predecessors. Dunnett created an historical tapestry of an extravagant era: great excitement, political intrigues, romance, danger, sense of place, and humor. Characters are convincing and highly developed, and the interweaving of plot with historical fact is seamless. Best historical fiction of our age.


Fool's Errand (Tawny Man, Bk 1)
Fool's Errand (Tawny Man, Bk 1)
Author: Robin Hobb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 4/3/2014


Loved this series! This highly skilled writer makes the fantasy so well aligned with the reality that it is sometimes difficult to remember where the line is to be drawn. Highly recommended for readers who, like me, love both history and fantasy.


The Green Knight
The Green Knight
Author: Iris Murdoch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/24/2012


Although Iris Murdoch is an impeccable novelist, I was not fond of the psychological drama in this book. Much of the story-line took place in various characters' psyches. It was just not my particular cup of tea, but others may like it exceedingly. I have admired other of her novels very much.


Jane Austen: A Life
Jane Austen: A Life
Author: David Nokes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/1/2014


A piece of pure enjoyment for Jane Austen's fans. As good a read as one of her novels!


Maisie Dobbs (Maisie Dobbs, Bk 1)
Maisie Dobbs (Maisie Dobbs, Bk 1)
Author: Jacqueline Winspear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 345
Review Date: 2/12/2015


This is a really good read, especially for those interested as I am in the experience of people in Britain during World War I. Also a great lady detective story!


Major Pettigrew's Last Stand
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand
Author: Helen Simonson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 1/2/2012


A charming love story with well-developed characters and a believable community.


No Graves As Yet (World War I, Bk 1)
No Graves As Yet (World War I, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/11/2015


This is an accomplished author, always pleasing to read. World War I is a topic of interest to me. This book deals with a mystery on the home front coincident with the beginning of the war -- somewhat plausible. Engaging characters.


Possession
Possession
Author: A. S. Byatt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 6/25/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book! Byatt is a sophisticated, quirky, humorous, inventive and just downright interesting writer. I am now her avid fan, and find the range of topics she delves into impressive. Her research is impeccable, and her prose is so good that it seems inevitable. Highly recommended for readers who love depth in order to be engaged.


Quiet as a Nun (Jemima Shore, Bk 1)
Quiet as a Nun (Jemima Shore, Bk 1)
Author: Antonia Fraser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/16/2014


Very good mystery read.


Royal Assassin (Farseer Trilogy, Bk 2)
Royal Assassin (Farseer Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Robin Hobb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 2/27/2014


Enjoyed reading this series of three volumes and rate highly. Characters and premise are believable and well developed. If I have a reservation it would be in the second book where the plot seemed to get stuck just a bit; the main character was experiencing confusion, and the movement of the story seemed to experience it too! Otherwise excellent, with a bang-up ending.


1 to 14 of 14