Paula B. (jmgrammy) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Ashes to Ashes
Ashes to Ashes
Author: Lyn Riddle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/10/2011


Lyn Riddle told an excellent story, it held my interest until the last page


The Autobiography of Saint Therese of Lisieux: The Story of a Soul
Review Date: 11/18/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I have a copy of this book and I read it anew at least once a year. There is always something new that I find in the book, you will love reading about this little saint and her little way and will fall in love with St Therese.


The Cases That Haunt Us
The Cases That Haunt Us
Author: Mark Olshaker, John Douglas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 8/24/2009


I enjoyed this book. It reviews old unsolved cases and the ex-FBI profiler John Douglas explains what things would be available to investigators today and his view on the real killer.


Control Diabetes in Six Easy Steps (Lynn Sonberg Books)
Review Date: 8/27/2011


Not much new in but easy to read and understand for someone just beginning their Diabetes control program


Cruel Deception
Cruel Deception
Author: Gregg Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 6/12/2011


I enjoyed this book from the first page to the last. Very well written, not drawn out or filled with a lot of useless history.


The Evil That Men Do: FBI Profiler Roy Hazelwood's Journey into the Minds of Sexual Predators
Review Date: 11/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Shocking stores but if you like shows like Criminal Minds you will enjoy this book.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3374
Review Date: 3/9/2012


This book was tantalizing from the first page - I hated to put it down at night. How these children even lived through their childhood is amazing, when you consider what pains we take for our children to have clean hands at the supper table.


The Hot House: Life Inside Leavenworth Prison
The Hot House: Life Inside Leavenworth Prison
Author: Pete Earley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/5/2009


Anyone who is interested in the criminal mind and/or what our top security prison are like will be interested in this book. I would have like the author to go in a little more detail about some of the cases but overhaul it is well written and will certainly keep your interest.


House of Secrets:  A True Story of Family Murder and Madness
House of Secrets: A True Story of Family Murder and Madness
Author: Lowell Cauffiel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 10/8/2009


This book kept me spellbound. It is hard to believe that this horror could go on in one house with this many members before one of them had the courage to tell. The end of the book gives stats for incest in the American family and it is staggering.


The Many Faces of Mary A Love Story by Bob and Penny Lord
The Many Faces of Mary A Love Story by Bob and Penny Lord
Author: Bob Lord
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/21/2009


Any one that likes to read about the documented visits of the Virgin Mary, Mother of God, will enjoy this book.


A Mother's Plea: Lifting the Veil in Sanctuary
A Mother's Plea: Lifting the Veil in Sanctuary
Author: Fr. Anthony Bus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/21/2009


I enjoyed this book very much. It is the story of Father Anthony Bus and his call to consecrate his life to Jesus through the Blessed Mother following the direction of St Louis De Montfort and the story of his parish St Stanislaus Kostka in Chicago. Every Christian will find something in this book to apply to their lives and come away with a deeper understanding of what it means to trust God for our daily direction.


Roses Fall Where Rivers Meet
Roses Fall Where Rivers Meet
Author: Albert Dolan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/26/2009


If you are a follower of ST Threse, then you will enjoy this book


Sex Sadists: From the Files of a True Detective
Sex Sadists: From the Files of a True Detective
Author: David Jacobs (Editor)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/2/2010


Interesting read; a group of sick individuals, tells us the story of how low men can go with their twisted obsessions.


The Spiritual Doctrine of Saint Catherine of Genoa
The Spiritual Doctrine of Saint Catherine of Genoa
Author: Don Cattaneo Marabotto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/21/2009


The story of Saint Catherine of Genoa is very interesting and a saint not well known to most of us.


Teacher Man: A Memoir
Teacher Man: A Memoir
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 1/7/2010


This is the 3rd of Frank McCourt's life story. The first was "Tis", which was a remarkable book. I enjoyed this one as much as the first.


Ultimate Judgment : A Story of Emotional Corruption, Obsession and Betrayal
Review Date: 8/8/2010


I thought this was an exceptional story that was well written. I would recommend it.


Up and Running : The Inspiring True Story of a Boy's Struggle to Survive and Triumph
Review Date: 8/8/2010


You will cry for this little boy & his family; but finally God's plan comes together and shows what remarkable courage can accomplish.


1 to 17 of 17