Cathy W. (Firefly) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
Author: Angie Fox
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 12/2/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I really was not impressed with this book. The characters never developed. The story seemed contrived. It *could* have been good. It *sounded* like a good, fun, lighthearted read. Oh well. At least it didn't take long to read!


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 886
Review Date: 1/18/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This book was hard to get into. The author uses so much description that the plot gets lost at first. It does pick up as the book moves along, but it is still very, very descriptive. In the end, I can see why he wrote the way he did, but that doesn't mean the book improves in my estimation. It is a good story - very emotional once it gets going, with a plot twist or two that really do add depth. I'm glad I read it, but I can't say I recommend it.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 868
Review Date: 1/19/2006


I loved this book....until the ending and the epilogue. I could have handled the ending (not all books have to end happy), but the epilogue was a bit too much to swallow.


Blonde Like Me : The Roots of the Blonde Myth in Our Culture
Blonde Like Me : The Roots of the Blonde Myth in Our Culture
Author: Natalia Ilyin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/29/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Tried to read this one and just couldn't get into it. I gave it a few chapters, but just not my cup 'o tea, I guess. It seemed very superficial and just had no point, IMHO.


The Bonesetter's Daughter
The Bonesetter's Daughter
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 433
Review Date: 1/19/2006


I enjoyed the writing style, but the story just didn't do it for me. I couldn't bring myself to care about any of the characters! Section 2 was the best.


Breakup (Kate Shugak, Bk 7)
Breakup (Kate Shugak, Bk 7)
Author: Dana Stabenow
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 1/9/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is my first read of this author and I wasn't impressed. It was supposed to be a mystery, but it wasn't much of one. She tried to throw in a little romance, but it was forced, and the main romantic interest barely made it into the plot. The multitude of ridiculous occurrences was amusing, but the plot was hollow and I never came to care about any of the characters.


Brief Encounters (Harlequin Blaze, No 101)
Brief Encounters (Harlequin Blaze, No 101)
Author: Suzanne Forster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/3/2007


Delightfully quick brain candy. Fun characters and a totally silly premise. Gives whole new meaning to the term 'briefing'...


Brokeback Mountain
Brokeback Mountain
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


What a fantastic story. I saw the movie first, and then had to read the story. The movie was actually very true to the story. I was impressed with Proulx' use of language and description, and how such a short story could leave you feeling like you knew a huge piece of these men's life.


Broken
Broken
Author: Megan Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 2/19/2008
Helpful Score: 12


I picked up this book, thinking it would be a good trashy erotica story - just what I was in the mood for. Well, I got more than I bargained for. Yes, there were the requisite sex scenes, but there was a whole lot more. The story is actually quite deep and thought provoking. It engages your emotions and makes you feel - happy, angry, bittersweet, sated - throughout. Sometimes the author seemed to stumble a bit finding the right words to express a feeling, but that only made the book more endearing. I found myself wondering what I would do if my husband became disabled...how my house and my life would change. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys both erotica and an engaging story.


By the Book (Harlequin Blaze, No 85)
By the Book (Harlequin Blaze, No 85)
Author: Nancy Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 12/3/2007


A totally silly little book that doesn't take itself too seriously and was a lot of fun to read! A few steamy scenes keep it in the Blaze category. I'll be looking up this author to see if her others are as enjoyable.


Cold Mountain
Cold Mountain
Author: Charles Frazier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 256
Review Date: 9/8/2006


This is one of the few books that I've started that I just couldn't get through. It gave me nightmares. The writing style wasn't easy to me...it seemed as if the author was being crude for the sake of being crude. Now, I know things in the setting of the story were difficult and were crude, but I thought the story could have been written better. Crudeness can be used to emphasize, rather than in everything just for the heck of it!


The Commitment Chronicles: How You Can Stay Happily Married
The Commitment Chronicles: How You Can Stay Happily Married
Author: Cheryl McClary
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was not nearly as good as I expected. I have a wonderful relationship with my husband and thought this book would give us tips on continuing that. Not so. It is more for women who have married apes. Without being too harsh, I think it may be somewhat useful for someone who is having communication troubles and is at the end of her rope. But not for someone just looking to enhance the relationship.


Crow Lake
Crow Lake
Author: Mary Lawson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 2/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I think this book is a bit overrated. I felt impatient through the first parts of the book, as the foreshadowing was heavy. Then the "event" was revealed and the book was over. A quick read. I think the writing was good and that this author has promise, though!


Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop, Bk 1)
Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 11/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A cute little mystery. The first chapters were overly full of descriptions and dragged on, but eventually she got the story going. Nothing too deep here, but a fun read. I plan to read the next in the series.


Death by Rhubarb (Heaven Lee, Bk 1)
Death by Rhubarb (Heaven Lee, Bk 1)
Author: Lou Jane Temple
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I picked up this book because the title made me laugh - I love rhubarb! The book isn't very deep or spectacular. But is was a quick read that amused me!


Discretion
Discretion
Author: Elizabeth Nunez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/24/2006


The writing in this book was good, but I found I could not respect the main character. And that made it hard to get through the story.


Dreamhouse
Dreamhouse
Author: Alison Habens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/14/2007


I tried a couple times to get into this book, and I just couldn't. I didn't care for the main character from the get-go and it didn't get any better after a few chapters. Just not my cuppa tea, I guess!


Dunk
Dunk
Author: David Lubar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting book. It took me a chapter or two to get into it, but then I pretty much flew through the rest. A look at the world from a teenage boy's point of view, during the summer, when his mom has forbidden him to get a job.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 8/4/2010


This book was not as good as I wanted it to be. From the beginning, it bothered me that she already had the book deal before she went on the trip. Somehow, that cheapened the experiences. There were moments when I laughed out loud, but most of the time the writing was unexceptional. A lot of the time I felt that the author had a heightened sense of self-importance. This is not a book I will recommend for anyone to read.


The Fourth Hand
The Fourth Hand
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 6/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is NOT one of Irving's better novels. I have read many and have enjoyed them all, until this one. The premiss was intriguing, but the execution is just not up to his usual greatness. If you'd like to read Irving, don't start with this one! And if you like Irving, you probably don't want to take time to read this one either.


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: