Michael D. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Black Hawk Down: A Story of Modern War
Black Hawk Down: A Story of Modern War
Author: Mark Bowden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 3/14/2007


Very quick read. I was amazed at what happened and how brave these guys were. 10 times better than the movie, and I really liked the movie!


captain blood
captain blood
Author: rafeal sabatini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/18/2006


Written in the 1920s


Captain Blood
Captain Blood
Author: Rafael Sabatini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/3/2006


An old paperback published in the 1960's. I've had this book for over 20 years and just re-read it within the last 6-7 months. You can tell it was written a long time ago by the language (originaly published in 1922) but it is a great story about pirates and what made this pirate the way he is, just a fun book if you like a good adventure.


The Dilbert Future: Thriving on Stupidity in the 21st Century
The Dilbert Future: Thriving on Stupidity in the 21st Century
Author: Scott Adams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 7/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book sat on my shelf for years before I picked it up, but I finally read it and it was as funny as "The Dilbert Principle." The ending got a little serious, which I didn't expect, but it was a very good, entertaining book.


The Dilbert Principle: A Cubicle's-Eye View of Bosses, Meetings, Management Fads  Other Workplace Afflictions
Review Date: 7/7/2006


It's been years since I've read "The Dilbert Principle" but I remember how funny it is. Scott Adams says, at one point in the book, that he tries to come up with the most outlandish ideas and stories when he writes Dilbert and people tell them that those situations have actually happened! If you have ever worked in the corporate world, you'll recognize a lot of these funny stories, and you'll laugh out loud.


Killing Pablo: The Hunt for the World's Greatest Outlaw
Killing Pablo: The Hunt for the World's Greatest Outlaw
Author: Mark Bowden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 3/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Found it amazing that all of this was going on during this time. All I could think of was episodes of Miami Vice when I was reading this, it's hard to believe these things really happened. Not as much about US Special Forces as I was looking for, but it was a good book.


My American Journey
My American Journey
Author: Joseph Persico, Colin L. Powell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 7/9/2006
Helpful Score: 2


A very interesting life story of a man who rose to the top of the US Army and worked with several presidents. Colin Powell was and is an inspiration in all that he has done during his lifetime. We need a lot more people like him in this world.


Persecution: How Liberals Are Waging War Against Christianity
Persecution: How Liberals Are Waging War Against Christianity
Author: David Limbaugh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/14/2006


Started off as a great example of ways Christians are being persecuted in the US these days. A lot of examples of lawsuits that you almost can't believe! It will make you angry at the nonsense people will try to pass off as "seperation of church and state". The last few chapters are a little too much of a history lesson for my taste, but overall a good book.


Resumes for Dummies
Resumes for Dummies
Author: Joyce Lain Kennedy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/14/2007


Helpful, gave some good advice.


Star Trek Memories
Star Trek Memories
Author: William Shatner, Chris Kreski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great for any Star Trek fan and of course, William Shatner is the good guy. Allthough, to be fair, he does take a little blame for some of what people have criticized him for. The book is funny at times and interesting to see how TV shows work behind the scenes.


To the Stars: The Autobiography of George Takei, Star Trek's Mr. Sulu
To the Stars: The Autobiography of George Takei, Star Trek's Mr. Sulu
Author: George Takei
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/3/2006


A lot better than I thought it would be, to be honest. Being a Star Trek fan, I bought the book just because it was on sale. I finally read it earlier this year and really enjoyed it. George Takei spent some of his childhood years in Japanese internment camps during WWII, which I didn't know. George is a very interesting man, and it's quite amusing reading his William Shatner stories.


Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (Splinter Cell, Bk 1)
Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (Splinter Cell, Bk 1)
Author: David Michaels, Tom Clancy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 7/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A fun action,spy thriller similar to Op-Center without all of the political stuff to go with it. This is just a fun, kill the bad guys kind of book.


Why We Fight: Moral Clarity and the War on Terrorism
Why We Fight: Moral Clarity and the War on Terrorism
Author: William J. Bennett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/23/2007


This book was written shortly after 9-11 and looks at some of the reasons we are fighting the war on terror, but it also looks at some of the reasons some people say we shouldn't get involved. Really talks about the attitude a majority of college professors and the "blame America" first crowd feels about the war on terror. This book was interesting, but it was almost above my head. It was probably meant for someone a little higher on the political food chain.


1 to 13 of 13