Margaret S. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
1776
1776
Author: David McCullough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/3/2010


Excellent so was the movie


Bait and Switch : The (Futile) Pursuit of the American Dream
Bait and Switch : The (Futile) Pursuit of the American Dream
Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/3/2010


This one wasn't as good as nickel and dimed, but great book for a quick college writing assignment.


Body Surfing
Body Surfing
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 9/6/2010


Good characters. Another good book about real characters that struggle with things, make mistakes and move forward.


The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millenium, Bk 2)
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millenium, Bk 2)
Author: Reg Keeland (Translator), Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 818
Review Date: 9/3/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Faster moving than the first book. Great story line, the only problem I had was keeping all the names straight - many sound very similar and are unusual to me. Not crazy about all the unnecessary sexual stuff, but if you can read past that it's quite a story.


I Thought My Father Was God (Thorndike Press Large Print Nonfiction Series)
Review Date: 9/3/2010


good stories nice if you're looking for something you can easily put down and pick up later.


The Jane Austen Book Club
The Jane Austen Book Club
Author: Karen Joy Fowler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/6/2010


Love loved loved this, much more than I expected. Want to read more of Karen Joy Fowler's stuff now.


The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid
The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 9/6/2010


Not my cup of tea, but my husband really enjoyed this one. Great for a grown up man to relive his childhood imagination.


Stalingrad: The Fateful Siege, 1942-1943
Stalingrad: The Fateful Siege, 1942-1943
Author: Antony Beevor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/6/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is a great read for a true history buff interested in what really happened during the World War II; particularly since this is shown both from the viewpoint of the Russians and the Nazi's.


The War Within: A Secret White House History 2006-2008 (Bush at War, Bk 4)
Review Date: 9/3/2010


nicely done. Lot of respect for Bob Woodward


A Wedding in December
A Wedding in December
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 363
Review Date: 9/6/2010


Almost as good as the Pilot's Wife, this is still a good read. As usual Anita Shreve's character's are quite human and not so perfect, in other words believable.


1 to 10 of 10