Judy (DimensionX) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 62 - Page:
Afraid
Afraid
Author: Jack Kilborn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 1/24/2013


This book started out great, lots of action from page 1 that never lets up. The problem is that half-way through the book, it became very predictable. The two main characters fall in love, and from that point on, you can tell who's going to be alive at the end of the book based on their relationship to these two characters. I'll stick with Ketchum - he's scary AND unpredictable.


Afraid of the Dark: The True Story of a Reckless Husband, his Stunning Wife, and the Murder that Shattered a Family
Review Date: 4/24/2011


I liked this book. This was not a clear-cut case...the verdict was considered controversial. That's what made the story so interesting - wondering if he really did do it. I'm not so sure he did!


America's Dumbest Criminals : Wild and Weird Stories of Fumbling Felons, Clumsy Crooks, and Ridiculous Robbers
Review Date: 2/3/2010


Proof that truth is dumber - and funnier - than fiction.


An Invisible Man : The Hunt for a Serial Killer Who Got Away With a Decade of Murder
Review Date: 7/28/2010


This was a good book. Derrick Todd Lee was a black serial killer who got away with years of murder because the task force was looking for a white man. There were some clues and some people who tried to point them in the direction of Lee, but no one would listen because Lee was not white. Blood Bath is also about Lee...both books are good and I would recommend both.


Animals and the Afterlife: True Stories of Our Best Friends' Journey Beyond Death
Review Date: 2/19/2017


If I had known this book was about reincarnation, I never would have ordered it.


Animals and the Afterlife: True Stories of Our Best Friends' Journey Beyond Death
Review Date: 2/19/2017


If I had known this book was about reincarnation, I never would have ordered it.


Beast House (Beast House Chronicles, Bk 2)
Beast House (Beast House Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 4/22/2013


After reading The Cellar, this book was a disappointment. It starts out just like The Cellar, with two women traveling together being harassed by a lone male driver. After that, the rest of the book is spent laying the foundation for getting all of the main characters into the Beast House. Unable to come up with a good premise, the author settles for a ludicrous one. And unlike The Cellar, this ending was pretty predictable.


Blood and Revenge
Blood and Revenge
Author: Michael Dorman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/2/2013


This was a very good book. The author tells the story in a way that makes you understand, and feel empathy for, all the people involved. But he doesn't veer off into unrelated side stories or unimportant details - he sticks to the story at hand, which makes the story flow smoothly. Basically, the book is about a teen whose drunk driving causes the death of his female passenger, and the girl's brother goes after revenge. I felt so sorry for the brother; I was hoping for a different verdict than the one the jury rendered.


Blood Bath
Blood Bath
Author: Susan D. Mustafa, Tony Clayton, Sue Israel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/28/2010


This was a good book. Derrick Todd Lee was a black serial killer who got away with years of murder because the task force was looking for a white man. There were some clues and some people who tried to point them in the direction of Lee, but no one would listen because Lee was not white. An Invisible Man is also about Lee...both books are good and I would recommend both.


Blood Betrayal
Blood Betrayal
Author: Sheila Johnson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/17/2011


I liked this book a lot. I like this author's style of writing - there was not a real long trial section, which I tend to dislike (page after page of every question posed to every witness, like it was taken verbatim from the trial transcript.)

Randy Headrick left one of the worst crime scenes DeKalb County, Alabama cops had ever seen. They found his wife with a Bowie knife still stuck in her throat and an Indian spear still embedded in her body, plus three bullets to the head. He also killed his mother-in-law, then tried to pin the crime on his own brother. To call Randy Headrick a monster would be an insult - to monsters.


Blood Evidence
Blood Evidence
Author: Craig A. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/4/2014


Classic story of the cheating husband who kills his wife, with a twist - half the community thinks he's innocent. The author never states his opinion, but I got the impression that he also thinks Dr. Graham is innocent. (I don't - I think he beat his wife to death with a sledgehammer, then gave himself an insignificant wound and claimed he was attacked. Funny how these "medical types" always think one strategically placed, shallow stab wound will be enough to divert suspicion.) The trial testimony drags on, but it was easy to skim with no loss of content. I would recommend this book!


Bully: A True Story of High School Revenge
Bully: A True Story of High School Revenge
Author: Jim Schutze
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 12/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a very good book. I was surprised by this story. I usually do not feel any sympathy for the "bullies" or evil people who get killed by good people who have finally had enough (such as the "victims" in A Father's Rage or In Broad Daylight.) True, Bobby was a real jerk, but the kids who killed him were basically jerks, too. I did feel bad for Bobby when I read how he was killed.


Careless Whispers (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Careless Whispers (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Carlton Stowers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/27/2009


I read a lot of true crime, and this is one of the best books I've ever read. This is about the Lake Waco murders of three teenagers. I recommend it to anyone who likes true crime. Carlton Stowers is a great author, and this may be his very best work.


castaways
castaways
Author: brian keene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/12/2018


I loved this book! If you liked Jack Ketcham's "Off Season" or Richard Laymon's "Beast House", you will love Castaways!


The Cellar (Beast House Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Cellar (Beast House Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 4/22/2013


I really enjoyed this book. Very suspenseful, with a totally unpredictable ending.


The Christmas Murders
The Christmas Murders
Author: Jonathan Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/13/2011


This book is actually a collection of ten T/C murders, by various authors, that all occurred around Christmastime. None of the stories are about recent or well-known murders. Nonetheless, the cases covered here were of a wide variety, and very interesting.


Cries in the Desert (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Cries in the Desert (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: John Glatt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 9/11/2009


Very good book. This guy thought of so many different ways to torture women. One of the most sadistic of the serial killers.


Darker Passions
Darker Passions
Author: Ed Bryant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/7/2016


This was a very good book which I thoroughly enjoyed. There are three short horror stories by Ed Bryant; specifically, psychological terror. (That's what I would call it, anyway.) The third story, Human Remains, was my favorite. It is about a group of women who gets together to discuss how they are coping (or not) with the fact that they have all survived an encounter with a serial killer. Very original story - I've never read anything like it.


The Dartmouth Murders (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
The Dartmouth Murders (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Eric Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/19/2010


I didn't like this book. It was very, very repetitive. Page after page, re-hashing the same things, over and over again. The only reason I kept reading it was to find out how the crime actually went down...which is not revealed until the last TWO PAGES of the book! Poorly written to the point of being annoying.


Dead & Gone: Classic Crimes of North Carolina
Dead & Gone: Classic Crimes of North Carolina
Author: Manly Wade Wellman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/8/2015


This was a good book. There were quite a variety of murders; some for love, some for vengeance, some for gain. Some men, some women; some convicted, some acquitted. All were very interesting. Includes the story of Tom Dula (of whom the song, "Hang Down Your Head, Tom Dooley," was written.)


1 to 20 of 62 - Page: