Michelle V. (MickeyVilla) - , - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
1421 : The Year China Discovered America
1421 : The Year China Discovered America
Author: Gavin Menzies
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/12/2009


I have to say that this book is over the top. There is no profound evidence to support his claims! As someone who has worked in coastal California and is researching the Pacific coast of Mesoamerica, I have never encountered such research. Sure, he claims that there are similarities and there are, but to then claim that China came to the Americas and taught the Indigenous seems preposterous if not a downright colonialist mentality. Don't bother.


Give It Up! : My Year of Learning to Live Better with Less
Give It Up! : My Year of Learning to Live Better with Less
Author: Mary Carlomagno
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 5/3/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I'd have to agree with the most of the reviewers. This book is simplicity for shopaholics and people who read cosmo on a regular basis. I'm glad I got it at the library.


Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide
Review Date: 5/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I think if I wasn't educated about the empowerment of education of women I would like the book. However, chapter 12 and the support of sweatshops as a tool for empowering women bothers me. Clearly the authors don't realize that sweatshops come in make money and then leave.

With that said, the book is good if you don't know anything about what is going on in the world concerning women. If you do know about the inequalities facing women around the world then don't bother.


Incidents of Travel in Central America, Chiapas, and Yucatan, Vol. 1 (Incidents of Travel in Central America, Chiapas  Yucatan)
Review Date: 9/1/2009


This book is a double edged sword. The description of the landscape and the drawings of the archaeology is amazing. What irritates me is the attitude Stephens has towards the people. Sure that was the attitude back then but if you can get past that, then the book is fairly interesting.


Its All In The Frijoles: 100 Famous Latinos Share Real Life Stories Time Tested Dichos, Favorite Folktales, and Inspiring Words of Wisdom
Review Date: 9/7/2009


The dichos were my favorite part, but stories were too short for me. Overall its a great book.


Lonely Planet Los Angeles & Southern California (Lonely Planet Los Angeles & Southern California)
Review Date: 7/3/2009


As a fan of Lonely Plant books, this one is no exception. Its great for those who are tourists as well as locals who want to be tourists in their own city.


Still Love in Strange Places
Still Love in Strange Places
Author: Beth Kephart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


There is certainly some anger, if not hostility towards the Spanish language which is displayed in this book. I can clearly see that Kephart has a frustration towards her husband's language, but it also turns out to be a bit of hostility to her husband's culture. His Spanish vs. Her English. She uses the term exotic in a way that makes you wonder about her own perspective, even when she speaks of her own son, "There was something foreign about Jeremy from the start". There is something about her that doesn't embrace her husband's culture, as a Salvadorian, I can tell you that the best thing she could have done was embrace his culture and learn to not look at the people as exotic or different. By the end of the book I was angry. I'm still angry at the presentation of the Salvadorian people


Webster's Traveler's Phrase Book
Webster's Traveler's Phrase Book
Author: Webster's
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/4/2010


Although the description is inadequate, this is a english-french translation book.


1 to 8 of 8