Denise A. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Before Green Gables
Before Green Gables
Author: Budge Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/26/2014
Helpful Score: 1


i really loved this book. as a HUGE fan of Anne of Green Gables, i was impressed that the author stuck close to the details given in the original books by LM Montgomery when writing this book so it seemed like it really could have been the first part of Anne's life.


Dear Juno (Picture Puffins)
Dear Juno (Picture Puffins)
Author: Soyung Pak, Soyung Pak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/21/2009


A very cute book for kids who have grandparents that cannot communicate with them in English and who live in Korea. My children (4 and 2) enjoyed this book and were inspired to also draw pictures to send to their grandmother in Korea as well. Cute way of dealing with a language barrier before children can read and write in any language even if one teaches their children bilingually in two languages.


Free Food for Millionaires
Free Food for Millionaires
Author: Min Jin Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 7/11/2009


Great book about the struggle second generation/1.5 generation Korean Americans go through dealing with the traditional Korean culture their immigrant parents want and expect of them while at the same time dealing with American cultural norms as well. Loved the book!


Interracial Intimacies : Sex, Marriage, Identity, and Adoption
Review Date: 6/17/2016


i really enjoyed this as someone who is an interracial relationship and has adopted children. Several court cases were mentioned in the book that i was unaware of even though both topics are a topic i read about on a regular basis.


Korean Cookbook
Korean Cookbook
Author: Judy Hyun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/4/2008


Good book for beginners interested in cooking Korean food.


The Life of L. M. Montgomery the creator of the world of Anne of Green Gables
Review Date: 12/22/2009


If you are an L.M. Montgomery fan and have read all of her books (20+), you will love this book. It shows how her personal life ties in with all the books and their content. I found it fascinating!


Song Lee and the Hamster Hunt (Song Lee, Bk 2)
Review Date: 8/28/2014


My daughter (Asian American) loved this book. She loved having a character in a book that looked like her and even shared the same last name. She asked me to find other books that had the Song Lee character in them.


Song Lee and the I Hate You Notes
Song Lee and the I Hate You Notes
Author: Suzy Kline, Frank Remkiewicz (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/28/2014


My daughter (Asian American) loved this book. She loved having a character in a book that looked like her and even shared the same last name. She asked me to find other books that had the Song Lee character in them.


Song Lee and the Leech Man (Song Lee, Bk 2)
Review Date: 8/28/2014


My daughter (Asian American) loved this book. She loved having a character in a book that looked like her and even shared the same last name. She asked me to find other books that had the Song Lee character in them.


Ten Thousand Sorrows: The Extraordinary Journey of a Korean War Orphan
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Considering that "honor killings" have never been a historical part of Korean history, i found some of the book difficult to believe as nonfiction book. In the past, Koreans have not exactly been thrilled with half-Korean children being born in Korea, but would they kill a family member over having and raising a half-Korean child? I really don't think so. More than likely, they would have pressured the mother into placing the child for adoption instead. So, take the rest of the book with a grain of salt.


1 to 10 of 10