Margaret Y. (frogslady) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
At Risk of Being a Fool
At Risk of Being a Fool
Author: Jeanette Cottrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/6/2017


This was a really quick read, and I enjoyed it a lot. This teacher is really an advocate for her students, and her caring seems to make a real difference for them. There is a murderer and the people killed all have a connection to students in a GED class for students with prior criminal activity. So the students are the first suspects. I thought I had it figured out and then I was misdirected, but in the end not that surprised by the killer, though I was guessing till the last few pages who the killer was! I really enjoyed the realistic interactions between teacher and students. I think I'll go see what else this author wrote.


Banana Split (Culinary Mystery, Bk 7)
Banana Split (Culinary Mystery, Bk 7)
Author: Josi S. Kilpack
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/6/2017


Like most of this series, it doesn't grab me so that I can't put the book down. On the other hand, I do pick it back up because I want to know what happens next. I appreciate this series as I find it more realistic than many. In this one, Sadie is experiencing some anxiety issues after all of the stressful encounters with murderers. This makes so much sense; I have always wondered why the mcs in other series seem to just take murders in stride! I will keep reading this series!


Between Sundays
Between Sundays
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 8/8/2014


Excellent book. I prefer series but this is a good standalone.


Cut the Clutter and Stow the Stuff: The Q. U. I. C. K. Way to Bring Lasting Order to Household Chaos
Review Date: 7/15/2015


I enjoyed reading this book because there were a lot of real-life examples of how people solved clutter problems. I liked the way it started with a quiz so you could see what type of clutterer you are, and then the rest of the book had some hints for everyone, and some hints for each type. There were also specific hints for specific rooms such as bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, etc. I did find some hints and ideas that I will try to use as I pare down the amount of stuff in my house. Its not a keep forever book because once you have learned the ideas there is no reason to reread it.


Cute Yummy Time: 70 Recipes for the Cutest Food You'll Ever Eat
Cute Yummy Time: 70 Recipes for the Cutest Food You'll Ever Eat
Author: La Carmina
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/3/2014


Really cute ideas, but too much work for everyday food.


Death by Sudoku (Sudoku, Bk 1)
Death by Sudoku (Sudoku, Bk 1)
Author: Kaye Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 1/31/2018


Liza Kelly is leading a double life; she is a PR specialist working with a company that promotes movie stars. But under another name she writes a Sudoku column in the newspaper. When her two worlds overlap, she has to solve the murder case, using her knowledge from both "lives." I enjoyed the Sudoku hints that were scattered throughout the book; I learned some things and I have been solving Sudoku puzzles for a long time.


Devil's Food Cake (Culinary Mystery, Bk 3)
Devil's Food Cake (Culinary Mystery, Bk 3)
Author: Josi S. Kilpack
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/11/2016


This book started a bit slowly, I guess to get the back story listed, but then it really took off and I could not put it down. I liked this one much more than the first two in the series, and they were good.


English as a Second Language
English as a Second Language
Author: Megan Crane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 9/29/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I was disappointed in this book. There was very little plot and the main character spent all her time either drinking or smoking. It was a quick read and there were some funny moments, but I never got lost in the story.


Free Inside and Out (Women of Faith)
Free Inside and Out (Women of Faith)
Author: Marilyn Meberg, Luci Swindoll
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/1/2018


This book is about how women can be free in the Christian faith. The writing was comfortable and with the two authors interacting in the writing, it did feel conversational. I didn't learn a lot, but I did enjoy the book. I appreciated the Biblical outlook, and I did find the stories to be good illustrations.


Friday's Child (Child, Bk 5)
Friday's Child (Child, Bk 5)
Author: Barbara Hazard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/15/2015


Cute regency romance. Well written.


Girl in Buckskin
Girl in Buckskin
Author: Dorothy Gilman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/1/2017


This wasn't as good as I was hoping! I love this author and enjoy most of her books, but this one was not as satisfying. It may just be that there was not as much humor as in most of her books. This is a story of a girl who is independent and sticks up for herself, and that is a good thing. I enjoyed reading about how Becky learned to be self - sufficient and to do things that she originally considered to be "women's work." This story also included some history of the interaction between colonists and Native Americans before the Revolutionary War. So there is a lot to like in this book. However, the pacing was uneven, so that parts dragged and parts seemed to go too fast without giving enough information, and the ending was very abrupt, when I would have liked to know what happened next.


The Hamster Revolution: How to Manage Your Email Before It Manages You
Review Date: 9/29/2015


I enjoyed this book and it met the need for which I picked it up. This book tells the story of a man whose email is so overwhelming that he becomes a hamster running in a wheel. He finds a "coach" and learns how to deal with his email. I found this book while looking for something to help me with my own overwhelming inbox. The tips are easy to implement and you can start small. I am already seeing results: I am keeping up with the email better and I am much more able to find specific email messages later. The book is easy to read and I enjoyed the story format with dialog about the issues of out-of-control email. I definitely recommend this book for anyone who wants to be more organized about email and other electronic documents.


Harshini (The Hythrun Chronicles: Demon Child Trilogy, Bk 3)
Harshini (The Hythrun Chronicles: Demon Child Trilogy, Bk 3)
Author: Jennifer Fallon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 1/31/2016


I am glad to have finished this book. I was intrigued by the story in this trilogy, and this book did give a satisfactory ending to the trilogy. There were certainly some surprises at the end that tied things together well without being predictable, so all elements of a good story were present. The problem was that I never really got caught up in the story. I don't know whether this was because there was too much detail, or the fact that the author rotated almost every chapter between varioius characters to continue those story lines, but the pace just seemed very slow to me. I will probably not read more by this author.


In the Arms of Mr. Darcy (Pride & Prejudice Continues)
In the Arms of Mr. Darcy (Pride & Prejudice Continues)
Author: Sharon Lathan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/23/2014


Love this series. A little too graphic in places, but I like the way the author handles the characters.


Invitation to Murder (Card-Making Mystery, Bk 1)
Invitation to Murder (Card-Making Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Bright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 1/31/2018


I devoured this book because it has just the pacing I like. After enjoying it so well, I then found out that this is the same person who writes as Jessica Beck, and I usually enjoy those books as well.I thought there was just enough about how to handcraft cards to be interesting, but not so much that it hindered the story. I thought the interactions between the various characters were very realistic. The story kept up my interest and allowed me to ignore how unrealistic the story really was. On the other hand, the premise was at least a little more realistic than many cozies!


Julie's Summer
Julie's Summer
Author: Crystal Thrasher
Book Type: School & Library Binding
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/1/2018


This was not exactly what I expected for the time when this was set. Julie is graduating from high school in the depression. Her family moves back to their home as work becomes more available, but Julie stays with a friend to finish high school. She is hurt several times by gossip, and is shocked to learn that someone she likes is cohabiting before marriage - she is learning that life is not all black and white. Julie is spirited and wants to make her own way. The end of this book is very startling and sad.


Lunar Activity
Lunar Activity
Author: Elizabeth Moon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/19/2016


I don't usually like books of short stories, but I really enjoyed this book. The author had a blurb before each story explaining the inspiration for the story and how she used the story to explore an idea. For example, she wondered one day about how paramedics would work on a space station, and then wrote a story about paramedics in space. These blurbs really added to my enjoyment of the book.


Maggie Adams Dancer (An Avon/Flare Book)
Maggie Adams Dancer (An Avon/Flare Book)
Author: Karen Strickler Dean, Karen S. Dean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Glad I read it. It didn't quite make my "Keep it because I'll want to reread it" list, but I'm glad I had the chance to read it.


Mine for Keeps
Mine for Keeps
Author: Jean Little, Lewis Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/19/2018


This is an old favorite, a heartwarming story that I reread every few years. Characters are well-developed and interactions are realistic.


Now, Discover Your Strengths
Now, Discover Your Strengths
Author: Marcus Buckingham, Donald O. Clifton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 5/4/2017


This book was extremely readable! I did not actually take the StrengthFinder test, since the free code had already been used, but even without that I found a lot of useful information. This would have been even better for someone who is a manager. The main idea is that so often we focus on fixing problems instead of improving what we are good at. For example, rather than promoting health, we fix disease. There was a lot of research quoted to show that by focusing on your (or your employees') strength, weaknesses can be worked around. Also, there is more potential for improvement in an area where you have a natural talent than an area where there is a weakness. This was fascinating, and the book was well-written so that I just kept reading!


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: