Diane P. (idyll) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Awakening
The Awakening
Author: Margaret Culley (Editor), Kate Chopin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"Meeting initially with widespread hostile criticism, the novel went out of print for a half a century in [the U.S.] Now widely read, especially in college courses, this novel has established itself as one of a few classic novels written by a woman at the turn of the century...."


The Edible Woman
The Edible Woman
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/16/2006


This book was about 20 years ahead of its time. Loved it.


For Rouenna: A Novel
For Rouenna: A Novel
Author: Sigrid Nunez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/17/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This author is not as well-known as she deserves to be. This is a war novel from a woman's perspective and you'll never forget it.


Hairstyles of the Damned
Hairstyles of the Damned
Author: Joe Meno
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 6/16/2006


Authentic journey into youth culture. Good writing.


The Line of Beauty
The Line of Beauty
Author: Alan Hollinghurst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 12/31/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Stunningly skilled, lucid, writing. Hollinghurst takes us deep within a decade, a moment, a conversation. He takes us wherever he wants, in fact. One of the best books I've read recently.


Low-Carb Meals in Minutes
Low-Carb Meals in Minutes
Author: Linda Gassenheimer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/19/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I was thrown, at first, by the fact that the author includes recipes that are fairly high in carbs. I then realized that she has separated the recipes into very low carb "Quick Start" recipes and higher 'good carb' recipes.

I think this book is appropriate for someone who is aiming more for a South Beach type of approach, and not so much for those with an Atkins-oriented folks.


The Point : And Other Stories
The Point : And Other Stories
Author: Charles D'Ambrosio
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/29/2007


With the exception of one or two, these stories are plotless, but provide memorable, well-written portraits of characters and situations. I sincerely hope that D'Ambrosio's own family background was not as depressing as some of his recurring themes would indicate.


A Question of Values: Six Ways We Make the Personal Choices That Shape Our Lives
Review Date: 10/15/2006


This is an interesting 'big picture' survey of the methods we use to derive values. I thought the beginning -- the description of the 'Six Ways' was completely fascinating. The way gets a little muddier when the author tries to show how the six methods blend together to form many other variations. But if you generally like philosophy, you'll probably be able to go farther down the path than I could.

This is a book that will make you think, and give you an analytic tool for future thinking.


The Quiet American
The Quiet American
Author: Graham Greene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/25/2006


Only too timely. Very well written. Still poses knotty moral dilemmas for the reader.


The Robber Bridegroom
The Robber Bridegroom
Author: Eudora Welty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/3/2006


Mixing lore of the South and Grimm's fairytales, Welty provides a vivid storytelling experience. Some will not like the violence or find the humor in poor taste. The moral center is indeed MIA. But, I could not put it down. Welty fearlessly channels a none-too-savory unconscious, with stunningly beautiful language.


Specimen Days
Specimen Days
Author: Michael Cunningham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/31/2007


Three novellas with strange things in common. The last one, in particular, doesn't work, but they all have some moments of power and beauty.


Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare
Will in the World: How Shakespeare Became Shakespeare
Author: Stephen Greenblatt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/17/2006


Engaging discussion of Shakespeare's life. Criticized for being speculative, I personally found it convincing and very readable.


Zadie Smith's White Teeth (Barnes  Noble Reader's Companion)
Zadie Smith's White Teeth (Barnes Noble Reader's Companion)
Author: SparkNotes Editors
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/16/2006


NOTE: This is a companion book to White Teeth, NOT the novel itself


1 to 13 of 13