Reviews - Gina C. (castelli)

1 to 12 of 12
American Red Cross Babysitter's Handbook
American Red Cross Babysitter's Handbook
Author: American Red Cross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/11/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A must read by the Red Cross for any soon-to-be babysitter."


The Catcher in the Rye
The Catcher in the Rye
Author: J. D. Salinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1881
Review Date: 5/18/2007
9 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Although this is a classic, and the familiar title tends to turn people away.. I still love it.

If you read for entertainment, this might not appeal to you. But if you love to get more than skin deep into a book, this one has ALL of the elements for you!

The adolescent hyppocrasy of the main character throughout the book is something to look for. The symbolism of crossing roads, leaving behind the innocence of childhood-- all battles this rebellious, troubled, multiple attempt at private-school student battles. An easy read for anyone above the age of 15... Truly worth it. A must read.

And finding out why this book is told through the eyes of the main character towards the end is worth finishing the book for. It's a thinker."


Don't Eat This Book : Fast Food and the Supersizing of America
Don't Eat This Book : Fast Food and the Supersizing of America
Author: Morgan Spurlock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/23/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Awesome read! Lots of fun facts, shocking information, and stories that will make you wonder why you haven't been more health conscious. Seriously. Almost life altering."


Fast Beauty : 1,000 Quick Fixes
Fast Beauty : 1,000 Quick Fixes
Author: Rona Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/11/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Interesting, and fun to try these home remedies, but some of the recipes are not just household products that I had laying around.

Lots of fun ideas to pamper yourself, cure your own skin and hair problems at home, and mix your own concoctions!"


Free $ for College for Dummies
Free $ for College for Dummies
Author: David Rosen, Caryn Mladen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/11/2007


"Guide to sholarships, grants and loans for college."


I Know What You Did Last Summer
I Know What You Did Last Summer
Author: Lois Duncan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 5/9/2007


"The movie was based on this book. It's a fun young adult book, and a quick read."


Mafia Wife: My Story of Love, Murder and Madness
Mafia Wife: My Story of Love, Murder and Madness
Author: Lynda Milito, Reg Potterton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/11/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A great read for any woman because the author really knows what the strength of a woman is. Fun and easy to read, couldn't put it down.

Learn how her husband drug her though life as a part of the maffia, and how he'd choose his friends over her any day-- but she couldn't leave him because of the standard of living he provided for her and their family. Eventually, he gets killed by his best friend and partner-- someone she once got slapped by her husband for speaking badly about."


Nectar in a Sieve
Nectar in a Sieve
Author: Kamala Markandaya
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 5/9/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"An inspiring read about a woman in India and her strugles to support her family, and to later have her son's support her and her husband.

Interesting to hear about the culture of dowries, arranged marriages, and prefering male children and being disappointed in birthing daugheters.

Loved it."


Pledged: The Secret Life of Sororities
Pledged: The Secret Life of Sororities
Author: Alexandra Robbins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 260
Review Date: 5/11/2007
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Robbins goes undercover and writes what she is secretly told, and what she secretly observes, and then uncovers everything bad about sorority, fraternity, and greek-life.

As a sorority girl, I was interested to see what our "truth" really is. As I was reading this, I was furious at the stereotypes she claims to be sorority-wide. But, because of how angry I was, I couldn't stop reading!

A must read for sorority girls!

Interesting book to read, and I'm sure some chapters really are like her examples.. but read with an open mind!"


Take Care of Yourself: The Complete Illustrated Guide to Medical Self-Care
Review Date: 5/11/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Any slight medical problem you might have this book will have a cure for-- whether it be a home rememedy, or an extra shove to get you to see the doctor."


A Time to Kill (Jake Brigance, Bk 1)
A Time to Kill (Jake Brigance, Bk 1)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1231
Review Date: 5/11/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This one will get you ALL riled up and rooting for the main character. A great read, and one of Grisham's best."


The Twisted Window
The Twisted Window
Author: Lois Duncan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/9/2007


"A fun young adult mystery."


1 to 12 of 12