Kathy N. (addicated-to-reading) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 79 - Page:
44 Scotland Street (44 Scotland Street, Bk 1)
44 Scotland Street (44 Scotland Street, Bk 1)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 3/21/2018


Another series by McCall Smith about an address and building and the people who live there. As usual the characters are well drawn and filled out making you want to know more about them and what they'll be getting up to next. I like him as a writer and would recommend this series.


6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 589
Review Date: 8/10/2010


Got started on this series recently and love it. This book continued the multiple story lines and characters that are in each book. Don't know if it could stand alone - have read the series in the order they were published. Good light reading.


Abduction (Shefford-Johnson Case, Bk 1)
Abduction (Shefford-Johnson Case, Bk 1)
Author: Wanda L. Dyson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/22/2018


Something a little different - a mystery with a decided Christian message but I liked it well enough that I've added the next two books in the series to my Wish List. Didn't figure out "who done it" until almost the very end.


The Anonymous Venetian a/k/a Dressed for Death (Guido Brunetti, Bk 3)
The Anonymous Venetian a/k/a Dressed for Death (Guido Brunetti, Bk 3)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/18/2017


Another first class book in the Guido Brunetti series. They have well developed characters that you get to want to know more about and the plots are well thought out and believable. I recommend this series.


Are You There God?  It's Me, Margaret
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret
Author: Judy Blume
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 265
Review Date: 3/10/2017


Always wanted to read this when I was younger and finally got the chance. It still holds up today and Judy Blume does have the voice of a young girl and her worries and concerns. Glad I finally had the opportunity to read it.


The Astronaut Wives Club: A True Story
The Astronaut Wives Club: A True Story
Author: Lily Koppel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/15/2017


A look into what it was like to be married to an American hero during the late 60's and early 70's. After learning what the wives put up with from NASA and what the expectations were, I realized we have indeed "come a long way baby". It was a picture of perfection that was to be presented to the public and the wives and children were expected to deliver that. They relied on each other and smoking and drinking were a way they coped with the stress. Most of them divorced but many of them are still friends to this day. A good read and I recommend it.


A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Was some disappointed in this book. Had put the next two in my Wish List but after reading the first one, deleted the other two from that list. Ok but not something I want to read any more about.


The Black Ice (Harry Bosch, Bk 2)
The Black Ice (Harry Bosch, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 305
Review Date: 3/11/2015


Just found this series and am hooked. They are well written and have enough twists to keep you guessing. And I like Harry Bosch, the character. Have a feeling they will continue to get better and better.


Bossypants
Bossypants
Author: Tina Fey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 6/29/2015


Liked this a lot, but I'm a fan of SNL and this book goes into quite a bit of detail of what it was like to work there. (Also touched on how she got her scar - always wondered about that.) It's one woman's journey from an awkward young girl who finds her niche in life - while at times still feeling conflicted about herself.


Charlotte's Web
Charlotte's Web
Author: E. B. White, Garth Williams (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 264
Review Date: 6/23/2018


Had not read this when I was younger. Knew the broad outline of the story but wanted to read it in its entirerty and am glad I did. It was a sweet story with many things still unchanged today. Am going to give it to my great-granddaughter to read when she's old enough. Strongly recommend for a book to be read to a child.


Christmas in Harmony
Christmas in Harmony
Author: Philip Gulley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 9/14/2018


A sweet series that reminds me of the Jan Karon Mitford books. The protagonist is a Quaker pastor in the small town of Harmony, Ind. and the members of the congregation. It's not quite as good as the Mitford books but still good enough that I want to read them all to see what happens next. They are a quick and comforting read.


The Christmas Letters
The Christmas Letters
Author: Lee Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/31/2014


A little book that shows what the real meaning of Christmas is about - making time to spend with your family, especially your children. Easy, quick read - I do recommend it.


City of Bones (Harry Bosch, Bk 8)
City of Bones (Harry Bosch, Bk 8)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 9/25/2015


Just recently started this series and I'm hooked. As always the pace was brisk and well planned, the characters felt like old friends, and the ending makes me want to get into the next book as quickly as I can. Recommend this book and the whole series.


The Confessor (Gabriel Allon, Bk 3)
The Confessor (Gabriel Allon, Bk 3)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 3/1/2017


Liked this a lot - usually start reading one of the books in this series and don't do anything else until I've finished. The descriptions of places are beautifully described - you can almost picture them in your mind. Liked the twist at the end - can recommend this book.


Day Shift (Midnight, Texas, Bk 2)
Day Shift (Midnight, Texas, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/26/2017


Another series from Charlaine Harris and I liked it even better than the Sookie Stackhouse books. As you can expect with Harris books nothing is entirely as it seems. This one has a witch, vampire, psychic, and other characters that are more than meets the eye. It's part mystery, part fantasy and altogether entertaining. Harris does it again and I recommend it for anyone who liked her other series.


Death at La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Death at La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 7/26/2017


First in a series and I liked it a lot. Set in Venice, the description of the streets, alleys, plazas are so well written you feel like you're walking down them with Vice-Commissario of police Guido Brunetti. Her characters are well drawn - you can see them in your mind's eye. Am anxious to read the next book in this series to see what's going to happen next.


Death in a Strange Country (Guido Brunetti, Bk 2)
Death in a Strange Country (Guido Brunetti, Bk 2)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 9/17/2017


Love this series and this book did not disappoint. Raised some interesting and disturbing questions about what is happening to our environment and how greed and money disregards what is happening when toxic waste is dumped and the governments involved turn a blind eye. Well written and addictive. Am looking forward to the next book in the series.


Death in Lovers' Lane (Henrie O, No 3)
Death in Lovers' Lane (Henrie O, No 3)
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 10/27/2015


Found this series several months ago and have read all seven books. Did like them a lot; they're an easy read and you want to find out what happens next. This one I specially liked since it was set in the Missouri Ozarks at a small college there. I especially like Henrie O's dialog, very realistic for someone her age. I recommend the whole series.


Death in Paradise (Henrie O, No 4)
Death in Paradise (Henrie O, No 4)
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 10/30/2015


Loved this series but this wasn't one of my favorites. Still a good read and if you start the series, you need to read them all, including this one. Answers some of the questions from earlier books and puts things to rest.


The Death of Santini: The Story of a Father and His Son
The Death of Santini: The Story of a Father and His Son
Author: Pat Conroy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/23/2016


Have always liked Pat Conroy's books and this is no exception. He writes about his early life; his relationship with his mother, father and siblings; and takes it through to his father's death. Conroy himself fought depression all his life and how it affected his relationship with his family, including several wives, is revealing. Also a good insight in what it means to be an "Army brat" and how it impacts your life. I liked it a lot.


1 to 20 of 79 - Page: