Rose B. (rosebud1652) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Black Dahlia Avenger Rev Ed: A Genius for Murder
Black Dahlia Avenger Rev Ed: A Genius for Murder
Author: Steve Hodel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/18/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Fascinating book, full of details about some of Hollywood's "finest." I believe Mr. Hodel's account. I couldn't put the book down.


Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 8/21/2010


This book was poorly written and had many biblical discrepancies. I can't recommend it at all.


Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter, Bk 1)
Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Dexter, Bk 1)
Author: Jeff Lindsay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 351
Review Date: 8/9/2009


This book is a waste of paper and ink.


Death of a Gossip (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 1) (Large Print)
Death of a Gossip (Hamish MacBeth, Bk 1) (Large Print)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/19/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I was very disappointed in this book. Not a lot of plot. Characters didn't seem to be fleshed out very well.


Fancy Pants (American's Lady, Bk 1)
Fancy Pants (American's Lady, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 7/17/2015


I gave up on this book after slogging away trying to finish it. It jumps time periods, locations at the drop of the hat and is hard to keep track of when and where the characters are. Just poorly written. Not sure how it got published.


Forever and Always (Forever Trilogy, Bk 2)
Forever and Always (Forever Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 1/30/2007


enjoyable and a quick read


Gaudy Night (Lord Peter Wimsey, Bk 12)
Gaudy Night (Lord Peter Wimsey, Bk 12)
Author: Dorothy L. Sayers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 1/31/2007


Wonderful book. Amusing and well written.


The Good That Men Do (Star Trek : Enterprise)
The Good That Men Do (Star Trek : Enterprise)
Author: Michael A. Martin, Andy Mangels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Star Trek fans of "Enterprise" will enjoy. Offers an alternate ending to Trip's death.


A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, Bk 1)
A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, Bk 1)
Author: Libba Bray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 576
Review Date: 8/28/2011


A Great and Terrible Beauty is a Great and Terrible waste of time. I gave up on it. It was repetitive, unimaginative and a bore.


Had a Good Time: Stories from American Postcards
Had a Good Time: Stories from American Postcards
Author: Robert Olen Butler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/21/2007


A fun read


The Hangman's Daughter (Hangman's Daughter, Bk 1)
The Hangman's Daughter (Hangman's Daughter, Bk 1)
Author: Oliver Potzsch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 1/9/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I finally gave up on this book halfway through. I had forced myself to keep reading it in hopes it would get better. I found the writing - which I guess was a translation - distracting. It just didn't hold my interest.


Homecoming (Star Trek: Voyager, Homecoming, Bk 1)
Homecoming (Star Trek: Voyager, Homecoming, Bk 1)
Author: Christie Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 5/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


In a series - one of two. Reader will have to get book 2 for complete story.


I Am Spock
I Am Spock
Author: Leonard Nimoy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/17/2010


I found this book to be very interesting and well-written. It's a quick read but very informative.


Ishmael (Star Trek, No 23)
Ishmael (Star Trek, No 23)
Author: Barbara Hambly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/22/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. It took characters from the '60's tv show, HERE COME THE BRIDES and incorporated them into the STAR TREK universe. One of the actors on that show was Mark Lenard who played Spock's father. It is a clever plot and a quick read. Recommend it highly.


Legacy of the Dead (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 4)
Legacy of the Dead (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 4)
Author: Charles Todd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 4/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent series. Great mystery. All of Charles Todd's books are wonderful.


The Magic of Ordinary Days
The Magic of Ordinary Days
Author: Ann Howard Creel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/2/2011


This book is okay. A quick read but the plot was not too original. It's a good book for an afternoon read.


Not Even My Name : A True Story
Not Even My Name : A True Story
Author: Thea Halo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/31/2015


This is a great book - it was painful to read but timely considering that this woman's family and others were basically murdered by the Muslims. It should be read by everyone.


The Sinking of the Titanic: Eyewitness Accounts
The Sinking of the Titanic: Eyewitness Accounts
Author: J. Mowbray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/23/2007


For those interested in Titanic, a must read.


Time and Again
Time and Again
Author: Jack Finney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 3/19/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I gave up on this book. I kept hoping it would catch my interest but it never did. Too many details, not enough plot.


Watchers of Time (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 5)
Watchers of Time (Inspector Ian Rutledge, Bk 5)
Author: Charles Todd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 4/14/2007


Great read - suspenseville to the end. I recommend all his books.


1 to 20 of 20