HEATHER P. (forosure) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
Against Medical Advice
Against Medical Advice
Author: James Patterson, Hal Friedman, Cory Friedman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 2/7/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I read this book in less than 8 days. I loved it. It was inspirational, motivational, heart-maddening, heart-saddening, funny and all GREAT! I loved this book! The determination of this child and his family shows how families should be. It shows how family come together even in the hardest times. This was not a book that I was interested in reading, even though it was written by "Patterson" my favorite author. I couldn't get enough of this book. Many more chapters could have been added and it would have been great! Cory was/is a true trooper. A go-getting, a non-quitter. I see alot of me in him. I'm totally inspired on working on my book about GBS that I have left 1/4 done. I love the simplicity of the book and its writing and story line. I love that it is not all technical and doctor doctor talk. This is a book that anyone can read and enjoy. Heck, I thought I wouldn't want to read this in the least. I fell in love on the first chapter. Patterson and Friedman really did a great piece of work with this one. I hope this inspires more people such as myself to motivate to read and to write! A must read...I wouldn't mind having this on my bookshelf of keepers!


America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
Author: Sarah Palin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/24/2011


This was book was EXCELLENT! I love Sarah Palin and it was great hearing her voice reading the book. This book really hits home for WOMEN and their FAMILIES and what LIFE and AMERICA and our FLAG, really mean! This book is very well written and quotes are taken from many other people and used in a perfect context. I would also be interested in actually reading this at some point, instead of listening to it. I was going to read the book but I got it off Audible.com! (Now I need to read her first book Going Rogue.)


The Black Ice (Harry Bosch, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 2/7/2009


This took me a few months to get through while cleaning house etc. I loved the book it was very interesting and full of information and kept me interested. The end ended nothing like I thought it would. :) I was very pleased with this book as a whole and it would have been a great read but the listening was great!


The Blue Zone
The Blue Zone
Author: Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 9/4/2008


I so loved this book, Andrew Gross's first book was a masterpiece at it's best! Did I say that I loved this book? Well I did! I couldn't get enough of it. The story line was phenomenal, non-stop excitement from start to finish! I love how he writes. Very very well written! I wanted to story to continue but I'm glad that the Blue Zone had good closer at the end! This is a must read for any Patterson fan or anyone for that matter. Getting to know the main character was amazing, I felt like I was Kate alot of the times. Almost like I was right there with her! Keep up the awesome work Andrew. I'm very much looking forward to reading you second book! Thanks for the great ride! Heather P.


Change Your Thoughts - Change Your Life: Living the Wisdom of the Tao
Review Date: 9/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


4 stars - Veryyyyyyy Good , thought provoking and heart changing!

My favorites :: #1 Living the mystery; #19 Living without attachment; #24 - Living without excess; #48 - Living by Decreasing; #64 -Living by Being here now; #73 Living in Heaven's Net; #79 Living without resentments


Cradle and All
Cradle and All
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 2/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I will say this, I didn't know what this book was about when I started reading it. I knew it was Patterson and I hadn't read it. When I started reading it I thought it was very ODD, and STRANGE. But it kept me totally interested thoughout the entire book, right up to the last page. I was surprised in everything that happened for a change. It was a good, WOW, DIFFERENT, STRANGE, READ. It sure made my mind wonder. It says in the front of the book that Maxine Paetro also helped on the remodel of this book that was called Virgin. Happy reading! I finished this book in a week. :)


Cross (Alex Cross, Bk 12)
Cross (Alex Cross, Bk 12)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/7/2009


THIS BOOK WAS GREAT, IT REMINDED ME ALOT OF JUDGE AND JURY WHICH I ABSOLUTELY LOVED, IT WAS ACTION PACKED AND IT KEPT ME MOTIVATED TO READ MORE AND FIND OUT WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT A MUCH READ IN THE SERIES! - I love reading it- 5 STARS


Cross Country (Alex Cross, Bk 14)
Cross Country (Alex Cross, Bk 14)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 1/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVED THIS BOOK, I THINK IT WAS ONE OF MY FAV CROSS BOOKS, WELL THE 3RD IN LINE AFTER POP GOES THE WEASEL, AND LONDON BRIDGES OF COURSE. ONCE I GOT READING THIS BOOK I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN. I LOVED IT AND IT WAS VERY FAST PACED AND ACTION PACKED RIGHT FROM THE BEGINNING. I DON'T MEAN TO YELL BUT THIS BOOK WAS OUTSTANDING AND I LOVED IT. DON'T READ REVIEWS THAT SAY A BOOK ISN'T GOOD UNTIL YOU READ IT YOURSELF. IF YOU LOVE CROSS YOU WILL TRUELY ENJOY THIS BOOK. THE END HAS A KICK TOO IT TOO, SO DON'T READ THE LAST 2 PAGES UNTIL YOU GET TO THEM. NO CHEATING! ENJOY! HAPPY READING! I'M SO GLAD THAT JAMES PATTERSON WAS ONCE AGAIN MY FIRST BOOK COMPLETED FOR THE YEAR


The Dangerous Days of Daniel X (Daniel X, Bk 1)
The Dangerous Days of Daniel X (Daniel X, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Ledwidge, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 2/7/2009


MEN IN BLACK MEETS PATTERSON. IT WAS A SLOW START TO A QUICK FINISH. I WASN'T GOING TO READ IT AFTER I GOT STARTED. I WENT ON AMAZON AND READ SOME REVIEWS. BAD CHOICE. I SHOULDN'T HAVE READ THE NEGATIVE ONES. I KNOW BETTER THAN THAT. I WAS GOING TO QUIT READING THE BOOK. ALL TO JUST READ IT ANOTHER TIME. I COULDN'T JUST QUIT LIKE THAT SO I PICKED THE BOOK UP TWO DAYS LATER AND FINISHED IT. I ENJOYED THE BOOK. IT WAS FUNNY IN PARTS AND INTERESTING IN OTHERS. I LIKED THE VISUALS AND THAT IT WAS AIMED AT YOUNG ADULTS. I DIDN'T READ THE STARTS OF THE NEXT STORIES THAT ARE COMING. I RATHER BE SURPRISED. MY THOUGHTS, READ THE BOOK BUT DON'T RUSH OUT TO GET IT. I'M VERY PLEASED TO SAY THAT I READ IT AND I LIKED IT. I HOPE YOU DO TOO. ITS A QUICK SHORT READ.


The Dead and the Gone (Last Survivors, Bk 2)
The Dead and the Gone (Last Survivors, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Beth Pfeffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/24/2011


This was book two to, Life as we Knew It, and it was a good book. This book took place in NY instead of PA. This book had alot of talk of God and church and Fathers and Nuns. But there was alot more to it than that. The book went deeper into the lives of three young siblings and their lives of survival. Trying to find food, hope, family and God in their time of need. This book is not a spiritual book by any means. I enjoyed the book. I liked the first one alot better though. But this book was very good and it was engaged and constantly wanting to know what would happen next. I can't wait to start book three and get back to the family in PA and see how the rest of the story goes. I would suggest this book The Dead and the Gone to Junior High level reading due to the nature of events that take place in this book. Heather


Double Cross (Alex Cross, Bk 13)
Double Cross (Alex Cross, Bk 13)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 545
Review Date: 2/7/2009


Chapters 30-34 were the best for me! It was a great read! I'm so excited to be completed with ALL the Patterson Series at this very moment until more come out. I enjoyed the book and I would recommend reading it to keep up in the Cross Series!


Dry Ice (Alan Gregory, Bk 15)
Dry Ice (Alan Gregory, Bk 15)
Author: Stephen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 2/7/2009


I really liked it alot at first and then I stopped reading the book for a while and I lost interest. I did enjoy the whole story and how it was written. I would recommend reading this book to others, just don't put it down and pick it up later, just keep reading!!!


Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2873
Review Date: 9/12/2009


Again another wow! This book was extremely well written nothing was left out. The characters the story line everything just flowed. Just when you thought or hoped that something would happen, there would be a little twist there. Jacob, Edward and Bella really put on a good show. Outstanding book, great series. This book stands alone great or read them in order. Just a masterpiece. I am looking forward to Breaking Dawn. Heather


Five Star First Edition Mystery - Fit To Die (Five Star First Edition Mystery)
Review Date: 2/7/2009


Okay, this book was fantastic the entire thing. There were absolutely no dull points in this book what so ever! I mean, it was a truly perfectly written book. I picked up the book only because of the title. FIT TO DIE. I workout alot and I read the back and thought this isn't that long and should be good. I had no idea how great it would be. I was happy to finish the book with a smile. A MUST READ FOR ANY MYSTERY READER! KEEP READING! This was my second book completed for 2009. Hugs & Happy Reading, Heather P.


House of Bones
House of Bones
Author: Graham Masterton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book, GRABS you and pulls you right in on the first page. This was a quick fast paced read. I had it done in 3 days and loved all of it. It is mysterious from every angle, lots of facts from the past and just things to really make you think. Wow could this REALLY HAPPEN? What a fantastic read. I gave this 5 stars for its story line, for its excellent writing, and holding my attention for the whole book! I loved that when someone in the book told someone else about what had already happened that the author didn't write what already happened yet again. I have seen that in alot of books and this author says it all perfectly. There were just enough characters and a ton of SPARKS!!! A must read. This was my second book to read from this author and I loved the first "WALKERS" I just picked up "SWIMMER" by the same author. Look out! Keep reading


How I Write: Secrets of a Bestselling Author
How I Write: Secrets of a Bestselling Author
Author: Janet Evanovich, Ina Yalof
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/12/2009


This book was awesome! It really got me into the mode of Janet's books but also to jump start my book again that I've already started working on. It was great! I plan on buying the book so I can go back and read the sections to help me out along the way! An awesome read! A must read for anyone that wants to write or thinks they want too.



Janet and Ina really read the book in an awesome way. Janet is fun, alive and bubbly and keeps you wanting more and keeps you engaged in the book at all times!


In Praise of Stay-at-Home Moms
In Praise of Stay-at-Home Moms
Author: Dr. Laura Schlessinger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/12/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This was my first book of Dr Laura's to read. It was very good! It was extremely inspirational! I so wish I had this book back when I started being a Stay at Home Mom. I know that it would have helped me in more ways that I can put into words. Read this book! If you were, are, or going to be a stay at home mom. This book is great for everyone. It is a feel good book about being a MOM! And all the things in between! I feel like a better mom already just reading this book and opening my eyes to what I should see more of in myself, and what should be expected of and from me, not only from our kids but from my husband as well. Hugs, Heather

In the back of the book there are helpful links for moms and things around the house. SEE BELOW FOR THE COOL LINKS!

STAY AT HOME WEB SITES
http://homebodies.org/
http://www.amomsreview.com/
http://baby-place.com/
http://www.contestformoms.com/
http://www.familyandhome.org/index.php
http://www.homewiththekids.com/
http://www.kaboose.com/
http://mainstreetmom.com/
http://mommysavers.com/
http://momsnetwork.com/
http://www.mothersandmore.org/
http://simplemomblog.com/
http://thenewhomemaker.com/
http://www.womensforum.com/

RECIPES/COOKING
http://busymomsrecipes.com/
http://familyfun.go.com/recipe
http://www.recipesformom.com/
http://recipes.momsbreak.com/

COUPONS/SAVING MONEY
http://www.couponmom.com/
http://www.coupons.com/http://frugalliving.about.com/
http://www.shopathome.com/
http://www.stretcher.com/index.cfm

BUDGETS
http://www.budget5000.com/
http://www.mint.com/
http://planabudget.com/

ORGANIZATION
http://getorganizednow.com/
http://www.help-organize-life.com/
http://organizerightnow.com/

KIDS' PLAY/GAMES
http://www.creativekidsathome.com/
http://funattic.com/
http://gameskidsplay.net/
http://www.kids-fun-and-games.com/

WORKING FROM HOME
http://www.homeworkingmom.com/
http://jobsformoms.com/
http://mommyenterprises.com/
http://showmomthemoney.com/
http://www.wahm.com/
http://wwork.com/


Joy for Beginners
Joy for Beginners
Author: Erica Bauermeister
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/24/2011
Helpful Score: 3


This book my dear friend recommended for me to read was truly amazing! I have a whole new way of looking at things. This book took you on a series of ventures for six very different women in essense a search of self. They were sent on independent journeys by a friend that concord breast cancer. This book talks little about the 'illness' part more on the friendships and oneself. I connected for a couple of the girls well three to be honest! Kate, the one who had cancer and he new found love of rafting and becoming scared of something she could put her hands on. And that she could do anything after having to deal with cancer kind of like me and GBS. Marion, for her understanding of doing for herself and making herself happy but understanding all along the way. Her search brought her to writing about tattoos and the how's and why's behind them. And lastly Caroline, she had lost something near and dear to her and she had to break it free and be me, I mean herself. This is a must read. I'm so very grateful for this recommendation and I encourage Every Woman out there to read it. My copy of the book is going on my bookshelf and it will be read again and I would like my daughter to read it when she's older.


Judge & Jury
Judge & Jury
Author: Andrew Gross, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 417
Review Date: 9/4/2008


Another WOW book for me completed by James Patterson! This book was non-stop action from start to finish. It is Law N Order meets Sopranos all rolled into one. The book had passion! Thought and perfect timing on every point! The end was even better. Just when you thought it was all over it continued that extra leap. It made me wanting more for the book to continue on yet it was the PERFECT ending to a wonderful thrill ride! Way to go James Patterson on another awesome book!

Heather P.


Life As We Knew It (Last Survivors, Bk 1)
Life As We Knew It (Last Survivors, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Beth Pfeffer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 9/24/2011


Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


I had been looking at this book at the store for sometime and I just wasn't too sure about it. I finally went on amazon and watch a mini video about the book! I purchase the book off eBay and when it came in I started reading it and I couldn't put it down. The moon is hit by an astroid a little TOO HARD, and the moon comes too close to the earth. All likes of weather and earth problems happen. Earthquakes, flooding, volcanoes out of no where and so much more. People have to survive.



This story is a 16 year old in PA point of view in a normal format on all the details of daily life of survival with her family. It's intriguing and a brilliant story for young age kids age 9 and above. I'm 39. This book and story makes you appreciate all the "things" we have from food to electronics to the dishwasher for granted. This book will Hook you and re think your life and what is true NEEDED and IMPORTANT for you and your family.



I love the story about a very special Christmas!!



I already bought book 2 & 3 and I plan to read then right away and save them for both of my kids to read and love.



View all my reviews


1 to 20 of 43 - Page: