Audrey L. (hornplayer) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Afternoon on the Amazon (Magic Tree House, No 6)
Review Date: 10/13/2016


I haven't read this book, but my 4th graders love this whole series. and Have read several of them out loud to me.


The Diezmo
The Diezmo
Author: Rick Bass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/31/2009


This a grim, but fascinating tale of a group of misguided young men who got themselves in a heap of trouble when they crossed the border from Texas into Mexico. What these men went through is unimaginable in these times. Rick Bass has written about this misadventure and painted a rich picture of the people and land of the 19th century.


Early Warning
Early Warning
Author: Jane Smiley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/10/2017
Helpful Score: 1


I like Jane Smiley's writing style, so even though there were moments of confusion as to who was who, there was the enjoyment of the stories within the story. The book is long and the print is small, but stick with it because it is a tells great saga.


The Last Straw (Wimpy Kid, Bk 3)
The Last Straw (Wimpy Kid, Bk 3)
Author: Jeff Kinney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 10/13/2016


My 4th grade boys love these books. Helps those who don't like to read get started.


Lions at Lunchtime (Magic Tree House, Bk 11)
Review Date: 10/13/2016


Love the title! My 4th graders love this series. Promotes reading among those who don't like to read.


Mozart in the Jungle: Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
Mozart in the Jungle: Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
Author: Blair Tindall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


As a classical musician, I was looking forward to a back-stage "tell it all" about the foibles and crazy habits of musicians and conductors. Instead we are treated to an X-rated tale of the author's life starting in high school and continuing on for many years.
I was more interested in the ensembles she was playing with than the men she was sleeping with. She obviously is a gifted musician, but the story she told was not the one I wanted to read.


Pirates Past Noon (Magic Tree House, Bk 4)
Review Date: 10/13/2016


A great Series My 4th graders love it. Helps the non-readers get started in enjoying reading.


Political Science 155 Course Reader
Political Science 155 Course Reader
Author: Garst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/5/2011


This is a college course reader. It contains the following:
The Rule of Capital and the Rise of Democracy by Goran Therborn

Bringing Capital Back In, Or Social Democracy Reconsidered by Peter Swenson

Invested Intersts: the politics of national economic policies in a world of global finance by Jeffry Frieden

Postwar Trade-Union Organization and Industrial Relations In Twelve Countries by golden, Wallerstein and Lange


A Street Through Time
A Street Through Time
Author: Anne Millard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/22/2017


This is basically a picture book, but not your usual kid's picture book. It takes the reader through thousands of years of the evolution of an English village. Homes, occupations and village life are illustrated in great detail. My grandchildren are too young to enjoy it, but the day will come when we will sit down together to look at and talk about each page of this wonderful book.


Tigers at Twilight (Magic Tree House, Bk 19)
Review Date: 10/13/2016


I didn't personally read it, but the students in my daughter's 4th grade class love the whole Magic Tree House Series.


The Truth of Valor (Confederation, Bk 5)
The Truth of Valor (Confederation, Bk 5)
Author: Tanya Huff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/6/2018


Torin Kerr, a favorite character, once again faces seemingly overwhelming odds only to once again come out the winner. Her military training, common sense and humor make for a interesting personality. I have read and enjoyed all of the books in the Confederacy series and "Truth of Valor" does not disappoint.


Valor's Trial (Confederation, Bk 4)
Valor's Trial (Confederation, Bk 4)
Author: Tanya Huff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/27/2018


I have read all four of Tanya Huff's Torin Kerr novels and enjoyed each one. The character is a strong woman, who first as a Staff Sargent and later a Gunnery Sargent is tasked with leading a mixed company of humans and extra-terrestrials. This she does with firmness, humanity and humor. I found myself laughing out loud at her sarcastic comments; something I don't usually do. The author has deftly woven high adventure with physical descriptions and proclivities of creatures from other worlds. In Valor's Trial, Torin is faced with a seemingly impossible task. She manages to save the day, only after much struggling, both physical and emotional. My only disappointment is in the ending. I'll say no more!


We Are All Welcome Here
We Are All Welcome Here
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 12/31/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Elizabeth Berg has done it again. 14 year old Diana Dunn, her mother Paige and caregiver Peacie are characters you won't forget. Set in Mississippi in the 1960's, the problems facing these folks are set against the backdrop of the turmoil of the times.
Humor and drama make this not only a fun but an educational read.


White Bones (Katie Maguire, Bk 1)
White Bones (Katie Maguire, Bk 1)
Author: Graham Masterton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/19/2016


Well written but pretty gruesome.


1 to 14 of 14