Reviews - Gina C. (gdcleary)

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 343
Review Date: 8/7/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Some really like this book - I could take or leave it."


Daddy Dates: Four Daughters, One Clueless Dad, and His Quest to Win Their Hearts: The Road Map for Any Dad to Raise a Strong and Confident Daughter
Review Date: 5/27/2011


""Don't Screw Up!" That is the central point of this book.

I thought that this book is a tribute to fathers that stay in touch with their daughters. This book is a manual for any man trying to raise strong, upstanding girls in today's society.

The book gives a guide to how one man learned to get into touch with his daughters through going on "dates" with them. Some of these dates were complex, such as renting a limo and going to a fancy dinner and others where just simple trips to the park. The book has simple messages to fathers that can lose touch with their daughters listen to the girls, get to know who they are, and find out their current likes and dislikes. He does make the point that once you get to know your daughter that you will have to continue to get to know her. A girl's lives change like the seasons and the father has to continue to change with her.

I thought that this book was an interesting read. I wish that my dad had had this manual while I was growing up although he and I had a pretty close relationship."


Downpour: He Will Come to Us Like the Rain
Downpour: He Will Come to Us Like the Rain
Author: James MacDonald
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/23/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I completed this book as a group Bible Study. It was pretty good - makes more sense if you also watch the videos that go with it. It does make you think that sometimes we are just closed to what the Lord can give us - stand in his rein and not cover up with our umbrella of doubt."


Gabby: A Story of Courage and Hope
Gabby: A Story of Courage and Hope
Author: Gabrielle Giffords, Mark Kelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/19/2012


"January 8, 2011 a day that changed the world of politics and gave a town, state, and country a reason to cheer. The country was on a path of uncertainty with a congress that does not get along, two wars being raged in the Middle East, and an economy that was terrible. At a Safeway in her hometown of Tucson, AZ, Gabrielle Giffords steps out to meet her constitutes at the "Congress On Your Corner"as she loved to do. Within minutes shots are fired, 19 people hit, six dead, and a vibrant, well-liked, young Congresswoman lay fighting for her life with a bullet through her head. Doctors gave her little chance to survive but they had no idea.

This account if told through the eyes of her husband, Mark Kelly, who at the time of her injury was training to be the flight commander of the last trip into space by the Space Shuttle Endeavour. The story takes you from their meeting, courtship, living separate lives due to jobs, and how life can change in an instant. He talks about how a stubborn Giffords not only made it through the injury but has made and continues to make remarkable strives to recovery. At the time of the shooting, doctors did not know if she would survive and if she did what state of life she would have. She overcame all of the odds to return to Congress for the state of Arizona but recently with a lot of work ahead of her resigned from her position.

She is a remarkable woman that has made a remarkable recovery. She has overcome more than I could ever imagine.

This book was a good read and encourage to know that people really can overcome the odds with enough courage and strength."


Hands-On Physics Activities with Real-Life Applications : Easy-to-Use Labs and Demonstrations for Grades 8 - 12 (J-B Ed: Hands On)
Review Date: 9/14/2007


"I use this book all the time in teaching physics. It has wonderful demonstrations and labs. The calculations and results the students can get are really close without the use of very expensive equipment. The only problems that I have with the book is that the questions can't be duplicated for student use."


Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back
Review Date: 8/1/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Todd Burpo is a small town minister that had one rough year. He suffered injuries, illnesses, and even male breast cancer. But, nothing compared to seeing his four year old son, Colton sick in the hospital. The doctors gave no hope and had given up on him. But the "Great Physician" had other plans for the little boy. As the little boy was in surgery, he took a trip that the rest of us cannot understand he had a round trip ticket to Heaven.

The story revolves around a little boys account of what and whom he saw in heaven. He sat is Jesus' lap and talked with a baby sister and grandfather he never met. He told of what Heaven looks like and who was there including Satan.

The account is vivid for a little boy. The book is only 158 pages and is a quick read that will suck you in quickly. I read the book in a matter of hours and really liked it. I am a person of faith and hope that the account is both accurate and sincere. I would recommend the book for a quick summer read if nothing more than to get your mind wondering what Heaven is really like."


Heaven is for Real for Kids: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back
Review Date: 10/23/2011


"I have read the adult version of Heaven is For Real and liked it. I then received the kids version from Booksneeze in return for a review. The book is a very condensed version of the nonfiction version. It is written in very simple terms that kids can understand. It also contains a series of questions that children may ask about the book and Colton Burpo.

Overall I thought that the book was really good. I is a book that should be read to younger kids. An older kid would think that it is too elementary. I would like to see a version for kids 7-12 to see how Heaven would be address. The illustrations were really well done. It has lots of children (most with wings) and vivid colors. It does use a large amount of the color yellow. The illustrations and story would be loved by children younger than 5. I will be passing this one along to another child. Nicely done."


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 356
Review Date: 5/20/2012


"I really liked this book. I hate the way that the minorities in the south were treated. I was glad there was a character that would help them get their story out.

I will also never look at a chocolate pie the same way again!"


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Author: Rebecca Skloot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 375
Review Date: 1/22/2012


"What an intriguing book! When Henrietta Lasks died in 1951, her death had little to do with history or did it? Before Henrietta died of cervical cancer, doctors took her cells without her knowledge or consent. Those cells changed the world of medicine like nothing before.

The author has spent uncountable hours researching and interviewing family members, doctors, and researchers. Although companies have made billions off of Henrietta's cells her family still lives in poverty. I appreciated the weaving of the personal story with that of the medical side. If you go to the doctor and are asked to sign HIPPA papers thank HeLa and how over the years consent rules and regulations are changed.

I found it interesting how the rules have changed since the 1950s and how cells from a poor black lady from the south have lived for over half a century."


It Couldn't Just Happen: Knowing the Truth About God's Awesome Creation
Review Date: 10/15/2011


"Let me first state that I am a scientist and have studied both evolution and creationism. I am also a Christian and have no problems with either creationism or evolution. I feel that they can coincide with each other, if you will have an open mind and not shut out the other side (in which I feel there should be no sides). This book was an interesting take on how the author feels that the universe was created. I did feel as if his audience a bit off. He is aiming a younger audience but I feel that it is bland like a textbook. I see his points about how God created the universe but I think that he missed the point when he was trying to disprove science. I did like the way that he tried to use scripture to try and explain his viewpoints. I also liked how he did not always try to "brainwash" the reader into just creationism. I does not totally try to condemn this book as being one that should not be read but caution that all books on this matter should be read with an open mind and study the facts for both sides. I have read better but I have also read much worse. I may be back to reread this book and analyze it more at a later time."


Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me: A Memoir. . . of Sorts
Jesus, My Father, The CIA, and Me: A Memoir. . . of Sorts
Author: Ian Morgan Cron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/1/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really wanted to like the book Jesus, My Father, the CIA, and Me: A Memoir of Sorts but I just could not get over the feeling that Mr. Cron was always blaming his father's drinking for his problems. I know that drinking is a problem in families and leaves deep scars that are hard to overcome. He concentrated so much on his father that he left out Jesus in most of the book. I really believe that the title should have been Me, My Father, the CIA, and Jesus. Because that is the order in which I felt he concentrated his time and writing.
I felt that he did tell a great story but he even stated at the beginning of the book that "This work dances on the hyphen between memoir and autobiographical fiction." (pg. 4) With that being said, I never really knew whether or not to believe the details that he told. Where they fact, skewed facts, or just ficiton? I love autobiographical accounts of overcoming the odds but I just could never believe whole heartedly what was being said.
I did not exactly dislike the book but I could not really recommend the book by giving it five stars. I would also like to say that I do not think that the book is entirely fiction but I would like to know what was actually fact. I know that he was telling a story from "forty year old memories" but I just could not get into the stories that he told. I was expecting more information about how his father was involved in the CIA and the adventures around his father's work. I was sadly disappointed."


Jesus, the One and Only
Jesus, the One and Only
Author: Dale McCleskey, Beth Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/14/2007


"One of the best Bible Studies that I have ever done with a group. Helped to draw me closer to my saviour."


Max On Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Max On Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Author: Max Lucado
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/27/2011


"Max on Life is a copulation of questions that Max Lucado has received over the years. It is broken into several sections. He starts his book by making the following statement that pretty much sums the up book. "We've created a question mark to highlight our questions. It's stooped and bent, perhaps questions because questions can leave us in the same shape, burdened and weary."

I found this book an easy read that can be completed in a couple of days. Compared to other Max Lucado books I did not find it as interesting. I think this would be better suited a reference book for a particular problem or question that the reader or others may ask. I lost interest in some of the questions that he included due to not pertaining to me at this moment in my life.

There were a couple of places in which I found the book to be vague or confusing with his answers. One in particular was a question that I had to read the section multiple times to grasp the answer he meant. He was referring to something that Jesus said but then referred a modern day situation. The answer made it sound as if Jesus was speaking about cars and other modern items as if he lived in today's society.

I can see the positive in the book that would help believers on their path trough today's struggles and trials. Overall the book was entertaining."


One Foot in Eden
One Foot in Eden
Author: Ron Rash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/30/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"My first Ron Rash book - but not the last. Interesting story. Funny at times with all kinds of twists and turns. I found the way that the author showed the differences opinions of the same event."


The Power of a Positive Woman
The Power of a Positive Woman
Author: Karol Ladd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/31/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Completed this book in a Bible study group of women. It was refreshing and inspiring. In a religious setting women sometimes need uplifting and encouraging words to make it through todays society."


The Secret
The Secret
Author: Rhonda Byrne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 461
Review Date: 8/26/2007
17 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I just don't understand what the big deal is about this book. It is just a bunch of stuff that is supposed to be inspirational. The secret is that the author made millions on this book. It didn't give me any information that I didn't already know or have read before. I guess if we take the information literally if we all want it bad enough then we can all be miltimillionaire, super models with no cares in the world. Lesson learned: If Oprah speaks everybody bombards amazon.com and purchases. (At least she is getting people to read) Glad this book was given to me!"


Sing You Home
Sing You Home
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 5/27/2011


"To what lengths should a woman go to have a child? What kind of a toll does that take on the husband? What happens when a child is lost? What happens when life changes so dramatically for a couple?

That is what Sing You Home is all about. A woman that is obsessed with having a child and a husband who just can't bear to go through the procedures again after a child dies before birth is the central theme of the book. After a devastating loss, he turns to religion and she changes lifestyles.

After the drastic life changes, each want to use the three frozen embryos from previous chances at IVF. A custody case ensues but who will win? As always, the case becomes ugly. Dirty laundry is exposed and lives are turned upside down, lifestyles exposed, people are used, and nothing will be the same.

As with all Jodi Picoult books that I have read, there are twists. There are turns. The outcome is always surprising. I thought that the book started off a little slow but soon I was sucked in by the characters and kept me looking for the end. One character, Lucy, was a bit confusing and I felt needed a little more development but in the end, she played a major role.

I liked the book but not my favorite of Picoult's. I have read several of her books but Sing You Home was not my favorite but not the least favorite either. It was a good read and didn't take long to read. I read the e-version for my NookColor and had links to music. I did not listen to the music so I cannot vouch for it."


A Stolen Life: A Memoir
A Stolen Life: A Memoir
Author: Jaycee Dugard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 1/22/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I have to say that this is one of the most disturbing books that I have ever read. I can not believe that human beings could treat another human being like was described in this book. I think that it is horrible that one young girl had to be plucked from her ordinary life to be abused and tortured for eighteen years. I can not believe that the system failed her and her family in such way over the years. Why did no one ever step foot in that back yard?

The book itself is written on a lower level that is evident that Jaycee's words come through. There are parts that came straight from her diary. The exerts include drawings and scans of her actual writings. She states that the book were her words and a reminded that she only had the education of an eleven year old girl.

I think that it is amazing that she survived and raised two children in horrible situations. I am surprised that she can forgive I know that she can't forget. I am happy that she is now home with a family that loves her even though she states that they really no longer knew her especially her half sister who was a toddler when she went missing.

I think overall she is an inspiration of how a human can overcome more than others can even imagine. I just hope that she can continue to overcome and move on to be an inspiration to others and especially those that have lived through similar situations."


Summer Sisters
Summer Sisters
Author: Judy Blume
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1231
Review Date: 10/8/2007
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I didn't really care for this book. I thought that the way the book was written was confusing. At least Judy Blume puts each name at the top of the pages so that you can following who is thinking and saying what. I thought that there were too many characters to keep track of - I kept getting them mixed up with who belonged to whom. I really didn't like the way the book ended - to much like a television series finally (never really tied up the loose ends).

Beware: This is definately an adult book with a great deal of references to adult themes."


When Godly People Do Ungodly Things: Arming Yourself in the Age of Seduction
Review Date: 8/7/2007


"I have also completed the Bible Study that goes along with this book. It is very good. Beth Moore is one of the best."


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: