Frank F. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 64 - Page:
About a Boy
About a Boy
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 3/25/2018


Enjoyed much. Slow start but becomes a good story of maturity, finding meaning and helping those that need it.


Ahab's Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer
Review Date: 11/9/2017


Couldn't get thru it. Not my style of writing.


All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 9/29/2018


Good book. Well written. Young blind girl in war torn France.


The Angel of Darkness (Laszlo Kreizler and John Schuyler Moore, Bk 2)
The Angel of Darkness (Laszlo Kreizler and John Schuyler Moore, Bk 2)
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 4/7/2019


Too long. Hard to keep track of the characters. Not that interesting. Murder mystery taking place in turn of century NY>

Got half way thru, better books to read.


Battle Creek
Battle Creek
Author: Scott Lasser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/9/2017


A good read, especially if your a fan of baseball, but more that just a baseball book. Interesting development of characters.


The Blue Zones Solution: Eating and Living Like the World's Healthiest People
Review Date: 11/26/2018


Rehash of the basics of Blue Zones but with recipes.


Boone: A Biography
Boone: A Biography
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/4/2017


Well written. Reads like a novel of an important time in our American History.


A Brief History of Time : The Updated and Expanded Tenth Anniversary Edition
Review Date: 8/1/2017


A bit hard to follow, but probably the clearest explanation of some difficult subjects about our universe, time, relativity.


Camino Island
Camino Island
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 7/8/2017


I've read all the Grisham books. This one is about in the middle as far as story goes. Read well and flows along but doesnt come together till the very end. Still a worthwhile read.


Cave of Bones (Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito, Bk 3)
Cave of Bones (Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito, Bk 3)
Author: Anne Hillerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/11/2019


Could not finish it. Boring, slow, not an interesting story. A woman police woman involved in missing persons on a rez.


The Child
The Child
Author: Fiona Barton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/21/2019


Didn get it. Had to quite 80 pages in. Another NY times best seller by a chick. Too much going on around the main plot of a reporter trying to find out about a child skeleton that was found from year ago.


The Corpse Walker: Real Life Stories: China from the Bottom Up
The Corpse Walker: Real Life Stories: China from the Bottom Up
Author: Liao Yiwu
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/9/2017


Interesting in parts. A strange people. The rural population still is in the dark ages. Their political climate keeps the individual down.


The Course of Love: A Novel
The Course of Love: A Novel
Author: Alain de Botton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2018


Strange writing, but a good attempt to describe a relationship with its transitions thru time from the beginning to end.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4420
Review Date: 3/2/2019


Strange book as written by a kid with autisum and how he survives with a dysfunctional family.


Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right
Review Date: 4/17/2018


Very good book that explains how the far right wing has become the voice of the Republicans today. Unbelievable, yet we need to do something about it, so educate yourself and spread the knowledge.


Dark Places
Dark Places
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 2/25/2019


Liked Gone Girl better. This story, boy is accused and convicted of killing his mother and sisters. Surviving sister gets to the truth and frees him. Trouble following the names, but end was good.


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 8/20/2017


A good read.Keeps moving but could have been a hundred pages shorter and it still would have been good.


Deep South (Anna Pigeon, Bk 8)
Deep South (Anna Pigeon, Bk 8)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 11/11/2018


Just OK, too convoluted of an ending and the explanation of the murder.


Dreams from My Father
Dreams from My Father
Author: Barack Obama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/9/2017


Amazing book. I had no idea of Barack's connection to his African roots. His writing it good. Hard to believe how he came up the way he did, and became President of the United States.


The Enemy (Reacher, Bk 8)
The Enemy (Reacher, Bk 8)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 1/13/2019


Not the best Reacher book I've read. He is still in military, solving murders and finding army traitors.


1 to 20 of 64 - Page: