S - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The All of It
The All of It
Author: Jeannette Haien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/2/2018


Great book to read in between other books. Very quick read, however, you quickly get sucked in, and before you know it, the story is over. Though short, it leaves you wanting, and folding over the characters in your mind.


Becoming Me (Diary of a Teenage Girl, Bk 1)
Becoming Me (Diary of a Teenage Girl, Bk 1)
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 7/26/2006


My daughter read and enjoyed this book. She plans on reading the whole series.


The Candlemaker's Companion: A Complete Guide to Rolling, Pouring, Dipping, and Decorating Your Own Candles
Review Date: 3/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A nice book for the crafter who is aspiring to make candles. Lots of basic techniques and ideas.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4416
Review Date: 3/7/2006


Quick and easy read, but will still stir the mind and make you wonder and think. Really enjoyed this one.


The Deep End of the Ocean
The Deep End of the Ocean
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 3/7/2006


Very popular book but not one of my personal favorites.


Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (Ya Yas, Bk 2)
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1500
Review Date: 5/17/2006


Very popular book and movie. I wasn't really feeling it, but to each her own.


Flip-Flopped
Flip-Flopped
Author: Jill Smolinski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/7/2006


Beach read :)


The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 490
Review Date: 3/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Not one of my favorite King books, but it was a quick and easy read.


Girl with a Pearl Earring
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1450
Review Date: 3/13/2006


One of my favorite books. I've read one other by Chevalier, but this still remains my favorite from her. I was so happy the movie was out and I was able to watch it so soon after to bring a visual to the characters I had been imagining. This is a book I would definitely re-read (if I didn't have a zillion other books awaiting me - ha).


Homer & Langley
Homer & Langley
Author: E. L. Doctorow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 11/21/2009


This was a pick for our book club. It was a pretty fast and easy read. The story was reminiscent of Poe, notably most at the ending. I consider a book a decent read if it lingers on the mind after finishing, and this one did. The book held my interest, and I would recommend it to a friend.


It's My Life (Diary Series #2)
It's My Life (Diary Series #2)
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/26/2006


Read by my 15 year old daughter. She is enjoying the series!!


Jemima J
Jemima J
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1079
Review Date: 5/17/2006


Fun read, Jane Green writes good chick lit.


Junior Prom (Wildfire)
Junior Prom (Wildfire)
Author: Patricia Aks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/17/2006


Read this when I was a teen.


My Name Is Chloe (Diary of a Teenage Girl: Chloe, Bk 1)
My Name Is Chloe (Diary of a Teenage Girl: Chloe, Bk 1)
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/1/2007


My teenaged daughter read and liked this book/author/series.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4031
Review Date: 3/7/2006


This was the first book I read by Picoult and the one that got me hooked. It was heart-wrenching to read, and as others have said had an interesting twist at the end. If you like Picoult you will not be dissapointed.


Random Family : Love, Drugs, Trouble, and Coming of Age in the Bronx
Review Date: 1/8/2007


Decent book.


Riding the Bus with My Sister : A True Life Journey
Riding the Bus with My Sister : A True Life Journey
Author: Rachel Simon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 1/18/2007


Decent book.


Snow Falling on Cedars
Snow Falling on Cedars
Author: David Guterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1044
Review Date: 8/12/2006


I could not finish this book. Couldn't get interested in it. Rarely do I abandon books but this one just wasn't for me.


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2115
Review Date: 3/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I expected it to be better. I was not intrigued with it at all during the first 2/3 of the book but found it more interesting towards the end.


The Stepford Wives
The Stepford Wives
Author: Ira Levin, Peter Straub
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 1/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Quick read, decent book.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: