Cozette M. (CozSnShine) - , - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
All the Numbers
All the Numbers
Author: Judy Merrill Larsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 12/30/2007
Helpful Score: 19


Judy Larsen touched my soul with this book and that is not something I say lightly. Reading this book was like being with a friend through a horrific ordeal and holding her hand all the way. A mother loses a son - what then? I've read other books with this theme - this one made me live it. I read a lot and this book touched me in ways no book has in years. As a mother, as a friend, as another human - I felt for the characters in this book. Highly recommended!


The Buddha in the Attic
The Buddha in the Attic
Author: Julie Otsuka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 3/1/2013
Helpful Score: 3


A lovely, haunting book about the brides from Japan brought to San Francisco. It loosly follows their journey until the arrival of the war. Beautifully written. A quick read that will stay with you long after you close the last page.


Canary Island Song (Hideaway, Bk 2)
Canary Island Song (Hideaway, Bk 2)
Author: Robin Jones Gunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/27/2013


Robin Jones Gunn never disappoints me.
This is a fairly typical love story between a woman and a man.
But in addition, there is the love story of generations of women in the same family.
AND most important, the love story of finding God again after being walking in anger for awhile.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1897
Review Date: 1/5/2008
Helpful Score: 23


Do women still knit? Is knitting just an old-fashioned skill? Are women in NYC cold and unfeeling and never reach out to each other. With this book you'll find that the answers are NO. This book is story of how women knit their lives together while meeting to knit yarn. A great story of women supporting women, even through the crises of their lives.


The Good Nearby
The Good Nearby
Author: Nancy Moser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The characters were not saints, but human like all of us in their habits and reactions.
The story was good, but thought the ending was a bit too predictable


The Heart Mender: A Story of Second Chances
The Heart Mender: A Story of Second Chances
Author: Andy Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/16/2010


This is a non-fiction book that reads like fiction. It gives you a glance into parts of WW2 that most of us know little about. It is heart warming and at times breath taking. I highly recommend it.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2443
Review Date: 8/30/2009
Helpful Score: 13


The is by far the most touching, best book I've read in 2009. What is it like to be a black maid in Missippi in the early 60's? In fact, what is it like to be a white lady that hires the "help" at that time. Are the feelings between you real emotions or colored by the circumstances. Which of you are influenced, even when you don't want to be, by your peers? The world of black and white are a'changing and they are going to affect each of you.

This book is emotional, funny, horribly true and I couldn't put it down. You will love and you will hate as you read this book and you might even be surprized at which emotion is aimed at which character.


The Homecoming
The Homecoming
Author: Dan Walsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/22/2012


I kept feeling as if I were missing something in this story. AFTER reading the book, I find out it was a continuing story from another of Dan Walsh's books, The Unfinished Gift.
There is NO information on the outside of The Homecoming that would give you a clue that it's part of a set.
It is a good story but felt disjointed since so many references were made to facts from the other book.
I'd recommend the book, but recommend you read The Unfinished Gift first.


Just Breathe
Just Breathe
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 9/1/2008
Helpful Score: 6


Sometimes the love you think you have is only a sham - when you take a closer look. What then? Wall yourself in and never love again because of the hurt? Susan Wiggs takes you on a jouney of love lost and love found. Not a new journey, but a fresh, new approach which makes for a delightful read.


The Kitchen House
The Kitchen House
Author: Kathleen Grissom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 391
Review Date: 9/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book is very compelling in a stark, tragic way. It is the story of slavery, told by several different persons, but mainly from a white bond servant who arrives at the plantation as a child. I was disappointed in this character. She was betrayed as having no clue what was going on even after she had lived with the slaves for years. I didn't find that realistic in the least.

I kept waiting for someone to be the hero of this book. I didn't find a hero. People were caught in situations they had no control over and while they remained loyal to each other, no one stepped up and did anything about it. The slaves had NO choice in any of the treatment. The white girl, once she became a woman, could have had the power. She didn't take it and she didn't use it to help herself or others. She just kept taking the easy way out.

Yes - the book is compelling. But it certainly is not a book that will leave you feeling good in any way.


Medals, Flags and Memories
Medals, Flags and Memories
Author: John and Stacey Holley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/18/2011


What makes a hero? Matthew Holley was certainly one, he gave his life for his country.
But this book is about more than Matthew and the depth of grief his parents feel when they learn of his death in Iraq.

It's the story of what comes next? Where does a parent turn when their life has been turned upside down? It's a heart wrenching story of how Stacey and John Holley turned from themselves and towards God and mankind.

Their mission became to see that each fallen hero is returned to their family with honor and respect. They had no other agenda. They were not looking for fame. They were not looking for personal gain. They did not set out to become heros.

Medals, Flags and Memories takes you on their journey to make that goal become a reality and beyond. It takes you into the heart of parents who have lost the most precious thing they have, their only son. It takes you on their journey to bring comfort to other gold star parents.

Stacey and John are heros and their son would be so proud of them.

I have only one disappointment in this book. I would have loved to have heard more from Stacey and her journey to healing. That is a tiny disappointment and I highly recommend this book to anyone, but especially to those whose loved one is in the military.


Roses
Roses
Author: Leila Meacham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 4/9/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I keep reading reviews that contrast Roses with Gone With The Wind. In my mind, the only thing similiar is that both were set in the south and concerned plantations.
Roses is intriging from the start. It tells the story of several of generations of families that share a history. It drew me in, at the beginning and never let me go until the last word. I would think I knew the story, when another twist would take it in another direction.
Roses gets 5 stars from me. I highly recommend this marvelous read.


Sidney & Norman : A Tale of Two Pigs
Sidney & Norman : A Tale of Two Pigs
Author: Phil Vischer, Justin Gerard (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/26/2011


This book is intended for children.
But. . . as an adult I can't say enough good about it. It reminds you that God loves you. God loves you. GOD loves YOU.
It doesn't preach, it doesn't talk down. It's a story that is bound to bring a tear to the eye of the adult who reads it to the child.
Maybe it just appeals to the child in me. Illustrations are beautiful, story is well written and the message is perfect.

You MAY want to buy it to give to the adult Sidney OR Norman in your life!


South of Broad
South of Broad
Author: Pat Conroy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 9/21/2009
Helpful Score: 10


I seldom write reviews but feel the need to write one for his book. This is a wonderfully written story that takes you to the happy yet sad days of high school. When you are feeling comfortable with this well written story it plunges you into horrific situations beyond the control of any of the characters. I'd say it was a beautiful book about terrible things and about the wonder of friendships. It is sunshine and the darkest of nights. It will make you cry and make you shout with triumph. Pat Conroy is a master of his craft and this book did not disappoint in any way.


1 to 14 of 14