Karen R. - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 72 - Page:
The 1st Victim
The 1st Victim
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/10/2014


This is an interesting offering with a little surprise at the end. Although it is a short book, it is worth the read. You may be pleasantly surprised at the irony.


The 9th Girl (Kovac/Liska, Bk 4) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 9/29/2013


What a disappointment! This very noir book is narrated by David Colacci who reads in a perfect style to convey the darkness of the piece. Gratuitous, graphic gore added to my personal distaste, although I recognize others may like it. I understand the necessity of character development, but the preachy nature of Hoag's long and redundant side steps into the personal natures of the characters droned on and on in what seemed to be a lame attempt to make it a l-o-n-g book. I skipped and skipped passages trying to become interested. I finally gave up after disc 5 of this 11-disc CD, even though I understand that the denouement is supposed to be a big surprise. I am surprised enough by this boring book! I've read negative criticisms and glowing reviews of this book on Amazon and cannot understand the 5 star reviews. To each his own. I don't agree and this is not Hoag's best effort by a long shot!


All Afternoon with a Scandalous Marquess (Lords of Vice, Bk 5)
All Afternoon with a Scandalous Marquess (Lords of Vice, Bk 5)
Author: Alexandra Hawkins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 8/7/2012


This should have been a five-star book, as Hawkins' writings always are. I liked the characters and the story. All the Lords of Vice books have unusual heroines and this one was no exception. The disappointment came at the end of the book where the reader felt as though details were missing! You are left wondering what was omitted that you needed to know. Suddenly, the denouement is happening in a rush to the finish leaving a vague sense of something missing. Well worth the read, just not up to Hawkins' usual standard


Almost a Scandal (Reckless Brides, Bk 1)
Almost a Scandal (Reckless Brides, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Essex
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/7/2012
Helpful Score: 2


What a wonderful book! The story line was engrossing and the character development was so thorough, I understood the two main characters perfectly. I am not very interested in historical ships, but Essex has meticulously researched sailing vessels of the time and that detail particularly enhanced this tale. Often writers become caught up in historical information to the extent they detract from the book. NOT so in this instance. The reader becomes engrossed in every aspect of the ship because both the hero and heroine are intensely a part of it. A beautiful love story between two strong characters. Well worth your read time.


At the King's Command (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
At the King's Command (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 8/6/2009


This is a reprint (and re-name) of "Circle in the Water"


Blaze (Braddock-Black, Bk 1)
Blaze (Braddock-Black, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 10/9/2007


Like all of her books....sizzling!


The Brat
The Brat
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Laughed and laughed! Lynsay Sands is one of my favorites!


Burn (Breathless, Bk 3)
Burn (Breathless, Bk 3)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 9/15/2013


Recommend that you read this series in order; you will appreciate it more and the third books ties so closely to the first two you will miss a lot by reading it out of context. Maya Banks writes hot, hot, hot erotica but always with a wonderful story. Her historical novels are just as great. What a talented author!


Burn (The Breathless Trilogy)
Burn (The Breathless Trilogy)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/15/2013


Recommend that you read/hear the series in order. This is Ash's story but Gabe and Jace continue to frequently appear. You will appreciate this third book more after reading the first two. It ties so closely to the others the reader will miss a lot by reading it out of context.

I really liked Adam Paul's performance. He is one of the best readers I've heard.

Banks writes hot, hot, hot erotica but always with a wonderful story. Her historical novels are just as great. What a talented author!


Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage (Impossible Bachelors, Bk 3)
Cloudy With A Chance Of Marriage (Impossible Bachelors, Bk 3)
Author: Kieran Kramer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 5/8/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Couldn't wait for this book to come out. I loved "When Harry Met Molly" and "Dukes to the Left of Me..." This book simply must have been written by a ghost writer, as it is difficult to believe Kramer could write such boring, flat, uninteresting tripe, with little plot development and characters to which I could not relate! Such a "blah" book! Skipped from chapter to chapter waiting for interesting developments...alas, it never happened! I will read Kramer's next book, based on her first two. But if this had been her only offering, I wouldn't buy another. Bah Humbug!


Criminal
Criminal
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/7/2014


Slaughter's best yet. Finally all the pieces of Will Trent's life come together. The unabridged version is long, but worth it for all the detail provided! Trent fans will enjoy this book.


Cry No More (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Cry No More (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Linda Howard, Joyce Bean (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/2/2013


Intense, powerful, sensual, painful....a beautiful story of an imperfect man's love for a woman and a mother's perfect love for her son. Howard's writing skill is spectacular in this work. Kept at the bottom of my listen-to stack to delay hearing the horror of a stolen child. I actually carried my portable CD player around the house to keep listening while I did chores on my day off. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I have.


The Dangers of Deceiving a Viscount (Desperate Debutantes, Bk 3)
The Dangers of Deceiving a Viscount (Desperate Debutantes, Bk 3)
Author: Julia London
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 10/19/2007


Another in the "Desperate Debutantes" Series that is sure to please. Julia London always has well defined characters and a pleasing love story. I enjoyed this book.


The Devilish Pleasures of a Duke (Boscastle Family, Bk 6)
The Devilish Pleasures of a Duke (Boscastle Family, Bk 6)
Author: Jillian Hunter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 10/9/2007


Very entertaining


Douglas: Lord of Heartache (Lonely Lords, Bk 8)
Douglas: Lord of Heartache (Lonely Lords, Bk 8)
Author: Grace Burrowes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/31/2013


Wonderful! Fabulous! This "Lonely Lords" series is so well written and each installment is unique. I am looking forward to DAVID which will be released in April! Burrowes is a favorite and this is one of her best!


The Earl's Mistress (MacLachlan Family & Friends, Bk 10)
The Earl's Mistress (MacLachlan Family & Friends, Bk 10)
Author: Liz Carlyle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/30/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is an interesting departure for Carlyle. I would categorize it as light erotica. LC is a sophisticated and talented author and, although I didn't expect the graphic nature, I enjoyed the book. The sizzle scenes were not gratuitous, but necessary to convey the plot she developed. Ms. Carlyle may lose some readers because of her decision to dip her toe into this genre, but she will gain other readers due to her mild exploration of erotica. Some of us who really enjoy her writing will continue to buy her books expecting to enjoy her fabulous writing skill in whatever form she choses.


The Education of Mrs. Brimley
The Education of Mrs. Brimley
Author: Donna MacMeans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 12/22/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This author's first book is very entertaining and a great read. I will be sure to read everything she writes in the future. Loved this book!


Fever (The Breathless Trilogy)
Fever (The Breathless Trilogy)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/15/2013


You might prefer to hear RUSH before this second book of the series.

This is Jace's story but the series continues to employ each of the main characters from the previous book(s), which give it a continuity that I appreciated.

Maya Banks writes erotica at its best with a wonderful story line along with hot, hot, hot sex, strong but flawed male characters and the women they love.

Adam Paul is the reader and he is one of the best.

Be aware this series is erotica and as such contains graphic sex which might be offensive to some.


A Game of Pleasure
A Game of Pleasure
Author: Barbara Satow
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This author's first novel is absolutely great! Although there are no sex scenes....no, not even one....it is a great story and kept this cynical reader interested to the last page. Highly recommended!


Gareth: Lord of Rakes (Lonely Lords, Bk 6)
Gareth: Lord of Rakes (Lonely Lords, Bk 6)
Author: Grace Burrowes
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/29/2013


Burrowes is one of my very favorite authors and GARETH does not disappoint. This beautiful love story was so moving I read cover to cover while my neglected husband had his dinner alone this evening! We know GB's characters intimately, feel their emotions and become engrossed in their lives. I cannot wait for the next installment in this engrossing series!


1 to 20 of 72 - Page: