Angela C. (rainbowreader) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 91 - Page:
Albert of Adelaide: A Novel
Albert of Adelaide: A Novel
Author: Howard Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/17/2016


I liked it. kindof a strange book...I agree with Watership Down meets Gunfight at the OK Corral. Very beautiful vivid descriptions of Australia. Good characters, even if they are a little strange. Buddy story, adventure, fantasy and western all rolled into one.


All My Patients Are Under the Bed: Memoirs of a Cat Doctor
Review Date: 10/27/2010


An enjoyable story about a vet in New York City who makes housecalls. Delightful descriptions of the pets Dr. Camuti treated as well as their just as colorful owners. If you liked James Herriot's books, you will like this one.


All the Stars Came Out That Night
All the Stars Came Out That Night
Author: Kevin King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/28/2011


"Not as enjoyable as it sounded. More hanky-panky of the descriptive kind than I was comfortable with. The two main characters who set up the game are not nice people. I was hoping for more about the fantasy game between greats of the majors and negro leagues." Review by my baseball- and history-loving husband.


Archangel (Samaria, Bk 1)
Archangel (Samaria, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 4/1/2013


Don't let the cover put you off, she is singing. The story takes place on the planet Samaria, settled by folks from Earth in the future. Their ship 'Jehovah' now orbits the planet, and needed people who could communicate the people's needs, so bioengineered "Angels" people with wings and higher body temp & strength to be able to withstand the pressures & problems of flying. When the story begins, the people of Samaria have forgotten the ship, and instead believe that 'Jovah" is their god who meets their needs. (be sure to read the small "blurp" on the back cover, that's the only background you get.)

powerful story of slavery, freedom, traditions, belief, music & people like you and me having to deal with a crisis. Enjoyable and powerful story, that happens to have a romance involved too.


An Army at Dawn: The War in North Africa, 1942-1943 (Liberation, Bk 1)
Review Date: 2/16/2013


From my high school history teacher husband: "the author does a good job of describing the lack of preparedness and coordination of British and American troops in North Africa during WWII. If you like reading about troop movements & specific info about battles, if you like military tactics, you will like this book. It was very informative, and I learned a lot from reading it."


The Art of War
The Art of War
Author: Sun Tzu
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/24/2010


Review by my husband, who is a high school history teacher: "I enjoyed the commentary section in the back more than the English translation of SunTzu's writing. This book gives good insight on military tactics and strategy used by many generals and leaders."


Avatar: The Field Guide to Pandora
Avatar: The Field Guide to Pandora
Author: Maria Wilhelm, Dirk Mathison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/20/2011


Beautiful illustrations and pictures. Detailed text is extremely informative, this is a great companion book to the movie.


The Berenstain Bears and Too Much TV
The Berenstain Bears and Too Much TV
Author: Stan Berenstain, Jan Berenstain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 9/30/2010


A good message for all: too much TV can make one forget all the fun stuff there is in life to DO. My 6 yr old son liked it.


Bright Stanley
Bright Stanley
Author: Matt Buckingham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/18/2010


My 6 year old son liked it.


The Calvin and Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book
The Calvin and Hobbes Tenth Anniversary Book
Author: Bill Watterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 7/29/2015


a wonderful addition to any C&H collection - info in the author's own words about characters, writing process, etc.


The Captain's Dog: My Journey with the Lewis and Clark Tribe
The Captain's Dog: My Journey with the Lewis and Clark Tribe
Author: Roland Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/18/2015


Enjoyable, engaging story, from both the dog's perspective and from the Journal of Captain Lewis {or Clark, I can't remember}. I liked it a lot...short chapters, quick reading, great descriptions.


The Carpet Makers
The Carpet Makers
Author: Andreas Eschbach, Doryl Jensen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Very interesting,sad,and powerful story. I just finished reading it, and I feel like there is truths there that I have to think about for a while in order to find them. More pure sci-fi than fantasy. Each chapter is like a seperate short story, but they all link together into a whole picture. The story starts at a small local level, then expands out to give the complete, complex picture.

Even though this is a translation, I agree that it doesn't feel like it at all. Powerful messages, words and themes in any language.


The Case of the Lost Temper (VeggieTales)
Review Date: 11/29/2010


This is a fun story of "detectives" solving a case. Has a good message about not losing your temper. My 6 yr old first-grader liked it.


Cat Tricks (Hooked on Phonics, Bk 25)
Cat Tricks (Hooked on Phonics, Bk 25)
Author: Ruth Young, Bob Ostrom (Illustrator)
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/3/2010


With fun pictures and silly text...a fun read all around!


The Cat Who Cried for Help : Attitudes, Emotions, and the Psychology of Cats
Review Date: 2/24/2012


Very informative and interesting reading. Anyone who shares their life with a cat will benefit from this veterinarians insight into how a cat thinks. Divided into sections: Aggressive Behavior, Compulsive Behavior and Emotional Behavior.


The Chessboard Queen
The Chessboard Queen
Author: Sharan Newman, Sharan Newman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/4/2011


Not as good as Guinevere, but has many of the same characters featured.


The Christ Commission
The Christ Commission
Author: Og Mandino
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/16/2012


Terrific "what if" scenario, well written with engaging characters. What if an author wishes he could visit Jerusalem just after Jesus crucifiction, to prove that he did not actually rise from the dead? What if God took him up on his wish? I would love to visit that time also, so it was a treat to ride along with Matt as he talks with Jesus' family & followers and visits the places that Jesus' walked.


City of Dreams (!HERO)
City of Dreams (!HERO)
Author: Stephen R. Lawhead, Ross A. Lawhead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/26/2014


good story, interesting premise: that the Messiah, Jesus, aka Yeshua or Joshua, has not come to earth until present day. Too bad the other two books in the series are not readily available. Story ends without an ending or resolution.


The City of Ember (Ember, Bk 1)
The City of Ember (Ember, Bk 1)
Author: Jeanne Duprau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 308
Review Date: 3/18/2010


An enjoyable story with two well-written tweens as the main characters. The whole series has great commentary on the danger of "us versus them" mentality and the damaging choices it can lead to. I recommend reading the sequel, "The People of Sparks" also, as the two books together make a complete story. There is also a "prequel" available and a third book which takes place after "the people of sparks."


Clockwork Heart
Clockwork Heart
Author: Dru Pagliassotti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a great read! An enjoyable romance as well as a mystery, in a compelling world with people who can fly! The main character has a job as an "icarus;" a flying messenger with a winged mechanical "armature" she puts on so she can fly. I enjoyed the story. I found it to be a refreshing blending of science fiction and fantasy.


1 to 20 of 91 - Page: