Sherrie M. (bookjunkiescafe) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 4/20/2016


Im a fan of his book but this one.


Black Like Me
Black Like Me
Author: John Howard Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/17/2016


A must read book. A white men turned his skin color darker to become a black men to observe how blacks are being treated. He published his experience in local newpapers.


Black Like Me
Black Like Me
Author: John Howard Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/15/2016


I really enjoyed this book. Its a white male going undercover as a black man.He wanted to see how it feel to be black for a project he working on.


Bless Me, Ultima
Bless Me, Ultima
Author: Rudolfo Anaya
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 7/17/2016


This book is amazing.


By the Light of the Moon
By the Light of the Moon
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 464
Review Date: 6/9/2016


Boring!!!!!


Concrete Wings: One Man's Fifty Year Journey to Personal Freedom
Concrete Wings: One Man's Fifty Year Journey to Personal Freedom
Author: Beverly Gandara
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/25/2017


Free book (kindle) for honest review.

Julian a Cuban native grew up during the Castro take over. His father had to hide all of their family jewelers and transfer them into the U.S.A banks. Julian parents send him to a Madrid Spain to establish his Visa to go to New York. Julian had trouble adapting to his new life from working, love life. securing his family possession, and his family. His father nenevr care about him until his mother passed. Julian lived his life control by his father and never got to spread his own wings.

This book is good. I really hate the cover. Easy read. I really want to give this book a 3. I felt it was blend. My reason I gave it a 4 because I can relate to julian living a concrete life and I didn't spend my wings. He always taking care of everyone else but not himself. I do love the history formats. I kinda wish the Castro rolled more into Julian life in NY.


The Doctor's Private Visit (Kimani Romance, No 171)
The Doctor's Private Visit (Kimani Romance, No 171)
Author: AlTonya Washington
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/24/2016


I enjoy this book. Tibe was a player until he met Capri. MEN feel they can any women until he meet his challenge. You cant treat an independent women like you treat, hoes and ratchets. Capri stand her ground on how she want to be treat as a women. She left her city to get away from thristy men and end up renting a place from one.


The Fading of Lloyd
The Fading of Lloyd
Author: Kit Crumpton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/8/2018


Lloyd Journey struggle with mental illness. After his 30th birthday, his father admitted him into Mental Health Hospital to be treated. During the late 1800s and early 1900s mental illness was new you were labeled imbecile. He passed away from complications of insulin shock therapy. Mental illness came a long way but still is an infancy stage. It was hard to diagnose and treat people back then and understand what they're going through. People with mental illness are being treated badly and some are being taken care of. The things that mental illness, some psychiatrists are learning the development of the human brain and the causes. Some can be hereditary passed down from generation or a life event. Going into the book was amazing. The book start off well and strong but I was confused when I thought the story was going to be about Lloyd. The bulk of the book was about his dad and the history of mental illness. The book is an easy read and will have you suck in all the way.


The Gargoyle
The Gargoyle
Author: Andrew Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/8/2016


A friend lone me this book. It was one of her recommended books. More of a must read. So I read it and wow. A very manly book. The burnt victim that dont have no name tells a story his mental illness and porn addiction. He goes very detail and metphor. I never read a author that write so intrigue. Once you start reading. You cant put it down.


Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, Bk 2)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, Bk 2)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 3795
Review Date: 8/6/2017


This book is so good. Im really not into fantasy books. But Harry Potter got me suck in. Following Harry in his Journey to find out who attacking the Hogwarts and trying to find the entrance of the Chamber.


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 2057
Review Date: 4/20/2016


I wish i was introduce to this book when it first came out. I love Rowling writing.


The House on Mango Street
The House on Mango Street
Author: Sandra Cisneros
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 442
Review Date: 6/11/2016


This boom was ok.


How Opal Mehta Got Kissed, Got Wild and Got a Life
Review Date: 4/6/2016


I really enjoy reading this book. It waa fun especially her parents helping her to completely goals to get into Havard.


Kissing Coffins (Vampire Kisses, Bk 2)
Kissing Coffins (Vampire Kisses, Bk 2)
Author: Ellen Schreiber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 2/15/2017


Raven in search to find her true love. Alexander disappeared after his party and it's driving her crazy. She found a clue that he maybe in hipsters own where her father sister lives. Raven went over to her aunt house and begin to search. She went into coffin club and asked around. She met a teen named Jagger also a vampire. He freak her out and her return home. She found herself in trouble with Jagger and Alexander showed up. Alex told Raven about Jagger and also he a twin.

I really enjoy this book. Yet again funny, easy read, entertainment.


Last of the Summer Tomatoes
Last of the Summer Tomatoes
Author: Sherrie Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/1/2016


wow this book is amazing. I teared up when Hank was beating him for being gay. Kyle was dramatize until he meet Sam. Kyle was a trouble teen that almost went to juvie but this work program save him. He went to a farm to pay off a window he had broken. It was a culture shock because Walt and Glenda show him love that he never had at home and meet Sam, the guy of him dream. Kyle was very insercure with his sexuality and he aways think he did wrong. His mother finally left Hank and Kyle is working out the kinks of the new life of being gay and know how to feel cared for.


The Last Star (5th Wave, Bk 3)
The Last Star (5th Wave, Bk 3)
Author: Rick Yancey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/3/2017


The last book of the series. It was OK. A lot of confusing part. It got sort of boring toward the end.


The Library of Souls (Ghost Talker Files) (Volume 1)
The Library of Souls (Ghost Talker Files) (Volume 1)
Author: Richard Denney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/17/2017


I really enjoyed this middle school horror book. Read it in one sitting.


Mirror Image  (Large Print)
Mirror Image (Large Print)
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/22/2016


This book is amazing. The strong bond of twin sister Ollie and Victoria..

Best book I read from Danielle Steel.


The Old Willis Place : A Ghost Story
The Old Willis Place : A Ghost Story
Author: Mary Downing Hahn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/4/2017


I'm not going to tell what the book is about. As I was reading it, I kept getting confused with Diana and Georgie life style. It was reveal at the end Book is a fun read, a little spooky, but you just felt sad cause Diana and Georgie lives in the woods with no parents and became Friend with this girl name Lissa.


Response
Response
Author: Paul Volponi
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/1/2017


Noah a teenager of a 6 months daughter was a victim of a hate crime. He worked part time and Deshawna was giving him a hard time about the $50 that he gives her. So he and 2 of friend friend decide to go into a white neighborhood to steal a car to make money to provide for his child. The 3 teens change their minds not to steal and start walking home. they got approach by three Italians American teens. Charlie using hateful language and beating Noah with a bat. He was hospital and journey through the court.

This books is an fast and easy read. Sometimes I feel that mother's pressure men to the point where they have to steal to provide for the child especially when they are not dead beat. Noah doing all he can to raise his child and being a student just like her. I'm glad Noah had sense enough not to steal. With the hate crime. it will never end and Noah got justice. One thing I loved about Noah he was maturing fast and he not going to let them is one incident to make him hate all white. He judge people for their character not akin. His grandmother is one wise women.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: